Regardless of income bracket, everyone is cash strapped

Ahtong

Do you think this is true?

"Low" income couple of $5000 can buy new HDB which is $$$

"High" income couple of $10,000 must buy either resale or condo which is $$$$$$

So at the end of the day, one couple may stay in a more "atas" address but everyone is paying through the nose and other than cosmetic differences, floor area is about the same.

If the income ceiling is raised, $5000 couple will be damn pissed because the high income earner is now competing with them for flats.

But in reality supply is not really a problem, just that a certain horse last time don't want to build.

i wanted to buy a jumbo last time but didnt work out.

the layout quite funny and hard to use. got good got bad

some of my friends and i believe 3 generation living under 1 roof which requires at least 160sqm. the only solution i see is:

1) jumbo

2) landed

3) penthouse

now you see not easy to be govt ...

Actually now I see govt is very fair. Regardless of income level, they will still find a way to fix you. [:p][laugh]

So at the end of the day, one couple may stay in a more "atas" address but everyone is paying through the nose and other than cosmetic differences, floor area is about the same.

If the income ceiling is raised, $5000 couple will be damn pissed because the high income earner is now competing with them for flats.

But in reality supply is not really a problem, just that a certain horse last time don't want to build.

There are also many people do not pay through the nose.

These are the down to earth people. [rolleyes]

Not everyone is cash strapped.

It's a choice really but can be a tough one in Rat Race Singapore.

Easy for you to say when you earn 500k per annum

I reduced my mortgage from 20 yrs to 10 yrs & i did not pay thru my nose.

So, 100% agree with u.

Well done my friend !

looks like we use similar strategies.

Well done my friend !

looks like we use similar strategies.

Well, i was lucky to buy HDB when the market was really down. Nowadays, it is not possible to buy 1300 square foot HDB below 300k at the fringe of CBD.

After 2014, i might be look for a condo as investment. I will nvr stay in a condo unless i can afford a 2nd unit.

The problem is that HDB's policies dictate that prices must be accorded by market forces, but in reality, there isn't a free-market for public housing since everything is monopolised by HDB.

Its more of a policy disaster per say, where s--t is simply shifted from one corner to another.

I agree. It is really depend on how we manage our expectations.

Edited by Silver_blade

Well, i was lucky to buy HDB when the market was really down. Nowadays, it is not possible to buy 1300 square foot HDB below 300k at the fringe of CBD.

After 2014, i might be look for a condo as investment. I will nvr stay in a condo unless i can afford a 2nd unit.

Yes I do agree that it was easier in the past.

Especially during our fathers time.

HDB was fully paid.

Car was fully paid.

Nowadyas it's opposite.

KNN, some buy a $15k watch also want to take loan.....peng.

I agree. It is really depend on how we manage our expectations.

Lots of my frens wives and gf all want to live the high life leh...want to drive conti car, private housing etc..sometimes I see my guy frens all quite contented with what they have..maybe backside itchy want a turbo car..but other than that..the gals rule the pursestrings..

If your wife or GF doesnt know how to think for you, better be careful.

Last time, my friend wanted to give engagement ring to his GF. The GF request this request that. stone must be this size minimum , this color etc...

Pwui !, I really look down on such girls.

An Engagement ring is a gift from the heart, the receiver has no right to demand or even request.

Basically, the Love is weak if otherwise.

a good wife will always think for the sake of her HB and a good HB will always try to give his wife.

so it balances very well.

So, 100% agree with u.

If you could, reduce further to zero ... before you reach 50.

Anything can happen at that 'golden' age ... health, job, wife etc.

I paid back all my mortgage. Now no more housing loan liao.

Nothing coming out through my nose oredi. [bounce2]

If you could, reduce further to zero ... before you reach 50.

Anything can happen at that 'golden' age ... health, job, wife etc.

I paid back all my mortgage. Now no more housing loan liao.

Nothing coming out through my nose oredi. [bounce2]

When i reach 40, no more housing loan. Only kar loan.