Persistent Lower Back Pain

Orangepineapple

17 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

Now you now why smokers who always take smoking break don’t have lower back pain issues. 🤣

Like that either i start to smoke or i join them for smoking break?! Lol.

1 hour ago, Lala81 said:

Get well soon. Now got lot of time to surf mcf! 

ha ha ha you're right. Was so bothered by the niggling pain that i resorted to lying down now and then before the op. Didn't surf much as a result. Now should have more time to do so 😁

1 hour ago, Ender said:

Unless he surf without sitting down for hours.🤣

now scared liao. sit half to max 1 hr, i will stand up or go lie down... don't want this to come back again...

47 minutes ago, Ender said:

Sitting relaxes alot of your core muscles while the upper body is still loading the spine, i.e. compressing it. Want to rest, lie down better.

I think if you sit in a very good posture it's OK. 

But I slouch like hell when I'm seating. My Lower back muscles are weak. I usually recline at home. I'm mostly on my bed or the L part of my sofa at home. I only seat down when I'm eating. 

Lucky I do cooking or chores at home sometimes so that keeps me on my feet. 

58 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Excessive sitting could cause so much problem to the lower pain! For deskbound people like me, better walk to toilet more often liao. Lol.

This is true. And while the discs might degenerate with age, it can hit young people too. Few weeks ago Sunday Times incidentally got an article that mentioned a 30-yr-old lady who sat for long hours when wfh, also developed severe back pain and had spent like $6k on chiropractor so far...

I think our govt should really raise some awareness about this. only ever heard of them saying smoking is bad for lung, drinking is bad for liver... should run some campaign to say sitting is bad for back... oh, cannot, then classrooms will be a mess and all offices productivity goes down... 😂

7 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

But I slouch like hell when I'm seating. My Lower back muscles are weak. I usually recline at home. I'm mostly on my bed or the L part of my sofa at home. I only seat down when I'm eating. 

Then i confirm would have back problem soon, or i already have back problem liao? Since i have quite bad posture when i sit, stand and walking. [sweatdrop]

1 hour ago, Etnt said:

mine was L4/5 and L5/S1, removed both disc but probably due to suffering in that condition for a long time, there's still pins and needles from my left calf down post surgery till now (4yrs). But at least quality of life is much improved with no/minimal pain most of the time.

oh, did you endure the pain for a long time before you went for surgery? 

One of my classmates had 3 slipped discs, and when there were attacks, he would not be able to get out of bed, even to go to toilet, for 2 days. But he later started exercising - from slow jogs, to later regular runs that stretch to ultra marathon now 😱 

He said the back pain didn't come back as he started running... He encouraged me to try that too... but he was much younger when it happened, and i dun think i can match up at all...

Hope we'll all be able to put the pain behind us.

10 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

got all sorts of theories/advices leh. And some even say tall people more at risk... and if true, you better take precaution hor... the ortho said if sit and bend body forward, it's another 50% more stress on the back... if that's the case, does it mean if sit reclined, is ok? this one i didn't ask... maybe i'll do so when i go for follow-up...

1 minute ago, Atrecord said:

got all sorts of theories/advices leh. And some even say tall people more at risk... and if true, you better take precaution hor... the ortho said if sit and bend body forward, it's another 50% more stress on the back... if that's the case, does it mean if sit reclined, is ok? this one i didn't ask... maybe i'll do so when i go for follow-up...

Should reduce spinal flexion exercises like situps and crunches.

Develop your back and your core in other ways. 

1 hour ago, Atrecord said:

Thanks to all who gave the useful advices here. I really appreciate it.

The pain had gone quite bad at one stage, and was otherwise irritating at other times. It affected my work and life to some extent, and some days were worse than others.

While waiting for the MRI after seeing the ortho, the pain was so bad at one stage that I was seriously considering going to A&E, but in the end went to GP and was given arcoxia to relieve the pain. Managed to get MRI and follow-up appt with ortho brought forward a bit, and was diagnosed with slipped disc at L3/4 and L5... While doc was optismistic during the first consult, guessing that it might be just some tear that should heal in a few months, the MRI result was telling and he then suggested to have keyhole surgery to resolve it, explaining that some parts of the discs are damaged already and the fragments are pressing on my nerve, hence the pain i felt.

As there was risk of paralysis involved for such spine surgery (even though the doc stressed it very low - less than 1%), I was nervous and undecided and took a few days to think through it, and had spoken to family, friends and colleagues about it. Family was supportive of surgery, but a couple of friends were suggesting should try other ways - TCM (acupuncture), exercise, therapy, etc.

Even went for a second opinion with another specialist, and he also said surgery is the cleanest option, given (how bad) my situation (was), but also offered 2 other possibilities - steroid injection to relieve the pressure, or try therapy and painkillers to see if it will improve. Both the options are not guaranteed to work and the steroid injection also involved risks.

So I eventually opted for surgery, and it was carried out on Friday. The surgery went well, and i'm now back home recovering. Hopefully will go according to what the doc said: let the wound heal, then later will start physio and exercises to build up the core muscles maybe after 3 mth.

I asked what could be the likely cause, but was told it's difficult to tell. Degeneration due to age is a prime suspect, and excessive sitting is another likely reason. Sitting puts 50% more stress on the lower back, as compared to standing, apparently... So i'll need to change my habit of sitting down for long periods at work, or even at home...

Well... just saying...

A good comfortable chair with support.

Or a good mattress. 

Not a young bull anymore... 😅

ae5926901df630c8a2800145d65f6751.gif

22 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

One of my classmates had 3 slipped discs, and when there were attacks, he would not be able to get out of bed, even to go to toilet, for 2 days. But he later started exercising - from slow jogs, to later regular runs that stretch to ultra marathon now 😱 

He said the back pain didn't come back as he started running... He encouraged me to try that too... but he was much younger when it happened, and i dun think i can match up at all...

Can try, don't have to match to his level.

Just now, Ender said:

Can try, don't have to match to his level.

yah, once the doc gives me the all-clear, i'll definitely start some regime to train up...

once bitten, twice shy liao...

23 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

For more than a decade, it was an off and on thing, and gradually juz became worse and worse till I couldn't walk for a few minutes before needing to sit down as the pain will radiate from butt down to calf, and can be either/both sides.

Tried many things before finally accepting surgery as the final option. I dunno if doing it earlier would prevented the side effects from the nerves being pinched for such a long time, but as you said, I'm glad that the pain can be put behind us.

2 hours ago, Atrecord said:

Thanks to all who gave the useful advices here. I really appreciate it.

The pain had gone quite bad at one stage, and was otherwise irritating at other times. It affected my work and life to some extent, and some days were worse than others.

While waiting for the MRI after seeing the ortho, the pain was so bad at one stage that I was seriously considering going to A&E, but in the end went to GP and was given arcoxia to relieve the pain. Managed to get MRI and follow-up appt with ortho brought forward a bit, and was diagnosed with slipped disc at L3/4 and L5... While doc was optismistic during the first consult, guessing that it might be just some tear that should heal in a few months, the MRI result was telling and he then suggested to have keyhole surgery to resolve it, explaining that some parts of the discs are damaged already and the fragments are pressing on my nerve, hence the pain i felt.

As there was risk of paralysis involved for such spine surgery (even though the doc stressed it very low - less than 1%), I was nervous and undecided and took a few days to think through it, and had spoken to family, friends and colleagues about it. Family was supportive of surgery, but a couple of friends were suggesting should try other ways - TCM (acupuncture), exercise, therapy, etc.

Even went for a second opinion with another specialist, and he also said surgery is the cleanest option, given (how bad) my situation (was), but also offered 2 other possibilities - steroid injection to relieve the pressure, or try therapy and painkillers to see if it will improve. Both the options are not guaranteed to work and the steroid injection also involved risks.

So I eventually opted for surgery, and it was carried out on Friday. The surgery went well, and i'm now back home recovering. Hopefully will go according to what the doc said: let the wound heal, then later will start physio and exercises to build up the core muscles maybe after 3 mth.

I asked what could be the likely cause, but was told it's difficult to tell. Degeneration due to age is a prime suspect, and excessive sitting is another likely reason. Sitting puts 50% more stress on the lower back, as compared to standing, apparently... So i'll need to change my habit of sitting down for long periods at work, or even at home...

Get well soon! 

Glad you did key-hole. The recovery period should be shorter and there should be minimal damage to muscle. I have a 10cm railway track on my back when I did mine (L3/L4) in 2001. 

I'm still struggling with daily pain as the spine has degenerated along the way since then. Some days are good, some days bad. 

Strengthening core is impt. I regret not doing it as I was young then and thought nothing more of it. Now want to do also cannot do much. 

Sorry, this is not about me. Just wanna let you know that you're not alone in this as you can see there are many bros here (maybe sis too) that were/are in the same shoes as you. Think positive and rest well! 

• Shocked 2

26 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

You no need to reach the ultra marathon level la, but think if go for slow jogs should help.

3 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

yah, once the doc gives me the all-clear, i'll definitely start some regime to train up...

once bitten, twice shy liao...

Running, if done correctly, activate the glutes with hip extension. Strong glutes for better lower back. Get some hill climbs for more effects.

1 minute ago, Etnt said:

For more than a decade, it was an off and on thing, and gradually juz became worse and worse till I couldn't walk for a few minutes before needing to sit down as the pain will radiate from butt down to calf, and can be either/both sides.

Tried many things before finally accepting surgery as the final option. I dunno if doing it earlier would prevented the side effects from the nerves being pinched for such a long time, but as you said, I'm glad that the pain can be put behind us.

I have the same concerns .. that the nerve damage could be permanent even if the source of the issue (spine) is fixed during surgery. I have some tingling/dumbing sensation on my left foot on certain days. It comes and goes. The back is sore on a daily basis. I had the L3/L4 disc removed in 2001, but recent MRIs (2018, 2020) showed the space between some of my discs are narrowing. Orthos said degenerated.

My surgery options are spinal fusion. I actually look forward to it, cos the pain is affecting my daily chores. But my wife is not keen as there are risks involved, as with all surgeries. I also don't want her to look after me like a handicap for the rest of our lives together. Haiz .. between the rock and a hard place.

• Sad 1

5 minutes ago, Ckll said:

I have the same concerns .. that the nerve damage could be permanent even if the source of the issue (spine) is fixed during surgery. I have some tingling/dumbing sensation on my left foot on certain days. It comes and goes. The back is sore on a daily basis. I had the L3/L4 disc removed in 2001, but recent MRIs (2018, 2020) showed the space between some of my discs are narrowing. Orthos said degenerated.

My surgery options are spinal fusion. I actually look forward to it, cos the pain is affecting my daily chores. But my wife is not keen as there are risks involved, as with all surgeries. I also don't want her to look after me like a handicap for the rest of our lives together. Haiz .. between the rock and a hard place.

i feel you. Have you try inversion table? It does provide temporary relief.