Graphics Designer earning slightly more than $3k?

Donut

Straits Times today, front page, i happened to read about the article about the revised policy for Singles buying HDB. They interviewed this gal, aged 37, graphic designer.

What shocked me was her salary, which is only slightly more than $3k, at age of 37.........

I thought graphic designers has more earning power due to specialised skills?

Is this due to huge supple of graphic designers? any one can claim to be one?

Straits Times today, front page, i happened to read about the article about the revised policy for Singles buying HDB. They interviewed this gal, aged 37, graphic designer.

What shocked me was her salary, which is only slightly more than $3k, at age of 37.........

now 15 years old kid also can design, what you think?

designers are a dime a dozen... and now bosses all very concerned about overheads..

if ur pay too high, they rather get a fresh grad and pay 2K or so...

can offer lower if its FT best!

This may be true. In the field of art and creativity, many things are subjective. You can have the highest qualification, but if clients don't like your work, or majority thinks that your style doesn't fit...?

On the other hand, any tom, dick, harry can also claim to be designer as long as can draw and paint (and some even can't do that decently), and it's too bad if you can't appreciate their creativity! [laugh]

Anything to do with art/creative fields have quite low barrier to entry... so it's very hard to distinguish yourself from the pack.

But $3700 for a single lifestyle is ok lah... could be better than a couple earning close to $10k jointly a month (the new ceiling), but burdened with children's expenses, family expenses, demands on time (time=money), etc.

Edited by Sosaria

its true. graphic designers starting pay are prob the lowest of all designers. Even myself as an interactive designer my first job i started at 1.3k. Graphic designers get loess becos every tom/dick/harry even without studying now call themselves 'freelance' graphic designers and bring down the market. I reckon 3k shd be a senior designer level and not bad already.

But of course there are higher paid ones around. And yea qualifications dun count for much unless going into the teaching biznass...

Edited by Mockngbrd

you really thought that ppl outside earning big bucks according to the statistic and report?

For working class, the ppl working in big banks and mncs earn the big bucks. I heard govt sector starting pay is around $4K now with good class honors.

how much does Web publishing company charge to create basic HTML web pages?

nowadays even kids can do websites except theirs are more amatuerish.

small printing shops graphic designers earn even less... 2k plus......

those in big advertising firms earn 3-6k.. art director maybe 4-8k...

not everyone in sg is rich like in here... i will say majority of ppl in sg only earn 3-5k normally....

Edited by Ngck

it is also a highly pressurize job, deadline after deadline! and the superior (so call artistic people) are quite demanding and mean [laugh] [laugh]

how much does Web publishing company charge to create basic HTML web pages?

nowadays even kids can do websites except theirs are more amatuerish.

This skillset can be picked up from the internet.

Tutorials are available freely, this is probably one of the reasons why the industry here is not so favorable.

[laugh] thank you thank you..typing and multi tasking [laugh]

likewise in HK, 1 light setting designer for photography/poster can make average 10-20k if u are not bad

light setting also need so much design..now then i know [laugh]

china lagi worse,ask him help me do webpage banner only 60rmb, logo etc 20rmb..new design just tell what u want can liao.. [laugh]

you really thought that ppl outside earning big bucks according to the statistic and report?

this is all propaganda ...

my wife works as one too and i can say its not a high paying job .. u have competition from msia, indo, thail etc..

she told me that her co. was interviewing for a render position and a guy flew in from thailand to interview for the job.

ma chiam sure get, he was mid 30s with very poor command of english, chinese 0!! and her boss does biz with china counterparts..

the best part is his asking salary is waaayy below our min. threshold survival..

no wonder we are losing out to Fts..