Confidence in public sector shaken this year: experts

Latka

From the bumpy hosting of the Youth Olympic Games (YOG) to the Orchard Road floods, confidence in the public sector may have been shaken this year, according to some political observers.

And in the year ahead, Singaporean residents will continue watching the government closely, in particular its measures toward housing and immigration.

Yahoo! Singapore spoke to several political observers, as they took stock of this year

Edited by Latka

So what?!!!!

COE money will cover the YOG easily in just two rounds of biddings!

Come next year election, the gov will still be in power, more % support is expected, as many of us are scared to rock the boat which may lower our million dollar HDB dream.

Singapore is doing well owing to the old guard policies laid down many years ago..current batch of policies...all reactive and last minute types...all can be thought of even by the kopi tiam uncles. [knife]

Actually if economy cheong, wat has it got to wif gahmen? Dey just wait for global economy to pick up and we just tompang.

Yes... I cannot tolerate the crowd anymore.

They all should be replaced.... bring in so many people but our infrastructure all cannot cope.

Even I dont see TP on the roads!!

Mas escape and no one accountable except the Gurkha guard.... rubbish!

HDB prices speculated by PR and only now we get some control

COE keeps going up bec more immigrants means less for citizens

Condo now only a dream for most

Schools are all competed by PRs

Hospital got not enuf beds...

But top civil servants continue to pocket millions benchmarking their salaries with TOP bankers, lawyers, doctors, CEOs. What a joke!

Edited by Voxy28

TP on the road got la. Once kenna accident then TP come liao. then all of them together with the LTA personnel talk c--k sing song, wasted an hour for nothing before letting you go.

Lost all confidence in the new batch.

Something has to be done to wake up their million dollar dreams.

Definitely supporting a check and balance system in Parliament.

Even if they are inexperienced, at least they have the interests of the common people in mind.

Otherwise, a few more years, you will all be paying 200k coes and HDBs will be worth 1 million, BUT YOU CANNOT CASH OUT!!

I rather own a 100k 5 room bought at 80k 20 years ago than let it be worth 1 million but to sell and buy a corresponding equivalent costs 1 million + 10% + stamp duty + tax....

“That is something that may also occupy our time.”

wikileaks terrorism ??? occupy time with wikileaks ??? eat s--t la... wtf...

arrogant f--ks..everyone else can be wrong except them

Edited by Mockngbrd

The real reasons as to why ppl put up such articles is that...they did not get a share of the large profits the gov earned this year!

Well...too bad....

Can't say much for these ppl but those who are getting the dough are already buying the Merc , Audi , BMW liao..

SKA selling plates selling out soon....or is it SKB now liao!

Sinkies who keep complaining.... no use one....

Not really the one enjoying the real rewards and just going nowhere...

Well, too bad again! :D

http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread.php?t=35746&page=86

taken from post #1713 ( not I say one har !)

Singapore will decline like Venice

In the 19th century, the British maintained a hands-off policy. They invested very little for our development. They let Chinese dialect groups and gangs fight one another. They didn

I really hope Singaporeans can wake up and restart the system

Provided there is a working OS! Sekali you remove key programs and after reboot, some files become missing and you cannot boot to whatever you have!

Better make sure hor.