Is ford a continental car?

Ithunk

you are right... the laser and even the telstar were jap. even the laser at one point was built in Philipines. No more of that in SG though, although this does show the multi national reach of car companies these days.

Having said that Ford = Mazda. The Ford actually drives better than the Mazda somehow.

My dad used to own a 1990 Laser (was to young to drive) and then a 1998 Laser again (the first car I drove after I got my license). I'd say although the engine is quite ok at 95bhp, a norm for a 1.6 Twin Cam 16valve EFI engine that time, but still feels rather underpowered. But it's very stable at high speed and you won't feel a thing even at 120km/h!

I like the "Ghia" gearbox as it's very responsive and quick to response on the throttle, this is something I took for granted until I get to drive other cars with more conventional AT.

When I sat on my colleague's Mazda 323, the one with the same chassis....somehow it didn't quite give me the same feeling as how the Laser did...

Edited by Pocus

I love the way the ford drives, the focus, mondeo, even the s-max. all a pleasure to drive. It just has that magical feel that makes you enjoy driving.

However, I'm disappointed in the latest reviews for the new "global focus". It seems that the car is good, but the magic handling and feedback is gone.

in terms of pricing new and unregistered with a coe

Dude what are you ccomparing ??

History ?? Ford is one of the oldest car companies, founded in 1903.

Prestige ? fine, merc, audi have better "branding" in sg

value for money ? Ford has one of the better value in sg than most european and japanese brands

Ford is a american company that is now global in nature. Since SG ford cars are designed, made and sold in europe, I do not have a problem branding it as conti. But not really bothered. I would buy a korean or china car, if the car is good.

As for pricing, of course cheaper is better, but currently, the pricing of ford is slightly higher than the jap cars, and lower than the european makes like for like. This gives a great alternative for car buyers. Ford cannot sell as many cars as Toyotas, so they cannot really price too low as it will eat into the profits.

Last weekend's 92k focus deal, was a really great deal. cheaper than the altis at 100k+.

Anyway, ford car prices also not our concern. If too high, buy something else. Unless you are eyeing a ford, and just want to complain. :)

aiyo, same old topic again. buay sian meh. but its good to see all the fordies appear again. my focus 4 yr plus liao. steering still as tight as ever. who says no good, huh huh huh? :wub:

try matching a jap car with ford at 2nd hand now, the jap car more expensive. but pp here not smart, dunno quality, dun understand euro NCap etc etc. only know how to complain conti service kwee.

kns, which AD dun chop u ? except for the heavy car body which is slower to cheong, i got no complaints abt this car after 4 years. btw the AD also wake up liao, so service has been been pretty good and painless. if too costly, u can change certain parts on ur own outside, which i do.

so, pls check ur facts before anyhow comment. make all the ford owners mad mad liao. ford owners are MAD to buy a good car which is unappreciated and under-valued anyway. try comparing with the popular VW DSG which has a huge list of breakdowns... [bigcry]

Edited by Gz0707

I won't say it's the best but above average . While the car is pretty stable at high speeds, I do feel a bit of understeer when making my way ard the NZ mountains.

U dun noe wat u tokking about:

Mondeo has the best handling in it's class+price range,

definitely beats Volvo S60 and all Jap competitors.

Comparing car of Mondeo-size to Audi A1 is simply silly.

I won't say it's the best but above average . While the car is pretty stable at high speeds, I do feel a bit of understeer when making my way ard the NZ mountains.

FWD non-sports models all sure understeer near limits coz designed that way.

But Mondeo steering feel is definitely among the best in class,

S60 feels a bit dead in comparison.

Seems like this thread has developed into a debate between Ford and non-Ford owners.

Here's my 2 cents worth:

I have driven 1 Suzuki and 3 Toyotas before my transition to Ford.

Comparing Toyota and Ford, the cars are worlds apart.

There is no clear winner, but once you have driven a Ford, you can't help but love the way it drives.

Btw, the argument between Mondeo and Merc C-class is a reasonable one.

I wouldn't mind forking out 20k more for the prestige, but I think the Mondeo is definitely worth the money.

Also, the Ford vs Volvo debate is worth exploring.

Volvo has borrowed most of the mechanicals from Ford but has more interior and safety features.

Maybe it is considered half a class above Ford targeted at a different group.

For sedans, there is plenty of choice. But not MPVs.

For Continental MPVs, Galaxy is still the only choice (or S-Max for slightly less space).

Since our Fords come from Europe, I still consider them continental cars.

Jetta cheaper I agree. Better? IMO, its not a fair comparison.

BUT if you think Ford is overpriced which you obviously do then VW is even more overpriced.

That's the wonder of Marketing in SG............. VW has done a good job throwing out ads after ads every week to the extend that quite a few local are thinking that VW is a premium brand and is of higher value than its competitors in other part of the world....

Thus, Ford or other brand high markup = Overpriced.... VW high markup = Value

Compared to which jap car? U apparently haven been reading up much too.... Pls read car reviews for the new mondy before posting

Actually i think it's because he has not read enough (apart from MCF)..........

Ford Focus used to be made in India, not sure if current batches still made in India.

However, if u talk about the brand, of coz it is American. Juz like u don't really care if VW is made in Germany do u? but u know it is a German brand.

With globalization, cost reduction is necessary for survival, so most of these conti brands are outsourcing to produce in countries w lower costs. Does that make these brands non conti anymore?

Juz like Toyota has outsourced to Thailand for altis n vios. Does that means they are no longer Japanese brand?

But one of the bro is correct, having driven both Jap and European branded car, they are very different in terms of drivability and handling.

I dunno about the current Ford but in the late 80s, 90s and early 00s, Ford to me is JAPANESE.

I guess during that time Ford and Mazda had a close relationship and built Models in Asia Pac using shared Chassis during those times.

The Chassis, engine and gearbox are all the same for both Mazda and Ford models, in fact in at some point of time the even the car body of the both brands are similar.

Ford Laser/Escort = Mazda 323

Ford Telstar/Mondeo = Mazda 626

I remember during those times, ford and mazda parts are interchangable. Those Ford owners would buy mazda parts for servicing as they were cheaper.

Even until now, this stigma is still in me at Ford are basically a more luxury Mazda....even though I know I'm wrong....but it was truth 10 - 20 years back

U are not wrong to say that, one of the reason I did not buy a ford is simply it's a part Japs/Americano . . . but then, those who did love every inch of it, can't explain such thing, if one like it, no matter how U try to convince them, it won't change their mind, till they do drive round and round, then they will tell U their version their love/hate relationships with Ford.

I'm not even thinking about Volvo but rather your statement that it's better than all Jap cars. I would be pretty sure Legacy and Honda accord with all round wishbone suspension would handle better. A trip down the track would settle once and for all.

FWD non-sports models all sure understeer near limits coz designed that way.

But Mondeo steering feel is definitely among the best in class,

S60 feels a bit dead in comparison.

Hmmmmm... so much discussion here.

Let me summarize?

Ford is an America car brand, nothing to do with continental (Ford owners, don't bluff yourself. Let's face the fact and I feel that it is okay to be America branding.)

The only relationship with continental is that, Ford assembles cars in continental Europe countries.

Just like Toyota. We know that it should be a Japan car brand and Toyota assembles some cars in Thailand.

But this will not make Toyota, a Thailand car brand.

On the other hand, Ford produces good cars.

It is just that, in SG's context, one of the major consideration when buying a car is branding.

Buyers rather pay higher for other "branded" brand cars or pay lesser if brand is not a consideration.

Not everyone is into technology, just like a Toyota Camry 2.0L and it is still with a 4-AT gearbox but the sales is damn good.

The best verdict, SG car brands registration in 2011.

Jan-Jun 2011: Total 128 Ford cars registered.

And the rest, see link.

Fact has proven that most SG car buyers will rather go for branding over technology and any other considerations.

The only relationship with continental is that, Ford assembles cars in continental Europe countries.

go and google more lah.

the local Ford Focus and Mondeo all designed by Ford Europe,

and not just assembled in Europe.