Illegal animal import

Hiphiphoray

Recently heard from my friend there was a couple whom tried to smuggle in 8 puppies via causeway and kena caught.

AVA fine the couple a whopping 10k per puppy per person. :blink:

Thats 160k for 2 persons!!! [dizzy]

My wife's collegue kena fine for 2 special "star" tortises.

25k fine per STAR!!!!

Wah lan aaaaaaaaa.......... [dead]

Didnt know the fine is so heavy one!!!!

Everybody got similar story to tell..........pls share share. [laugh]

The Star Tortoise are endangered spieces.

See here : http://www.ava.gov.sg/AnimalsPetSector/Res.../FAQS/index.htm

Question : What types of animals are allowed to be kept as pets?

Answer : There are many types of animals which may be kept as pets. These include dogs, cats, rabbits, guinea pigs, hamsters, gerbils, mice, chinchillas, red-eared sliders (a type of terrapin), and many types of fancy birds and fish.

However, not all animals can be kept as pets in Singapore. Under the Wild Animals & Birds Act, our wild animals should not be caught or kept as pets. Similarly, imported wild animals such as snakes, lizards, hedgehogs, sugar gliders, monkeys and star tortoises cannot be kept as pets.

The penalty for keeping an illegal animal can be severe. Contact AVA at 6471 9987 if you are not sure what animals can be kept as pets.

Article : http://www.asianturtlenetwork.org/library/...mand_driven.pdf

R

25k fine per STAR!!!!

your wife's colleague what level one? Manager or Dir level? Got kanna sack or not? [laugh] Work there still don't know how to zhi dong. Quite funny leh. :blink:

Duno lei. Only know its her collegue. [laugh]

Was told it was hand carry by air and wrapped in towel and very well hidden. Still kena. [laugh]

Star tortise can get very big one right....... [sweatdrop]

your wife's colleague what level one? Manager or Dir level? Got kanna sack or not? [laugh] Work there still don't know how to zhi dong. Quite funny leh. :blink:

Edited by Hiphiphoray

that one don't know. I saw one look-alike before. slightly bigger than a man's palm only. But quite cute.

Online, someone bragged about carrying a Maine Coon kitten back and passed thru customs.

my friend lagi best. Smuggle all sorts of animals to re-sell. Somemore, stay in the HDB.

Snakes, reptiles, star tortoise, Chamelone lizard, Spider and birds.

In the end, kana caught by AVA and fine deep deep by them.

Ya its slightly bigger that average palm. Err travel by air, sure must go thru x ray ma how to siam, even wrapped in towel the machine will still reveal the tortoise on screen.

Recently heard from my friend there was a couple whom tried to smuggle in 8 puppies via causeway and kena caught.

AVA fine the couple a whopping 10k per puppy per person. :blink:

Thats 160k for 2 persons!!! [dizzy]

25k fine per STAR!!!!

Wah lan aaaaaaaaa.......... [dead]

Didnt know the fine is so heavy one!!!!

Everybody got similar story to tell..........pls share share. [laugh]

WAH LAN EH !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

SI BEH HO TAN !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

BIG MONEY BIG MONEY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Online, someone bragged about carrying a Maine Coon kitten back and passed thru customs.

But you can actually import right? Just need to follow a few procedures...

Like for fish you can actually bring back as baggage but must be in 3L or less of water checked in.