Burst my timing belt

Aimnfire

sigh

was sending wife to work before proceeding to work place

at traffic light junction suddenly engine die off

try to start but i hear the cracking sound i knew my timing belt gone already

sigh was targeting another 4000km before changing the belt as it will reach 80k base on my calculation from previous belt change

forgot my work environment alot of dust and dry marking most rubbers harden faster

sigh sibei sian

sigh

sigh was targeting another 4000km before changing the belt as it will reach 80k base on my calculation from previous belt change

forgot my work environment alot of dust and dry marking most rubbers harden faster

sigh sibei sian

Belt service life can be shorten by overtensioning...

Edited by Good-Carbuyer

sigh

sigh sibei sian

Confirmed your belt burst? As ascertained by workshop?

confirm

follow the tow truck back to workshop

the mech start the engine without me telling them the whole story

i just said car cannot start at traffic light

he proceed to crank and from the crank sound both he and i know its a timing belt issue

sigh

sigh sibei sian

nowdays seen to be very easy the timing belt kaput!

sigh

sigh sibei sian

How much is usual repair cost + belts kits ? need to change water pump too ?

confirm

follow the tow truck back to workshop

the mech start the engine without me telling them the whole story

i just said car cannot start at traffic light

he proceed to crank and from the crank sound both he and i know its a timing belt issue

Bro,

Can share what is your ride?

How much is usual repair cost + belts kits ? need to change water pump too ?

usual cost $350 and above when you change the timing belt before it burst

once burst prepare to pay more than $1k

most like to save money go JB and do mah.

maybe poorer quality/workmanship.

for me, i can afford, i still prefer to do such major servicing at AD.

wow lau..just when we have thread talking about time belt and chain....someone kana liao....scary

thats why when i browse the web few days back

i saw alot of discussion on timing belt via most forums

so i made a point to change together at the next servicing

haiyah

sigh

sigh sibei sian

For my past few cars, my mechanic will normally advise me to change the timing belt 10 to 15k

before the recommended mileage. If recommended mileage is 80k, I will change at 65k or 70k.

KIA cerato 2005

For korean cars like Kia or hyundai, almost all the workshops outside

will recommend to change the timing belt at 60k instead of the recommended 80k.

For korean cars like Kia or hyundai, almost all the workshops outside

will recommend to change the timing belt at 60k instead of the recommended 80k.

if i remember correctly

agent and the manual state at 90k

i forgot to include my work surrounding environment where usually its dry and dusty as my 3 other belts (steering/aircon/alternator) shows signs of cracking around every 15000km

Edited by Aimnfire

most like to save money go JB and do mah.

maybe poorer quality/workmanship.

for me, i can afford, i still prefer to do such major servicing at AD.

agree. timing belt dun play play. a few hundred bucks more for a few years peace of mind is cheap insurance if u ask me.