You Want Cheaper COEs? Heres How

Gendut

Implement one or a combination of the things below:

1. 5 years COEs only

2. No extensions of COEs after current ones expire.

3. Allow private cars to be rented out; unlike currently, too many preconditions for private car rental.

4. Only household owners can bid for COEs. If own multiple properties, still only allowed to own one COE. If your spoilt son wants a car, tell him to get a job and own a home first.

5. Make cars and COEs non-transferrable. You cannot afford to continue paying for your car, you scrap it. No sentimentality here about saving the environment; you're driving after all.

6. And lastly, if your spolit son still demands a car, his father must be above 70 years old (going to die soon), and has at least $100K in his CPF willed to LTA. He will then get a free COE. [laugh][:p]

banks will hate u most

Why would they if there aren't already digging us for interest?

Anyway, flaw in TS planning.

If spoilt son got rich dad, what's stopping dad from buying son a property under his name to secure a COE? -_-

I still support the COE tagged to buyer's name idealogy.

After all, you are buying the COE, not the car....

You wanted cheaper COE is very easy. No more dealer proxy bidding and all COE paid by cash no more loans. BUT then the GOVT wants you to take up LOAN to pay them more $. Like that how? [laugh]

LTA loan (like HDB loan) might come handy. LOL [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Only poor people can keep proposing so-called fair or better car ownership systems because they are so poor but they still want to enjoy the lifestyle of rich people. They always thought their way of thinking is "fair" but actually it is a communism mindset.

frankly, i never expected a newbie to actually make such a wise post as above. Absolutely correct and well said ! [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

all these postings about how to make coe cheaper and fairer, besically are those who can barely afford a car yet they want to live the high life. in fact, many of them already own a car, yet they just want to upgrade to a better car but their dream is dashed by the high coe. tell me if this is not spoilt brats then what is it ? and then they come up with many stupid proposals that basically allocate coe to all and not base on affordability. this is basically going back to communism. thats why you see many people criticising every gahment's policies, and proposes that the gahment makes everything from cars to housing to everything else affordable to everyone, i.e. they only think for themselves, and anything else is therefore the gahment's wrong doing. if gahment had all along taken a populism stance on policies making and allocation of resources not base on merits (affordability), today, we are probably like indonesia or philipines, a third world country, and our men working as construction workers and women working as maids in other countries, since we have no natural resources.

i hope one day these kiddies will one day grow up and wake up.

Edited by Vextan

i agree too... car is a luxury... BMW + taxi is good enuff for sinkies and ft to move around the island... if u cant afford it... simply dont drive [blush]

1. 5 years COEs only

3. Allow private cars to be rented out; unlike currently, too many preconditions for private car rental.

4. Only household owners can bid for COEs. If own multiple properties, still only allowed to own one COE. If your spoilt son wants a car, tell him to get a job and own a home first.

5. Make cars and COEs non-transferrable. You cannot afford to continue paying for your car, you scrap it. No sentimentality here about saving the environment; you're driving after all.

6. And lastly, if your spolit son still demands a car, his father must be above 70 years old (going to die soon), and has at least $100K in his CPF willed to LTA. He will then get a free COE. [laugh][:p]

please be realistic

1. 5 years COEs only

ZENG HU YOUR LAO PEI IS IT?.... [laugh]