Brunei

Jerrimie

Hi everyone, I will be going to Brunei for business end of the month. Never been there before so any info/tips/experience/things-to-look-out-fors are greatly appricieated. Gum sia

switch off your entertainment mode while you are there [laugh]

Bring along your handheld game consoles and chargers, upload all your porn videos into you laptop.

haha.... the famous 2-storey shop?

Bring along your handheld game consoles and chargers, upload all your porn videos into you laptop.

Later Laptop kana check ....remember to buy back a few barrel of crude oil

On the road you will feel very dejavu, because we built almost all of their roads + signage.

Can ask your counterpart to bring you to a famous keropok shop which is actually a residential house to buy raw ones. Very very nice.

Best is to stay near major shopping belts else very inconvenient to reach those places.

TS, better get your local contacts to guide u into the underground...only regulars or trusted can enter... [sly]

If not you will bored urself to death... even the tv programe will bored u.

Thanks for all the replies and information guys. Problem is i will be going there blindly lol to do market research. Looks like its gonna be a boring trip :(

Brunei Ringgit (Dollar):

Have any of you bros have had difficulty using Brunei Ringgit (dollar) in Singapore

Lately l recieved one piece each of them $1 and $10 and had a hard time using them

Merchants  (i tried using it in wet market) they  just don't want to accept them; Finally i went to restaurant and disposed it off and the cashier also look at the note like so carefully; They say go and change in Bank, 

Why so difficult until like that??

So is the situation same in Brunei ??  if  they don't accept SGD too or uncomfortable to recieve SGD there

Brunei has one of the best diving and spear fishing at the remote offshore platform.

Also, the jungle for SAF training has given me unforgettable experiences and many wild helicopter ride.

Remember, the best koropok is from Brunei. I buy in tins not packets.

Brunei Ringgit (Dollar):

Have any of you bros have had difficulty using Brunei Ringgit (dollar) in Singapore

Lately l recieved one piece each of them $1 and $10 and had a hard time using them

Merchants (i tried using it in wet market) they just don't want to accept them; Finally i went to restaurant and disposed it off and the cashier also look at the note like so carefully; They say go and change in Bank,

So is the situation same in Brunei ?? if they don't accept SGD too or uncomfortable to recieve SGD there

I got a few before....only banks will accept it as 1 v 1. -_-

you must look like someone easy to palm off a brunei note to ...

Yeah very marfan. As a general rule, just declined to accept these notes.

But haven't seen one in years. Think people here seldom ever go to brunei.

I got a few before....only banks will accept it as 1 v 1. -_-

Exactly this is the issue; its 1 for 1 ; so why people so reluctant or not even willing to accept them??

Sometimes I don't understand why people in Singapore get so like stress/ kiasu of not accepting or using them

I think time to time MAS must remind Sinkaporeans to accept as such; these currency notes

Brunei Ringgit (Dollar):

Merchants (i tried using it in wet market) they just don't want to accept them; Finally i went to restaurant and disposed it off and the cashier also look at the note like so carefully; They say go and change in Bank,

So is the situation same in Brunei ?? if they don't accept SGD too or uncomfortable to recieve SGD there

Ok, understood your plight.

I give Ah Kiat a call, ask him to remind all merchants the Brunei dollar is customary tender.

http://www.mas.gov.sg/currency/currency-interchangeability-agreement-with-brunei.aspx

And remind merchants that they should accept the notes.

Don't accept means don't gibe face to Hassan.....literally.

brunei_ambd_1_dollar_2013.00.00_b301b_p3