Believe in Feng Shui? The Singapore $1 coin

Idunspeed

found this entertaining read on the feng shui of Singapore $1 coin.. Nope.. Not only on the Ba Gua shape (and its myth) but more into details..

Part ONE:

Have you even seen a $1 Singapore coin? It is hexagon shaped. The one dollar coin is inscribed with an octagon, which looks like a Chinese Bagua. It seems that the Feng Shui masters in Singapore said that the construction of the MRT tunnels through downtown Singapore would have a negative effect on the country and her people. To counter this, they recommended that every household display a bagua to negate this. As there were many locals who did not adhere to this Chinese belief, the hexagon shaped design was incorporated into the one dollar coin. Hearsay has it that Singapore's senior minister, Lee Kwan Yew who is a firm believer in Feng Shui was told by fortune tellers that his dynasty would remain in power as long as the octagon was spread throughout Singapore.

There is another story about Mr Lee again making some changes on the face of the one dollar coin to correct the Feng Shui of his country's economy.

ATT00007_.jpg

Ever spotted the difference?

I wonder how many of you noticed the differences between a more dated $1 coin and one that is more recently created.

I

Your this topic makes me wonder does feng shui really plays a part? I mean look at recent years where quite a number of cases of people dropping onto MRT track, than look at flooding in just recent years. Is it that feng shui will keep changing from time to time and thus always need to change to match up with feng shui? Something like idunspeed has bering up the topic on $1 coin.

What about singapore flyers, marina barrage does it also build at a cost of feng shui?

Edited by Yewheng

This is interesting...something new...

I also heard..not sure if true... the same fengshui master advise MM Lee plant more trees in Singapore..reason: The shape of Singapore is like a crab, by planting more trees it will give life to this crab so Singapore can 横行霸道 in this region..

to the TS, I think M M has made it clear in his latest book that he has nothing to do with Feng Shui.

Edited by Icedbs

The thing that I really like to see change is our dollar notes.

Why must $2, 5, 10, 50, 100, 1000 all look the same?

Prefer notes with different images of Singapore rather than a single past human face or we can even bring back the past orchid flowers theme, bird series and scenes of busy ports, prosperity....... Just need to re-design and package differently. But, please don't put the casino buildings there!!! [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Edited by Kangadrool

Nice one. I learnt from this thread. But the look like crab and plant more trees, the fengshui master trying to turn singapore into a flower crab ar?

to the TS, I think M M has made it clear in his latest book that he has nothing to do with Feng Shui.

yap, i remember he did mention dat in his book.

but i also remember he made it very clear dat no car racing or gambling for singapore. now we have both.. [lipsrsealed]

PS: i only borrow the content from another site. i am not the originator.

i hear this too I also hear the SAF army crest is blessed against certain 'things' at night

Yes, see the 4 parallelograms at the bottom of the crest? They are blessed by the 4 major institution in Singapore namely, IRAS, CPF, HDB and the Traffic Police. ^_^

post-18199-1309488156_thumb.jpg

Your this topic makes me wonder does feng shui really plays a part? I mean look at recent years where quite a number of cases of people dropping onto MRT track, than look at flooding in just recent years. Is it that feng shui will keep changing from time to time and thus always need to change to match up with feng shui? Something like idunspeed has bering up the topic on $1 coin.

What about singapore flyers, marina barrage does it also build at a cost of feng shui?

singapore flyer..

this is wat i understand from the FS advisor to this project. the idea was conceived in early 2000 as government idea to launch its financial hub. FS advisor was brought in for the financial hub and he reccomended a turning wheel to tune up the qi of marina bay financial hub and singapore.

the wheel has to be 28 capsules to represent 28 constellations and have to move at a certain speed in anti-clock wise. this wheel will keep moving throughout 24hrs. the wheels must be lit and glitter like the constellation stars. this wheel must be ready by 2007.

they miss the mark and only got it ready in 2008. then global financial crisis hit singapore. the wheel broken down in dec 2008 in mist of crisis. singapore gdp down to negative. panic starts. consult again. this time they were advise to switch the turning to clockwise till now.

sg economy recovered quickly and once again, financial hub is alive and kicking and ready to go.

believe it anot.. [:)]

many companies and countries still believe in it, more or less. They rather do the good than putting bad thing, partly also to please the people, if the FS is kind of a bad sign and people were angry if bad thing happen.

Remember the accident happen at the zebra crossing at clementi, there was a design that look like a tomb about the complete, after the accident , town council remove the design immediately.

here's another one for fun read..

temasek tower at 8 shenton way. Formerly known as "the treasury"

8ShentonWay-Singapore-20060808.jpg

this building was consult and build accordingly to house MAS - the pulse of singapore monetary. if anyone were to visit this unique building before, they will know this building has a very special structure. it is round in exterior and square in the centre of the building. the shape of an ancient coin. the idea: to grow and keep our treasury in tact.

Gold-coins.jpg

when mas is house here, it is also the period where singapore economy was at its all time high. when LHL moved in as chairman of MAS in 1998 after his recovery of cancer. his office is at highest level with a direct lift from the drop off point.

as the qi was way too high for his body to take, MAS was subsequently moved to another location and the building renamed to temasek tower and sold off in 2007.

this building is a powerful building. the companies based in this building are all very profitable.

believe it anot. [:)]

Nice one. I learnt from this thread. But the look like crab and plant more trees, the fengshui master trying to turn singapore into a flower crab ar?

Green crab is a live crab, red crab is a cooked crab..... [:)]

Yes, see the 4 parallelograms at the bottom of the crest? They are blessed by the 4 major institution in Singapore namely, IRAS, CPF, HDB and the Traffic Police. ^_^

haha.. this actually represent 4 major race but i like your thinking.. [thumbsup]

Green crab is a live crab, red crab is a cooked crab..... [:)]

yup...Green crab is a live crab then can 横行霸道...red cooked crab kana makan [laugh]