Persistent Lower Back Pain

Orangepineapple

Want to seek some advice from bros here who also suffer from lower back pain

I am having lower back pain for few months already. Initially only pain when I do some awkward motions like twisting and bending down.

But now it has worsen to constant pain/ache no matter standing or sitting, to the extend that when walking I cannot really straighten the back.

Of course i had been to the doctor's several times, every time he will take an x-ray and tell me that there is no problem with the spine and bones. and there's nothing he can do except prescribing some physiotheraphy.

I went for physio for a while but it did not help. So i went back and the doctor said the x-ray did not show anything and he really dunno how, so he suggested to do an MRI scan to check if the nerves are ok.

My question is: are MRI scan really useful? I am worried that after i go through this expensive scan the doctor is going to say that the scan shows nothing and direct me to physio again. then i would have wasted money to go back to square one

any bros can advice? or any bros know of any good places that can treat back pain?

Before they do the MRI scan for the nerves they will inject dye into your bloodstream so that during the scan the dye will highlight the nerves. How effective, actually very hard to say. Did have any medical history whereby you hurt your back? If it's a recurring injury pain the scan won't be of much help.

Pain in terms of lower back muscle or bone? What kinda doctor did you see so far?

hard to tell whether is bone or muscle pain leh. but i am more inclined to think that its the bone thats painful.

I have been to polyclinic and refered to so called specialist in CGH

Before they do the MRI scan for the nerves they will inject dye into your bloodstream so that during the scan the dye will highlight the nerves. How effective, actually very hard to say. Did have any medical history whereby you hurt your back? If it's a recurring injury pain the scan won't be of much help.

more of recurring injury bro. I dun recall one injury which i sustain which caused my back to be like that.

last time when young it was on and off. nothing much, and i could be very physically active also.

but now the pain is always there and i cant really do much physical things.

anyway, so MRI really also useless? hai and it costs a cool $500 cash, cannot be paid by other means.

what other options do i have man :(

Had you try those nerve stimulater machine?I had back pain for years already and this always works for me.Can get it from those OSIM ,OTO shop.Very effective on instant neck and shoulder pain relieve.

If from the x-ray that you had done do not see any symptoms of slip disc or spinal cord compression dan very likely it's the lower back muscle. You dare to try TCM acupuncture? It may help relieve the pain, cure I dunno.

I used to have back and lower back pain. So ppl recommend I go see a bone setter, he helped correct my posture which helped my back. And I also went to see a TCM to do acupuncture on my lower back which also helped and no more pain but this takes a number of sessions unlike the bone setter which is effective only with one session. It also depends on my medical history cos I dun have any back injury before so I was lucky to get out of such pains. Before that I also saw a polyclinic doctor who later refer me to a hospital specialist, like you I almost went for the MRI scan to check on my nerves.

I have such recurring back pain too. Doctors told me its muscle spasm, weak back muscles. And yes, when the pain comes, really can't stand straight. Gotta slowly adjust posture straight in order not to have pain. Sleeping is the worse when u wanna change from side to side, damn pain, can break out in sweat. Dr usually prescribe painkiller and muscle relaxant. U can try to buy something that looks like a giant cigar fm TCM shops. Burn the tip and get someone to circle around the affected area.

Actually in some cases thyroid, hyper or hypo, can cause weak back muscle. One easy way to check is stretch out both your hands with your palms facing the floor and see how bad your hands shake or tremble. If very bad dan it's likely you kenna. A blood test with any GP will confirm that.

If from the x-ray that you had done do not see any symptoms of slip disc or spinal cord compression dan very likely it's the lower back muscle. You dare to try TCM acupuncture? It may help relieve the pain, cure I dunno.

I used to have back and lower back pain. So ppl recommend I go see a bone setter, he helped correct my posture which helped my back. And I also went to see a TCM to do acupuncture on my lower back which also helped and no more pain but this takes a number of sessions unlike the bone setter which is effective only with one session. It also depends on my medical history cos I dun have any back injury before so I was lucky to get out of such pains. Before that I also saw a polyclinic doctor who later refer me to a hospital specialist, like you I almost went for the MRI scan to check on my nerves.

bro so in the end u did not go for the MRI?

how many sessions TCM did u go to to be free of pain? so the pain does not come back now?

i also have lower back pain. it is due to tight muscle. Taking relaxant can help, but i take once and stop.

Dont want to be dependent on it, so i do stretches.

I have such recurring back pain too. Doctors told me its muscle spasm, weak back muscles. And yes, when the pain comes, really can't stand straight. Gotta slowly adjust posture straight in order not to have pain. Sleeping is the worse when u wanna change from side to side, damn pain, can break out in sweat. Dr usually prescribe painkiller and muscle relaxant. U can try to buy something that looks like a giant cigar fm TCM shops. Burn the tip and get someone to circle around the affected area.

bro so what did u do about your back pain? did u went for MRI or TCM like bro watwheels?

Have you done any stretching exercise? There's 2 that you can do. Did the specialist teach you?

Can try taking medication such as Arcoxia or Celebrex.

bro so what did u do about your back pain? did u went for MRI or TCM like bro watwheels?

No, didn't go for MRI. I am consulting with a TCM physician based in KL. I am currently taking 2 types of his prescription which is herb based. 1 to strengthen the bone and the other to strengthen the tendon. Currently taking for maintainence.

Have you done any stretching exercise? There's 2 that you can do. Did the specialist teach you?

Can try taking medication such as Arcoxia or Celebrex.

not really stretching.. the physio ask me to do some muscle strengtening exercise. do for 1 month but got worst

No, didn't go for MRI. I am consulting with a TCM physician based in KL. I am currently taking 2 types of his prescription which is herb based. 1 to strengthen the bone and the other to strengthen the tendon. Currently taking for maintainence.

did it help? seem like TCM is the way to go

Sometimes feel abit sore, but generally pain free.

Personally I prefer not to take painkiller as may be too reliant on it. Really a matter of personal preference.

The KL physician oso recommend me to go for acupuncture, but don't know of any good ones in Sg. So I just take his herbal prescription.