Luckcent 4th Gear July 6, 2011 Share July 6, 2011 For aircon filter, the price differs for different models. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
R_aquarii 1st Gear July 6, 2011 Share July 6, 2011 for jap car normal air-con filter cost $12-$18 my vios is $13 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic July 6, 2011 Share July 6, 2011 not supporting khang auto but it depend on the brake pads u were supplied. they prob supplied cheeep cheeep one as customers prob ask for cheeeep. but expecting it to last 40,000km may be abit of a stretch. but having said that, my brake pads used to wear out every 12-15 mths (<20,000km) and they were orig (not OEM) from agent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear July 6, 2011 Share July 6, 2011 (edited) Brake pads wear limits are 1.5mm pads material but if you are KS like me, change it at 3mm(Brand new pads are around 7-9mm thick). My last brake pads last me 80k km. Edited July 6, 2011 by Trex101 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finwizii Neutral Newbie July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 (edited) Sigh. I think I have the worst experience with them in this thread to date. I bought my pre-owned Pug 206CC with a TWM warranty some 1+ years ago. On 01 July 2011, I checked the car into Khang's Auto at Sin Ming as the brakes felt a spongy (ie, I had to floor the brakes in order for them to engage). Their diagnosis was that somebody (presumably the last owner's technician?) had put in the wrong type of brake fluid, and the master brake pump and some rubber lining(?) was gone. They also claimed it would take about three weeks for the replacement parts to arrive. Giving them the benefit of the doubt, I patiently waited, and two weeks passed without any word from them. Initiative must be a rare commodity in that workshop. Being unable to contact the one and only guy who fronts the warranty company (Mr O), I finally dropped by the workshop on a Monday (18 July 2011) to see if my car was still there, and demanded an update. They got the technician assigned to my car (Mr K) to inform me that they were still waiting for the parts to arrive. Later that same week, Mr O accidentally answered my phone call (I use the word 'accidentally' because I made numerous unsuccessful attempts to reach him before that one call which he answered), and informed me that the parts should arrive on Wed (20 July 2011), and that my car should be ready by the end of that week. One could be forgiven for getting one's hopes up at this point. Another two days passed, and still there was no word from them. By this point, since it doesn't take a rocket scientist to conclude that the elusive Mr O is actively avoiding my calls, I had to chase after the technician Mr K, who then claimed that there was some *delay* in the parts arriving, and promised to update me again as soon as the parts arrived. Yeah, right. Moving into this week, Mr O remains uncontactable; Mr K, who persisted with the story that the parts had been delayed when I spoke to him on Tue (26 July 2011) promised to update me on Thurs morning (28 July 2011), but again (this is fast becoming a popular refrain here) there was no word from Mr K. Upon calling the workshop, I am told that Mr K is most conveniently on MC for today, and his cover (Mr I) then changes the story to "our supplier had delivered incorrect parts, and we are still waiting on our supplier to send the correct parts". After 29 days in the workshop so far, I haven't the faintest idea whether the replacement parts have even been ordered or whether any of their staff are following up on my car, and their promised deadlines for handing back my car keep shifting backwards. :angry: And here's the twist: it turns out that the previous owner of my car had also bought TWM warranty and serviced it there, so either they failed to detect the wrong brake fluid being used then, or they were the same imbeciles who serviced it using the wrong brake fluid! Moral of the story? Between buying a warranty from them or from myself (by keeping the premium they would charge in reserve), I'll take my chances with my next car and a more reliable workshop. If anyone has suggestions on what I can do at this point, I'm all ears. Edited July 28, 2011 by Finwizii Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beng2 5th Gear July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 Is this Khang Auto the one which I read is famous for its gearbox repair/overhaul? Secondly, do they allow owners to hang around at their car when it is being serviced? If so, owners should have been shown the stage of brake pad wear so that owners can make an informed decision to minimize conflicts like this. When I service my car at non-AD workshops, I always do so at one which allows me to kpo at the car - to know more about the car and to avoid having the feeling of whether certain parts I paid for are really replaced or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Branteo Clutched July 29, 2011 Share July 29, 2011 not supporting khang auto but it depend on the brake pads u were supplied. they prob supplied cheeep cheeep one as customers prob ask for cheeeep. but expecting it to last 40,000km may be abit of a stretch. but having said that, my brake pads used to wear out every 12-15 mths (<20,000km) and they were orig (not OEM) from agent. This one a tad the hiong lor ... What's your mileage like? U track ar? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
A5ph Neutral Newbie July 29, 2011 Share July 29, 2011 Sigh. I think I have the worst experience with them in this thread to date. I bought my pre-owned Pug 206CC with a TWM warranty some 1+ years ago. On 01 July 2011, I checked the car into Khang's Auto at Sin Ming as the brakes felt a spongy (ie, I had to floor the brakes in order for them to engage). Their diagnosis was that somebody (presumably the last owner's technician?) had put in the wrong type of brake fluid, and the master brake pump and some rubber lining(?) was gone. They also claimed it would take about three weeks for the replacement parts to arrive. Giving them the benefit of the doubt, I patiently waited, and two weeks passed without any word from them. Initiative must be a rare commodity in that workshop. Being unable to contact the one and only guy who fronts the warranty company (Mr O), I finally dropped by the workshop on a Monday (18 July 2011) to see if my car was still there, and demanded an update. They got the technician assigned to my car (Mr K) to inform me that they were still waiting for the parts to arrive. Later that same week, Mr O accidentally answered my phone call (I use the word 'accidentally' because I made numerous unsuccessful attempts to reach him before that one call which he answered), and informed me that the parts should arrive on Wed (20 July 2011), and that my car should be ready by the end of that week. One could be forgiven for getting one's hopes up at this point. Another two days passed, and still there was no word from them. By this point, since it doesn't take a rocket scientist to conclude that the elusive Mr O is actively avoiding my calls, I had to chase after the technician Mr K, who then claimed that there was some *delay* in the parts arriving, and promised to update me again as soon as the parts arrived. Yeah, right. Moving into this week, Mr O remains uncontactable; Mr K, who persisted with the story that the parts had been delayed when I spoke to him on Tue (26 July 2011) promised to update me on Thurs morning (28 July 2011), but again (this is fast becoming a popular refrain here) there was no word from Mr K. Upon calling the workshop, I am told that Mr K is most conveniently on MC for today, and his cover (Mr I) then changes the story to "our supplier had delivered incorrect parts, and we are still waiting on our supplier to send the correct parts". After 29 days in the workshop so far, I haven't the faintest idea whether the replacement parts have even been ordered or whether any of their staff are following up on my car, and their promised deadlines for handing back my car keep shifting backwards. :angry: And here's the twist: it turns out that the previous owner of my car had also bought TWM warranty and serviced it there, so either they failed to detect the wrong brake fluid being used then, or they were the same imbeciles who serviced it using the wrong brake fluid! Moral of the story? Between buying a warranty from them or from myself (by keeping the premium they would charge in reserve), I'll take my chances with my next car and a more reliable workshop. If anyone has suggestions on what I can do at this point, I'm all ears. Always, always get a second opinion on everything. Always. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arowana1 1st Gear July 29, 2011 Share July 29, 2011 German cars brake pads average 25-30k km,depends on driver... no leh. mine 80,000km still no warning light to change brake pad yet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear July 29, 2011 Share July 29, 2011 Sigh. I think I have the worst experience with them in this thread to date. I bought my pre-owned Pug 206CC with a TWM warranty some 1+ years ago. On 01 July 2011, I checked the car into Khang's Auto at Sin Ming as the brakes felt a spongy (ie, I had to floor the brakes in order for them to engage). Their diagnosis was that somebody (presumably the last owner's technician?) had put in the wrong type of brake fluid, and the master brake pump and some rubber lining(?) was gone. They also claimed it would take about three weeks for the replacement parts to arrive. Giving them the benefit of the doubt, I patiently waited, and two weeks passed without any word from them. Initiative must be a rare commodity in that workshop. Being unable to contact the one and only guy who fronts the warranty company (Mr O), I finally dropped by the workshop on a Monday (18 July 2011) to see if my car was still there, and demanded an update. They got the technician assigned to my car (Mr K) to inform me that they were still waiting for the parts to arrive. Later that same week, Mr O accidentally answered my phone call (I use the word 'accidentally' because I made numerous unsuccessful attempts to reach him before that one call which he answered), and informed me that the parts should arrive on Wed (20 July 2011), and that my car should be ready by the end of that week. One could be forgiven for getting one's hopes up at this point. Another two days passed, and still there was no word from them. By this point, since it doesn't take a rocket scientist to conclude that the elusive Mr O is actively avoiding my calls, I had to chase after the technician Mr K, who then claimed that there was some *delay* in the parts arriving, and promised to update me again as soon as the parts arrived. Yeah, right. Moving into this week, Mr O remains uncontactable; Mr K, who persisted with the story that the parts had been delayed when I spoke to him on Tue (26 July 2011) promised to update me on Thurs morning (28 July 2011), but again (this is fast becoming a popular refrain here) there was no word from Mr K. Upon calling the workshop, I am told that Mr K is most conveniently on MC for today, and his cover (Mr I) then changes the story to "our supplier had delivered incorrect parts, and we are still waiting on our supplier to send the correct parts". After 29 days in the workshop so far, I haven't the faintest idea whether the replacement parts have even been ordered or whether any of their staff are following up on my car, and their promised deadlines for handing back my car keep shifting backwards. :angry: And here's the twist: it turns out that the previous owner of my car had also bought TWM warranty and serviced it there, so either they failed to detect the wrong brake fluid being used then, or they were the same imbeciles who serviced it using the wrong brake fluid! Moral of the story? Between buying a warranty from them or from myself (by keeping the premium they would charge in reserve), I'll take my chances with my next car and a more reliable workshop. If anyone has suggestions on what I can do at this point, I'm all ears. Luckily I did not go there for my gearbox overhaul, though I went there for quote to see how much quoted. Oil seal + auto gearbox change wana charge me $2380 for PICANTO only. Worse is car have to sit there for at least 14 days excluding weekends. went to JB instead. cheap and good. Btw you are also not allowed to walk near their servicing areas but have to wait at the waiting zone or the small resting room, which they tell me is for safety reasons. All crap to me. Btw bro your car I presume is sitting baked under the hot sun , summore for almost a month liao, as they only have limited covered areas for those more expensive makes in the middle of the workshop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear July 29, 2011 Share July 29, 2011 Is this Khang Auto the one which I read is famous for its gearbox repair/overhaul? Secondly, do they allow owners to hang around at their car when it is being serviced? If so, owners should have been shown the stage of brake pad wear so that owners can make an informed decision to minimize conflicts like this. When I service my car at non-AD workshops, I always do so at one which allows me to kpo at the car - to know more about the car and to avoid having the feeling of whether certain parts I paid for are really replaced or not. No you are PROHIBITED to step into their servicing areas citing safety reasons. How would you know if your ride is being serviced properly? Same style as CnC which I already switched them off my mind when my warranty expires. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged July 29, 2011 Share July 29, 2011 This one a tad the hiong lor ... What's your mileage like? U track ar? My front brake pad changed around 10-12months about 30K km. Rear brake pad around 12-15month. Both original pads. No track. Lucky, brake pads are not expensive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newkidontheblock Clutched July 29, 2011 Share July 29, 2011 bro... in the case when there is a screeching sound and u think there is no way the brake pad could have worn out that quickly, that means ur brakes werent beded properly... u can do a search online, and u will get what i mean... it happened to me too... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear July 29, 2011 Share July 29, 2011 No you are PROHIBITED to step into their servicing areas citing safety reasons. How would you know if your ride is being serviced properly? Same style as CnC which I already switched them off my mind when my warranty expires. Wow....They so jialat. Thought they are specializing in gearboxes and should be more professional. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear July 29, 2011 Share July 29, 2011 My front brake pad changed around 10-12months about 30K km. Rear brake pad around 12-15month. Both original pads. No track. Lucky, brake pads are not expensive. Your driving style could be factor in the higher usage or wear and tear of your brake pad. I used to change my original brake pads around 25k to 30k mileage. I only changed my rear brake shoes once. So far so good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forhod Clutched July 29, 2011 Share July 29, 2011 Not defending them but you see they have so many service bay, imagine all the customers standing at the side to look and accident happen, then how? I don't think insurance will cover right? Same goes to agents. Brake pads wear rate really defers from make to models.. generally speaking most can last till 40k, also if the car is heavier, of course the wear rate will be faster. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear July 29, 2011 Share July 29, 2011 Wow....They so jialat. Thought they are specializing in gearboxes and should be more professional. Wana walk to service area and check out my ride those guys (I presume PRC) kept on forcing me to walk back to the office area... When collecting my ride after the quoting from them, I was standing near to the keys holding area...machiam sibeh kan chiong watching over like vultures scared that I would drive off with other cars that dun belong to me. Might as well keep the carkeys inside a safe better... Decided to drive up to Bukit Indah to do despite gearbox stuck at gear 3 and travelling at 60km/h only... lucky manage to reach workshop in one piece. The journey there was priceless man. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear July 29, 2011 Share July 29, 2011 Not defending them but you see they have so many service bay, imagine all the customers standing at the side to look and accident happen, then how? I don't think insurance will cover right? Same goes to agents. Brake pads wear rate really defers from make to models.. generally speaking most can last till 40k, also if the car is heavier, of course the wear rate will be faster. If accident is bound to happen, it will happen no matter where you are standing. Which means they wun get any business from me. Period. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...