Car ownership: LHL slapping his own face?

Friendstar

previous years, he made cars more affordable to the masses, wanting to give most families an opportunity to own a car.

this was what he said in previous rallies, with graphs showing how affordable cars have become (citing the price of Toyota Corolla as eg)

To make this happen, ARF is lowered etc.

consequently, with more cheap cars on the road, ERPs are raised to tax on usage and regulate congestion.... consistent with his ideology.

this policy wasn't concurred by his dad, LKY, who still prefers to make car purchases more expensive through COE + ARF combo.

and NOW!?!?!??! having raised ERP numerous times in a failed attempt to control traffic congestion, COE shot back to previous highs.

This is a really LPPL situation for everyone.

a WIN-WIN for the govt.

CB.

Maybe the 2011 budget good news will be zero ARF!! This was the promised deal, when ERP was implemented!

Housing and COE are super inflated as of today. What's next? Petrol? Food?

Now we are slowly seeing many casino tragedy. Mind you the newspaper only published the big case of rich people losing money, the seafood king and the nasi lemak king.

I am sure many many ordinary citizens lost until have to wear cardboard carton to go home, but these are not published as not newsworthy enough.

Sometimes the old man has long and wise foresight.

The young prince, has short term interest, just so to prove to his dad and the cabinets.

Who knows what will happen in five years time.......Chinese say wealth cannot last three generation.

I just hope the third generation politicians will carry Singapore thru for another 45years!

Maybe the 2011 budget good news will be zero ARF!! This was the promised deal, when ERP was implemented!

Housing and COE are super inflated as of today. What's next? Petrol? Food?

Now we are slowly seeing many casino tragedy. Mind you the newspaper only published the big case of rich people losing money, the seafood king and the nasi lemak king.

I am sure many many ordinary citizens lost until have to wear cardboard carton to go home, but these are not published as not newsworthy enough.

Sometimes the old man has long and wise foresight.

The young prince, has short term interest, just so to prove to his dad and the cabinets.

Who knows what will happen in five years time.......Chinese say wealth cannot last three generation.

I just hope the third generation politicians will carry Singapore thru for another 45years!

Always find an escape route.

Many policies are flawed. We are in a way living beyond our means (land).

He never slap himself.

It is "us", the goons, or to be precise the 66.6 who keep voting for them that are slaping themselves ...................

Too be fair to LHL, he has a very different population from those of LKY's. He has to implement some 'popular' policy to please the people and businesses....even if it may bring some 'short-term' problems. If LHL rule s'pore like his father.....the people will vote them out.

previous years, he made cars more affordable to the masses, wanting to give most families an opportunity to own a car.

this was what he said in previous rallies, with graphs showing how affordable cars have become (citing the price of Toyota Corolla as eg)

To make this happen, ARF is lowered etc.

consequently, with more cheap cars on the road, ERPs are raised to tax on usage and regulate congestion.... consistent with his ideology.

this policy wasn't concurred by his dad, LKY, who still prefers to make car purchases more expensive through COE + ARF combo.

and NOW!?!?!??! having raised ERP numerous times in a failed attempt to control traffic congestion, COE shot back to previous highs.

This is a really LPPL situation for everyone.

a WIN-WIN for the govt.

CB.

That cheap COE policy was never sustainable in the first place. There is only so little land. People who buy cars, want to be able to use them, or hao lian, and not keep them at in the car park (there aren't enough anyway). No one's really gonna get held back by rising ERP charges. They will just KPKB and continuing paying. So now COE quota growth rate cut to 1.5%, soon will be zero, or negative. High COE prices are gonna stay high for the forseeable future [bigcry]

2nd quarter 2011 election ardy. wait and see. i bet $5 with everyone here. inside news. ^^

Bet on month lah ............

I say June.

1st thought in my mind, => It's a mistake. Pls move on. [laugh]

Come to think in depth, our LHL has many Ms to advice him, he's probably not the one who came up with all these ideas.

And many of these Ms' are just businessmen minded, to make more $$$ n put in their pockets.

Out of so many Ms' children, how many % went overseas for studies, instead of studying at our local schools/Uni?

And also, how come our new HDBs are getting more and more expensive???

Shouldn't things now getting more n more cheaper???

Those in the jobs of procurement, always asking for cost down and more cost down???

Likewise, i believe for HDBs that the materials and manpower cost (getting lowly paid FTs) are lower in cost, compared to previous years to build?

And, oil prices increase, immediately, our petrol price increase.

But when oil prices decrease, it seems that it takes ages to decrease or never at all?

Next will be our utilities bills. [bigcry]

most prob is may leh i heard.

My gut feel say is March cos of two reasons. 1st school holiday. 2nd 1st April is the start of new financial year. or 3rd carrot for CNY good timing.

March is a good guess as Feb will announce Budget goodies,

so they will strike while the iron is hot...

Edited by Eyke

Like u mention, RALLY SPEECH... He even say he will not raise any fee. But after that, many prices increase until i lose count.