'cheap, good' food in S'pore

Greatbirdlegend

I think there are some good food at cheap prices around the island.

Problem is that these are few and far apart.

Hardly what I would call easily accessible.

Most of them are overpriced crap that they sell in aircon places.

-----

Jun 10, 2011

Case poll finds 'cheap, good' food in S'pore

By Jessica Lim

Despite complaints that prices of food have gone up, people can still get a decent meal for $2.50. -- PHOTO: THE CHICKEN RICE SHOP

DESPITE complaints that prices of food have gone up, people can still get a decent meal for $2.50.

A survey released by the Consumers Association of Singapore (Case) on Thursday found that 331, or 54 per cent of the 611 non-air-conditioned food stalls it checked sold dishes for $2.50 or less.

The remaining number of stalls priced them between $2.60 and $6.

The consumer watchdog ran the survey in April. It was carried out with the help of 10 mystery shoppers - a mix of volunteers and its officers - on randomly selected stalls.

Portion sizes and the quality of food were not taken into account.

The check focused on the prices of single portions of five common dishes here: plain roti prata, chicken nasi beriani, chicken rice, fishball noodles, and a plate of rice with two portions of vegetables and one of meat.

Read the full report in Friday's edition of The Straits Times.

One of my favourite chicken, duck, char siew & seow bak rice stall used to sell at $2 per plate (choose either 1 or mix of 2) until few months ago increase to $2.50. However it also increase its portion slightly as well. Still can see long Qs even after the increase as the food is [thumbsup][thumbsup] . Located at ulu area serve by 1 bus only. Taking into account min. fare of >60cents, end up the meal will cost >$3.5

It mentioned can get nasi biryani at $2.5 (true or not?), will definitely try it as prices nowadays are >$4

I can say most zhi- char stall still sell cheap $1 fried noodles and beehoon.

It's not there are no cheap food. The rice a lot, but meat a few pieces only.

I can count just five flatten pieces of duck meat in my $3.00 duck rice!!

Cheap does not mean value for money. I can sell curry laced white rice for $1 for those construction workers.

One of my favourite chicken, duck, char siew & seow bak rice stall used to sell at $2 per plate (choose either 1 or mix of 2) until few months ago increase to $2.50. However it also increase its portion slightly as well. Still can see long Qs even after the increase as the food is [thumbsup][thumbsup] . Located at ulu area serve by 1 bus only. Taking into account min. fare of >60cents, end up the meal will cost >$3.5

It mentioned can get nasi biryani at $2.5 (true or not?), will definitely try it as prices nowadays are >$4

Most of the good food are usually not so accessible by MRT?

My favorite places are usually not within walking distances. ^_^

In addition to lower price, probably CASE's survey did not take into account the smaller quantities that equate with lower price. Lower price = smaller portion. [:(]

They tend to tell half the story or simpler term, half truths.

blk 85 redhill market chicken rice, $2 per plate. nice and portion ok too

vegetarian rice at bedok inter change, 2.50 for rice and 3 dishes, also nice and cheapest among vege stalls. portion ok

mix vege rice at coffeeshop beside hougang green, 2 vege 1 meat = $2.30 bo ho makan though but confirm full.

there are cheap and nice stalls, just need to look out...

Edited by Tom_kkh

blk 85 redhill market chicken rice, $2 per plate. nice and portion ok too

vegetarian rice at bedok inter change, 2.50 for rice and 3 dishes, also nice and cheapest among vege stalls. portion ok

mix vege rice at coffeeshop beside hougang green, 2 vege 1 meat = $2.30 bo ho makan though but confirm full.

there are cheap and nice stalls, just need to look out...

If stay near those places than ok lor. Can't expect everytime waste time and $ to go source for cheap food. Haha. So ultimately will be there are still cheap food around but are they near people places? Some lucky some may not be that lor

I can say most zhi- char stall still sell cheap $1 fried noodles and beehoon.

It's not there are no cheap food. The rice a lot, but meat a few pieces only.

I can count just five flatten pieces of duck meat in my $3.00 duck rice!!

Cheap does not mean value for money. I can sell curry laced white rice for $1 for those construction workers.

Last time my camp mess charge 10 cents for curry gravy...Maybe now 20 cents...

Beside my office, golden bridge at shenton way.

chicken rice normal cost S$2.50. Add beancurd (whole) top up 50cents. If chicken thigh, cost $3.

NOw..the tenants all shifted ! no more economical chicken rice.

jurong west market blk 505.............chicken rice S$2............but fishball noodle S$2.50 leh...........

If stay near those places than ok lor. Can't expect everytime waste time and $ to go source for cheap food. Haha. So ultimately will be there are still cheap food around but are they near people places? Some lucky some may not be that lor

i am sure there is at least 1 cheap food near yr work or home. maybe its not yr kind of food, u never order thats y u dono

This Case study is flawed. What they reported is just not representative of what most singaporeans actually experienced. [thumbsdown]

the toa payoh hawker centre mix curry rice at $2.20 for 4 dishes.

bedok north market also got 1 curry rice with 4 dishes at 2.50. portion good. quite nice too

there is also 1 nasi lemak, in bedok central near to libarary 3 dishes 2.50.

The stall below boon lay MRt can find $2 (or is it $1.50?) nasi lemak and chicken rice too. Taban garden also have 2.50 nasi lemark with 3 dish.

opposite vivo the hawker center also have nasi lemak 2.50 with 3 dish.

seems like nasi lemak promotion more :D[laugh]

actually come to think of it, almost every place will have 1 stall sell real cheap, u just need to look around.

but of course if u die die wan to compare with orchard road, than bo pian lo

Edited by Tom_kkh

jurong west market blk 505.............chicken rice S$2............but fishball noodle S$2.50 leh...........

fish noodle a bit tough to find $2 nowadays.

noodle stuff usually $2.50 which is quite reasonable.

Edited by Tom_kkh

the toa payoh hawker centre mix curry rice at $2.20 for 4 dishes.

huh?? mix curry rice..........$2.20???.................wah.............4 dishes some more............. :o :o

[thumbsup] [thumbsup]