What can increase acceleration?

Redcafe10

Did not go thru all the pages of this thread, a lot of people complain no pickup, actually pickup is there, but people can’t bear to ‘zham’ The accelerator. Step accelerator like pu55y car of coz slow.

Of coz different cars must ‘zham’ differently. For example, Toyota, must zham gently....follow the rpm , zham too hard, all ‘air’ whereas Honda like to be whacked....light turn green full throttle. Nissan CVT different again . Depend on car

I’m talking about B&B cars here....i got no knowledge about performance cars. (Anyway drive performance car one won’t ask this kind of question here already)

Acceleration?  Money lor.  The saying...money makes the world go round... [:p]

So $$ also makes car go faster.  As in, either spend more $$ to zhng or send $$ to buy a bigger engine car(nothing beats displacement).  Problem is, a lot of us thinks that with a smallish engine just add some big ass turbocharger, the car will be faster, better, etc...not always true.  But bigger engine is.

the other point is lighter lor. all comes back to power to weight ratio.  

Edited by Ahbengdriver

Acceleration?  Money lor.  The saying...money makes the world go round... [:p]

So $$ also makes car go faster.  As in, either spend more $$ to zhng or send $$ to buy a bigger engine car(nothing beats displacement).  Problem is, a lot of us thinks that with a smallish engine just add some big ass turbocharger, the car will be faster, better, etc...not always true.  But bigger engine is.

the other point is lighter lor. all comes back to power to weight ratio.  

A turbocharger effectively increases the volumetric efficiency of an engine, increasing its power output substantially.

For reference, on paper, the 1.5L Turbo in a Honda Civic has comparable peak power and torque figures to a 2.5L NA in a Toyota Camry.

So really, what can increase acceleration? Money. You get some supercar like a Bugatti and you'd have so much acceleration you'd kena caught by every single speedcam in KPE tunnel before you finish spelling your name.

The real problem we're facing is that cars are getting bigger (just compare a Corolla 20+ years ago and an Altis now) and more sophisticated, with more life-saving safety tech. All that adds weight. While engines are getting more efficient, but not necessarily more powerful.

If you don't have unlimited budget (like most of us mortals), just go with what your budget allows, and be happy with what your engine can give you, reliably, for the next 10 years of your expensive lease.

Alternatively, if you're not too keen for acceleration...

Just don't get caught on camera hitting a lorry's side-mirror.

Edited by DK3410
  • Dislike 1

The best thing to increase acceleration and it won't cost you any extra money is move off when the lights turn green.

So many people are day dreaming. Lights turn green and still waiting and waiting and waiting until some one behind horns.

And then not happy kenna horn move off as slowly as possible and swearing cannot wait huh, cannot wait huh so impatient one.

All investments are gambles but no gambling are investments.

investment is long term , gambling is short term .... relatively   :XD:

outcome depend on Luck + observation ..  [grin]

investment is long term , gambling is short term .... relatively   :XD:

outcome depend on Luck + observation ..  [grin]

gambling is short term and very fast........one will be damn broke.

On cars programmed to accept 87 octane fuel, a chip that can advance timing and alter air/fuel mixture to take advantage of higher octane fuel without causing engine knock is probably the best bang for the buck.

wasssss....after 20 pages this thread is still alive.  As piggy say, want better acceleration?  Gamble to win $$ then buy a bigger car lor.

Not encouraging gambling hor.  Anyway not I say one bcs I not born in year of piggy.

i would suggest ECU reflash. Acceleration would definitely improve yet does not compromised on fuel economy. I have personally tried. Acceleration improved significantly and fuel consumption improved too.