SG standard of living higher than average Western country

Ahtong

HOME > ST FORUM > ONLINE STORY

Apr 13, 2011

Glad Singapore's frugal rather than profligate

NOT only are our taxes low as Mr Byran Goh pointed out ("Forget pay size, this govt's value for money"; last Saturday) but also our Government has made very good use of our money - giving Singaporeans a standard of living that is higher than that in an average Western country.

For example, the World Health Organisation ranked our health-care system the sixth best in the world. According to Newsweek, our education system is the fourth best in the world. We also enjoy low unemployment, strong economic growth and a strong dollar, earning us Newsweek's accolade as the world's most dynamic economy. Our per capita income (based on purchasing power parity), according to the International Monetary Fund, is around $57,000, making us the third richest country in the world.

The majority of Western democracies tax their people more than Singapore does and spend even more money, resulting in massive borrowings. Yet, the performance of the average Western democracy is worse than ours in terms of education, health care, job creation and general prosperity. Their citizens pay more taxes than we do and get less of a return from their governments. Despite the exorbitant taxes, the governments have to borrow money.

So while Singapore was accumulating budget surpluses over the past 40 years, which it invested in stocks and bonds, they accumulated a portfolio of debt.

Tan Keng Soon

Apr 13, 2011

NOT only are our taxes low as Mr Byran Goh pointed out ("Forget pay size, this govt's value for money"; last Saturday) but also our Government has made very good use of our money - giving Singaporeans a standard of living that is higher than that in an average Western country.

Tan Keng Soon

Near Bay Cheese Pie....... [hur]

Who is this dog...

There is a high price to pay to feed the cabinet.

For example, the World Health Organisation ranked our health-care system the sixth best in the world.

There is a street saying, can die but cannot get sick in Singapore.

According to Newsweek, our education system is the fourth best in the world.

Of we are so good, how come we still lack of talents and need massive import of FTs?

We also enjoy low unemployment, strong economic growth and a strong dollar, earning us Newsweek's accolade as the world's most dynamic economy. Our per capita income (based on purchasing power parity), according to the International Monetary Fund, is around $57,000, making us the third richest country in the world.

Probably come from highly inflated cars (High COE) and flat (using CPF to finance debt from flats).

The majority of Western democracies tax their people more than Singapore does and spend even more money, resulting in massive borrowings. Yet, the performance of the average Western democracy is worse than ours in terms of education, health care, job creation and general prosperity. Their citizens pay more taxes than we do and get less of a return from their governments. Despite the exorbitant taxes, the governments have to borrow money.

Singaporean are really something but will soon be extinct.

Regards,

Near Bay Cheese Pie....... [hur]

Who is this dog...

They still don't get it [laugh]

We expect 1st in the world for everything with this pay.

We are not complaining too much pay, we are complaining not value for money yet...

Apr 13, 2011

For example, the World Health Organisation ranked our health-care system the sixth best in the world. According to Newsweek, our education system is the fourth best in the world. We also enjoy low unemployment, strong economic growth and a strong dollar, earning us Newsweek's accolade as the world's most dynamic economy. Our per capita income (based on purchasing power parity), according to the International Monetary Fund, is around $57,000, making us the third richest country in the world.

My friend, then 23 got cancer 3rd stage. tried in singapore for screening more than half a year, could not find anything wrong. Went Penang and found out it is cancer at 3rd stage. And our health-care system is 6st best in the world? then Malaysia is way better than us. i am not sure about the third richest country vs ppl income here. what i know is SGD10.00 laksa ppl already kpkb, petrol increase few cents ppl also kpkb. I dont see we are that rich yet.

So while Singapore was accumulating budget surpluses over the past 40 years, which it invested in stocks and bonds, they accumulated a portfolio of debt.

Tan Keng Soon

i believe western democracies give benefit for ppl, old ppl, sick ppl. so they have to find a way to serve the ppl there. here is you lose job,you are not competitive, you old, your problem. you sick, your problem. only input, little output, that is why we got so much reserves for a few ppl income instead of trying hard to provide service to general ppl.

We are not complaining too much pay, we are complaining not value for money yet... not enough pay for peasant

Edited by Joseph22

We are not complaining too much pay, we are complaining not value for money yet...

no lah. the high pay is not for the value of money. is to prevent corruption only.

so once in a while, when some of the members going to be corrupted, they will raise the pay again so that temporary, there is no corruption only.

so next time you see who is going to get from pay rise, you know who had an intention to be corrupted.

western countries got high tax. but the folks are well-taken care of in old age. Have u ever seen western old ppl slogging it out in foodcourts or petrol stations? it's a sight that i've not seen yet.

You mean pension system. Actually, I prefer to py higher tax, but get pension system. At least you know you have money until you die. CPF, you have to ration how much to use, as you don't know when it will finish. Very dangerous.

Edit: I made a mistake, we do have pension system....for our world class Ministars! Talk about double standards....

I don't mind pay abit higher tax % equivalent to median of first world countries.

Now kindly release my CPF and provide a pension fund for all Singaporeans!!!

Scrap COE, ERP, SCC, Pertol Tax, Cigrattes Tax, Alcohol Tax, GST, Your 5xPeanuts salary, Casino Entry Tax, Stampduties tax, smlj tax.

Deal? [thumbsup]

I don't mind pay abit higher tax % equivalent to median of first world countries.

Now kindly release my CPF and provide a pension fund for all Singaporeans!!!

Scrap COE, ERP, SCC, Pertol Tax, Cigrattes Tax, Alcohol Tax, GST, Your 5xPeanuts salary, Casino Entry Tax, Stampduties tax, smlj tax.

Deal? [thumbsup]

can we have porn? :huh:

Apr 13, 2011

Tan Keng Soon

Rich or poor not absolutely important..... high GDP or high ratings (as mentioned in first post here) not important.... the question is:-

Are the masses happy?? ........ do they look beyond material well being?? .......... do they have time for family?? ......... we all know too well even the person is ranked top in school, university, career, he may not be geniunely happy (even when he is not chasing 5Cs)..... so will a society

ps- this is my brief response to this thread to keep it on my list of "paticipated posts" before i 'lose' it....

Edited by KARTer

so next time you see who is going to get from pay rise, you know who had an intention to be corrupted.

so it's like opening the bank vault and giving the cash inside to potential bank robbers b4

they even attempt to rob the bank?

amazing crime-prevention! [laugh]

no lah. the high pay is not for the value of money. is to prevent corruption only.

so once in a while, when some of the members going to be corrupted, they will raise the pay again so that temporary, there is no corruption only.

So you mean the prata-man... oops!

We also enjoy low unemployment, strong economic growth and a strong dollar, earning us Newsweek's accolade as the world's most dynamic economy. Our per capita income (based on purchasing power parity), according to the International Monetary Fund, is around $57,000, making us the third richest country in the world.

Probably come from highly inflated cars (High COE) and flat (using CPF to finance debt from flats).

precisely, i don't know what our dumb education system has done to educate these people to be so proud of being fleeced by our own government.

havent they realize that the high budget surplus in many parts came from us (in the form of the coe, erp, stamp duties, lta transfer fees that we paid to them).

tell me which education system in the world can make its students feel happy at being made to support world class ministerial salary?

The problem with the West is they tax the people so high but still no money, need to borrow money to take care of oldies.

SG on the other hand is really at the other side of the balance with alot of money in garment but stingy.

What went wrong with the West ??

Edited by Tigerwoods