sp3220101205235217.png

doing something similar to my car but using better quality material
http://club.autohome.com.cn/bbs/thread-c-87-8685509-1.html
http://club.autohome.com.cn/bbs/thread-c-155-4330163-1.html

I have done a rough estimate of the material i needed
All in cm
Roof = 130x100 = 13,000
Floor = 220 x135 = 30,000
door=((60x90)+(60x70)) x2 = 19,000 (double layer so times 2 for mat)
engine=100x50=5,000
Wheel and spare =20,000

Total about
MAT: 87+19=106k cm sq or about 114 sq feet
foam:87,0000 cm sq or about 93 sq feet
sealer estimate is 25m for big D and 4m for P strip at the bottom(optional)

foam is about
50cm x 80 cm x 10mm(thick) = 4000cm sq = 4.3 sq ft per piece
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=2355028522

mat is about
40cm × 24cm× 2.2mm±0.1mm(thick) = 960cm sq = 1.03 sq ft per piece

There I will need to order
Mat = 114/1.03 = 110
form = 93/4.3 = 22

exchange rate about 1 sgd to 4.8 rmb using credit card.
110 mat (7rmbx110=770/4.8 = $161) ,
22 foam (18rmbx22=396/4.8= $83),
Total = $244
mat roller 25rmb ($5.2),
door sealer = big D (25x6=150/4.8=$32) + (P shape for door bottom (6x4=24/4.8=$5) optional)
Total about sgd $280 exclude shipping.
That is for whole car. If exclude roof and wheels, will be cheaper.

rubberized spray for additional sound damping on wheels area and protect against water and rusting
2 can x 18rmb = 36 / 4.8 = $7.50 (2 cans 620ml enough?)
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=2495067556

Edited by BabyBlade

Bro, the wheel arch spray....the best is 1 can per arch. total 4 cans. spray 1st layer....after 30mins...spray 2nd layer for better effect. If you know how to remove the fender and the banana leave in the wheel arch...you can consider buy another 2-3 cans to spray inside. [:)]

Let me join in the crowd...I'm interested with the mat 40cm x 24cm. I need 20pcs of them. It's abt SGD30 bucks rite?

Yes, about $30 excluding deliver for 20pcs

Ok, will include your 20pcs with purchase.

Please email your contact and item interested to [email protected] so I can keep track.

Bro, the wheel arch spray....the best is 1 can per arch. total 4 cans. spray 1st layer....after 30mins...spray 2nd layer for better effect. If you know how to remove the fender and the banana leave in the wheel arch...you can consider buy another 2-3 cans to spray inside. [:)]

wow, so hardcore ...

already paste the deadener and foam still need so thick layer?

ok will buy 2 more cans, if still have spare, will spray onto other parts of car which.

thanks

Edited by Stanchiam

wow, so hardcore ...

already paste the deadener and foam still need so thick layer?

ok will buy 2 more cans, if still have spare, will spray onto other parts of car which.

thanks

bo bian one...urs china...mine malaysia...two things in common....dealer sucks + noisy car. hehehe [laugh]

but hor...those sprayed type...normally will be washed away after 6 mths or more. If always wash at petrol kiosk...it will be faster cos they spray our arch with the jet. That's why 2 layers are much better.

If can...we do our ride together. Mine just add on for my 4 door panels. The doors already done with 2 layers liao. just wanna add in to the panels. Cos planning to upgrade my ICE...so have to do abit here and there.

I will email or PM you later. BTW...you have to do the order fast liao...cos CNY coming as I have mentioned in the other thread.

Edited by MG_Myvi

yes, going to order this sat or sunday.

not going to wait too long.

just hope they can deliver to my china shipping address by thur so can ship to singapore, else have to wait another week.

Bro...u driving red QQ? Saw one along Macpherson Road on Friday....just beside me. Hehehe

I drive a black qq, can see my around 9.30 along expressway to sgh driving my wife to work [laugh]

yes, going to order this sat or sunday.

not going to wait too long.

just hope they can deliver to my china shipping address by thur so can ship to singapore, else have to wait another week.

bro roughly when can we get the stuff?

probably after chinese new yr.

waiting for it to arrive than i can DIY

After CNY then can DIY before CNY some bros will be busy preparing for the celebration :D

Wah really hard core..... doing sound proofing DiY is tedious work!! have to rip out interior and stick the mats etc and put back......

Ya...Rip is the word to use....worst is when kena broken clips....then really sian liao. -_-

Did the back and boot today, quite easy if u have the tools.

Will do the front/door in the weekend. Will post some pics later.

may i ask so you took the front and back seat and remove all the carpet to expose the bare metal then you stick the new sound deadener?

you cut the size according to floor shape or it was by default the shape?

very interesting and nice work.

post-79969-1296830610.jpg

after removing the carpet of the boot, my first piece of 2.2mm thick sound deadener(SD) onto my car.

post-79969-1296830622.jpg

more SD pasted onto the boot with the roller for squeezing and getting the SD into shape.

post-79969-1296830585.jpg

removing the some screws of the back sit and safety belt

post-79969-1296830641.jpg

left side of the car, the wheel area bare metal.

post-79969-1296830651.jpg

right side of the car, the wheel area with the SD slowly covering it up.

post-79969-1296830680.jpg

boot and back sit area about to be completed.

post-79969-1296830692.jpg

right side about to be completed, left a little on the wheel and side.

post-79969-1296830711.jpg

after completing SD, my first piece of sound isolation/absorption foam(10mm thick) pasted onto the SD.

post-79969-1296830947.jpg

more foam

post-79969-1296830994.jpg

back sit reattached after pasting all the foam.

post-79969-1296831054.jpg

pic of the boot area.

*pasting of foam is the easiest part, the SD need to do slowly, sometime need to cut out small pieces to fill up some area.

tips: after taking off the screws, please do screw it back after pasting the SD, do not wait until u paste the foam cause u might forget.

foam is easy to work with, since i put back the screw after the SD, when i paste the foam, i will take note of it and cut a small hole on the foam before pasting over.

this way, it will be easier to screw back because foam is thick, if u wait until pasted the foam then screw, it will be harder.

i will be doing the front and engine in the near future...lol