Persistent Lower Back Pain

Orangepineapple

17 minutes ago, Datsun366 said:

Made you look, hah!

and thoracic pain can refer to mana lower back?

wait after Prof Radx and other guys such as Dean Vratenza come in and physio lecture.

let them pay money see in clinic la.

😁

Yes lower back pain can come from dysfunctional gluteals or neck/thoracic back issues. 

7 minutes ago, Nolicense said:

I look at the body chart I faint.. dont understand sia.

Then nevermind.
Just know that if one specific area has pain,  it could be due to another corresponding area elsewhere.

1 hour ago, Nolicense said:

I look at the body chart I faint.. dont understand sia.

I see oredi also don't understand and faint...oh...im referring to the price chart at clinics 😁

On 3/13/2021 at 11:32 AM, Lala81 said:

But trapezius don't touch the ilium bone... It's last anchored to your lower thoracic vertebrae. It usually causes thoracic back pain. not lower back pain.

Yeah but pain in the thoracic region is also a big headache for most doctors since that part is very stable (compared to the rest of the spine) most of the time.

Since we're at it, doctors are very good with bones but when it comes to muscles/nerves they seem to be at a lost :XD:

14 minutes ago, Windwaver said:

The app also can see soft tissue on chest? :grin:

Yes, part of female reproductive system. I do not see it in a sexual way but as part of the human anatomy body. You will see much more in medical books and references. See until you sian. However the models in the medical books, not chio one. I wonder why the authors/writers taste is very different.[lipsrsealed]

7 minutes ago, Adrianli said:

Yes, part of female reproductive system. I do not see it in a sexual way but as part of the human anatomy body. You will see much more in medical books and references. See until you sian. However the models in the medical books, not chio one. I wonder why the authors/writers taste is very different.[lipsrsealed]

Everyday see also sian, gripping is better :XD:

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/courts-crime/trial-begins-for-anaesthesiologist-accused-of-molesting-woman-at-mount

On 3/10/2021 at 9:19 PM, Atrecord said:

Sigh... my turn to have lower back pain.

Started off with lower back, then went xray, came back normal and doc just gave muscle relaxant and painkillers. When it didn't get better, and pain even radiated to my left leg, doc referred me to ortho. 

when i saw the ortho, pain at lower back was not so bad, but at certain angle the leg would feel the pain. Arranged for MRI, but still 2-3 wk away.

ortho assessed and tested my toes and leg strength + reflex, and said it's not v bad, likely a torn disc and got chance might recover in 3 mth. 

in the meantime, just tell me rest more and dun carry heavy things. Also said that prolonged sitting (which i might have been doing ever since started WFH) isn't good...

The pain at my left buttock and leg suddenly got worse a few days ago, and was very painful for one day. Sit, stood both also pain... then these 2 days slightly better, but certain angles, will feel the sharp pull/pain at the left buttock and leg. Last night choked on my drinks and coughed a few times, and the pain was so intense when coughing...

Any experienced guys here got any advice how to get it to heal/recover, and quickly if possible?

thanks...

Sounded similar to my OC. Having ruled out any serious condition, ortho referred her to physio.

Lucky for her, PT managed to narrow down to her inflamed sacroiliac joint at the third session. Put on rigid tape on her back and immediately she felt much better.  No sharp pain that immobilise her. Pretty amazing.

Of course she continue with her physio sessions and took up exercises to strengthen her core and glutes. Touch wood...the pain has not come back.

Maybe can consider this option while waiting for MRI. 

Thanks to all who gave the useful advices here. I really appreciate it.

The pain had gone quite bad at one stage, and was otherwise irritating at other times. It affected my work and life to some extent, and some days were worse than others.

While waiting for the MRI after seeing the ortho, the pain was so bad at one stage that I was seriously considering going to A&E, but in the end went to GP and was given arcoxia to relieve the pain. Managed to get MRI and follow-up appt with ortho brought forward a bit, and was diagnosed with slipped disc at L3/4 and L5... While doc was optismistic during the first consult, guessing that it might be just some tear that should heal in a few months, the MRI result was telling and he then suggested to have keyhole surgery to resolve it, explaining that some parts of the discs are damaged already and the fragments are pressing on my nerve, hence the pain i felt.

As there was risk of paralysis involved for such spine surgery (even though the doc stressed it very low - less than 1%), I was nervous and undecided and took a few days to think through it, and had spoken to family, friends and colleagues about it. Family was supportive of surgery, but a couple of friends were suggesting should try other ways - TCM (acupuncture), exercise, therapy, etc.

Even went for a second opinion with another specialist, and he also said surgery is the cleanest option, given (how bad) my situation (was), but also offered 2 other possibilities - steroid injection to relieve the pressure, or try therapy and painkillers to see if it will improve. Both the options are not guaranteed to work and the steroid injection also involved risks.

So I eventually opted for surgery, and it was carried out on Friday. The surgery went well, and i'm now back home recovering. Hopefully will go according to what the doc said: let the wound heal, then later will start physio and exercises to build up the core muscles maybe after 3 mth.

I asked what could be the likely cause, but was told it's difficult to tell. Degeneration due to age is a prime suspect, and excessive sitting is another likely reason. Sitting puts 50% more stress on the lower back, as compared to standing, apparently... So i'll need to change my habit of sitting down for long periods at work, or even at home...

• Praise 12
  • Shocked 2

13 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

The pain had gone quite bad at one stage, and was otherwise irritating at other times. It affected my work and life to some extent, and some days were worse than others.

While waiting for the MRI after seeing the ortho, the pain was so bad at one stage that I was seriously considering going to A&E, but in the end went to GP and was given arcoxia to relieve the pain. Managed to get MRI and follow-up appt with ortho brought forward a bit, and was diagnosed with slipped disc at L3/4 and L5... While doc was optismistic during the first consult, guessing that it might be just some tear that should heal in a few months, the MRI result was telling and he then suggested to have keyhole surgery to resolve it, explaining that some parts of the discs are damaged already and the fragments are pressing on my nerve, hence the pain i felt.

As there was risk of paralysis involved for such spine surgery (even though the doc stressed it very low - less than 1%), I was nervous and undecided and took a few days to think through it, and had spoken to family, friends and colleagues about it. Family was supportive of surgery, but a couple of friends were suggesting should try other ways - TCM (acupuncture), exercise, therapy, etc.

Even went for a second opinion with another specialist, and he also said surgery is the cleanest option, given (how bad) my situation (was), but also offered 2 other possibilities - steroid injection to relieve the pressure, or try therapy and painkillers to see if it will improve. Both the options are not guaranteed to work and the steroid injection also involved risks.

So I eventually opted for surgery, and it was carried out on Friday. The surgery went well, and i'm now back home recovering. Hopefully will go according to what the doc said: let the wound heal, then later will start physio and exercises to build up the core muscles maybe after 3 mth.

I asked what could be the likely cause, but was told it's difficult to tell. Degeneration due to age is a prime suspect, and excessive sitting is another likely reason. Sitting puts 50% more stress on the lower back, as compared to standing, apparently... So i'll need to change my habit of sitting down for long periods at work, or even at home...

Get well soon. Now got lot of time to surf mcf! 

15 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

speedy recovery ... boss

🙏

24 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

take care and speedy recovery ..

15 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

Get well soon. Now got lot of time to surf mcf! 

Unless he surf without sitting down for hours.🤣

Excessive sitting could cause so much problem to the lower pain! For deskbound people like me, better walk to toilet more often liao. Lol.

37 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

mine was L4/5 and L5/S1, removed both disc but probably due to suffering in that condition for a long time, there's still pins and needles from my left calf down post surgery till now (4yrs). But at least quality of life is much improved with no/minimal pain most of the time.

9 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Excessive sitting could cause so much problem to the lower pain! For deskbound people like me, better walk to toilet more often liao. Lol.

Sitting relaxes alot of your core muscles while the upper body is still loading the spine, i.e. compressing it. Want to rest, lie down better.

13 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Now you now why smokers who always take smoking break don’t have lower back pain issues. 🤣

Edited by Fcw75