Malaysia : Road trip to Batu Pahat

Takuyazzz

I just went back to BP town for the 2nd time in 10 days (left my ipad charger at the hotel)...this time round, tried the seaview restaurant and it was dirt cheap, so much so that my gf and i were "shocked" when we saw the amount on the bill... [laugh] Ordered the Fuzhou egg soup, stir fried dou miao, cereal toufu, a pork ribs dish, rice and tea...only rm30...

@Charlebrown: it should take about an hour on the NSHW and 30mins on small roads after u exit the ayer hitam toll.

Bro, after clearing Johore Customs, how long is the travelling time to BP town centre? assuming running at legal speed limit. thks!

if you keep to speed limits, it usually takes about 2 hours to reach BP, for first timers, easier to exit at Ayer Hitam, once u clear the toll, you will hit a T-junction. Turn left and then head straight all the way. From Ayer Hitam to BP, its a good 2 lanes road both ways.

about 30 minutes to BP town center.

Those heading to Ayer Hitam Eway entrance to return to SGP, especially on sundays, please keep to speed limit...hot place to pay for kopi money...usually at the University there...where there are lotsa overhead bridges...

Kampung areas speed limit is only 60kmh.

Another way to BP is to exit at Simpang Renggam.

very interesting. nvr had any intention to visit batu pahat. like a bro said earlier, always tot its jus a small rural town is kampungs. but seems like there's quite a bit to do.

Used to be a kampung town...now upgrade to city liao...LOL.

Batu Pahat for past 30 years till now....no much changes especially on the main Rahmat Road....a lot of good food still retain at their place for last 20+ yrs..

i still find Katerina to be "safest" in terms of parking.

the carpark is the road around the hotel within the hotel walls. And night time u will see the security guards patrolling.

Unless you are driving a supercar, should not be a problem, i've seen a ferrari and a hummer parked there before.

same as crystal inn

all the 3 walls are parking lots with guard patrolling...

katarina is about 200 m away from the summit...

if u dont mind walking, definately the hotel is worth considering

rem got one msia MP, that mr chua.....

he kena filmed with his lover over their sexual tryst there

hhaa

so becareful of hidden cameras....

surely one does not want to be an overnite star on such things...

went there 2 years back, some photos to share

Went with 3 friends to this kumpung village located at Batu Pahat

very nice view of the Straights of Malacca, too bad it was super low tide when we arrived at evening time.

Spend a total of Rm$190 =SDG$80.

Ship Village Seafood Retaurant

No 68 Kg Segenting, Jalan Minyak Beku

83000 Batu Pahat, Johor

Tel 07-4287184

DSC09545.jpg

Low tide, view from the restaurant

DSC09547.jpg

The Feast

DSC09561.jpg

Claypot Wild Boar

DSC09558.jpg

Oyster Egg Omelet

DSC09559.jpg

Super nice Chilli Crabs, even better than Sg Ban Leong's

2.6kg of crabs cooked in 2 diff favour :wave:

DSC09557.jpg

Salted Egg Crabs, yummy

DSC09556.jpg

Super Fresh Tread Fin Fish , steamed Hong Kong Style

DSC09560.jpg

Edited by Redlavita

Nearby Chinese temple

DSC09552.jpg

Giant Dragon Fish (Arapaima gigas), it's rumoured that if they come near you and let you touch,

you'll strike it rich

DSC09549.jpg

DSC09553.jpg

DSC09551.jpg

Local resident

DSC09543.jpg

Passed by Batu Pahat Mall on the way back

DSC09530.jpg