Refreshing rooftop space a turn-off now

Latka

This guy shud write in this forum i/o ST forum lah.

What does he expect to be done by writing to newspaper?

Feb 25, 2011

Refreshing rooftop space a turn-off now

SOME 10 years ago, when my wife and I were looking for our first home, we were attracted by the living environment in Punggol 21.

We especially loved the implementation of a garden concept on the multi-storey carpark's rooftop. We even bought a unit on a same level and facing the garden because we wanted to enjoy the ambience of children playing while happy parents socialised and interacted with one another.

Ten years on, that ambience is gone. Our children, now aged two and eight years, have stopped going to the garden altogether for several reasons.

Every morning, the garden is littered with dog poo left to fester by inconsiderate pet owners.

Some owners even let their dogs do it on the rubber mat cushioning the floor of the playground.

The cosy pergola, conveniently located near the playground for parents and grandparents while the children are playing, has now been co-opted as a rowdy, after-school rendezvous for teenagers, who smoke, shout and swear in full view of the neighbourhood children, including mine.

The playground has also been vandalised and pockmarked by graffiti. And often, you find broken beer bottles lying around.

Perhaps the rooftop garden is an easier target for antisocial activities because it is relatively secluded.

Refreshing garden concepts of common spaces warrant regular maintenance and checks by the town councils and the National Environment Agency.

Install security cameras, for instance.

If such elevated common spaces cannot be maintained in as pristine a condition as when they were first opened, it would be better to close them because, instead of serving the estate, they cause social problems.

Alan Lim

The writer shld just bring this issue to his MP

bring to MP attention? waste time la....they dun even bother to listen to u or put an effort to help....been there done that....

but but election coming so mayb they will listen for now <_<

bring to MP attention? waste time la....they dun even bother to listen to u or put an effort to help....been there done that....

True. Since election is coming, it is the best time and opportunity to put up your request :D

hahaa.. good idea..

I am thinking y can have so many "on the ball" fatimah to summon us for not putting coupons...y cannot convert some of them to catching all this litter bugs, inconsiderate farkers...we easier to makan is it? becoz most of the time when they summon us we r not around n our car cannot argue..

Perhaps they shud double up and be authorized to fine pet owners who don't clean up after their pets.

most dog owners i see...they pretend holding a plastic bag....once they look ard nobody looking they juz walk off....

blardy irresponsible..... :angry:

most dog owners i see...they pretend holding a plastic bag....once they look ard nobody looking they juz walk off....

blardy irresponsible..... :angry:

at my parents' place...some even let the dog do it in the lift...KNN..

should seal up their anus..the owners' not the dogs

I m a dog owner myself and I m ashamed by the actions of other dog owners ard my estate as well. Many don't pick up their dog poo n when I confront them to do so, they give me this "smlj" look. One owner even went as far as saying, "why should I do so when so many other owners don't." [rifle]

[cool] to be fair...not all dog owners r like that...i did saw an uncle placing newspaper on the ground whenever his dog stop to poo..

but...not alot of this people.. [;)]

Yes election coming, good time to ask them to work for you. [:p]

[cool] to be fair...not all dog owners r like that...i did saw an uncle placing newspaper on the ground whenever his dog stop to poo..

but...not alot of this people.. [;)]

I saw this type of considerate dog owner before. When the dog in shitting postiiong the auntie quickly place a piece of paper under the dog, thus it would not stain the floor even if they pick up the poo. But sadly they are the minority.

The other I hate are those who don't leash their dog. I'm jog frequently, and they always scare me letting their dog loose. Sometimes narrow path, I'm force to switch to the road just to keep some distance.

Edited by Ender

I saw this type of considerate dog owner before. When the dog in shitting postiiong the auntie quickly place a piece of paper under the dog, thus it would not stain the floor even if they pick up the poo. But sadly they are the minority.

The other I hate are those who don't leash their dog. I'm jog frequently, and they always scare me letting their dog loose. Sometimes narrow path, I'm force to switch to the road just to keep some distance.

to be fair to dog owners....some r responsible to clear the poo....well out of 5...2 r good

Like that the other 3 can have dog poo for breakfast, lunch and dinner