Professional casino gamblers-is it possible?

Cook1234

We have all read in the papers about how people win big big in casino and how others lose a large fortune there also.

So some will win and some will lose.

Is there really such thing as a professional gambler who wins consistently(say 7 or 8 out of 10 games) so that he/she does not need to work?

I started this topic out of curiosity and thought it may be an interesting topic.

Any real life examples will be great !

We have all read in the papers about how people win big big in casino and how others lose a large fortune there also.

Is there really such thing as a professional gambler who wins consistently(say 7 or 8 out of 10 games) so that he/she does not need to work?

I started this topic out of curiosity and thought it may be an interesting topic.

don't think too much lah....You just have to know that our casinos are making record $ every quarter....so 10 go in.......more than half will lost $ when they are out....

Google "Card Counting". Dun actually make a lot of profit. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Card_counting

There's a movie on it based loosely on a true life account called "21". http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0478087/

I suggest you forget it and look for a real job.

tat was a good show

and a good novel too

to TS:

how can gambling be considered a profession.

unless u are toking about WSOP type of games.

then if u say that,

then gaming also can be a profession liao

Meet a malaysian guy on 'N' day, me drinking alone under the void deck of my block..... this man in his 40s and we chat..... he working in the market, quitting his job and told me wanna go to casino to earn a living as a gambler....

My opinion: [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

There are three ways to make a living at gambling....take them for what you will and your chances of succeeding..

1. Card Counting - blackjack and baccarat. Can be ddone, Casino has strategies to combat you and if they notice they WILL stop you (and it's quite easy to notice you)

2. Outright Cheating(eg, something that influences the game, laser pointer to predice where ball lands in roulette etc) - is illegal. enough said

3. Play against another player, not the house. In other words - POKER. YES you can make a living at this, and people do playing tournaments or just "pick-up" games in the casino. POKER IS NOT OFFERED IN SINGAPORE. You must also remember a few things about poker. Not only do you have to win, but you have to win by more than 5% (the house cut on each winning hand). eg....say you play for 1 hour. In that one hour you win 5 hands of $100 each. You give the casino $25 so you net $475. At the same time you lose 15 hands of $30 each so you are only up $25.

It is very hard work - it CAN be done though, and I have heard of people making a living like this. You just have to hope that you skilll level is big enough to win consistently enough to be above the house commission. And remember - typically on any given hand your odds of having the "best" hand are 1 in 7, so before skill comes into it you are winning one hand for every 6 you lose.

Its mathematically IMPOSSIBLE to make consistent winnings over a long term due to the negative expectancy per game. No matter how you bet per hand ( unless poker ). So my advice is, after the first win, quit gambling forever.

there are a few ppl doing it....

but you must be discipline and emotionless... because you cannot win everyday

hey wait... that sounds like the stocks trading... lolz

Its mathematically IMPOSSIBLE to make consistent winnings over a long term due to the negative expectancy per game. No matter how you bet per hand ( unless poker ). So my advice is, after the first win, quit gambling forever.

This is good advice! The only way to "beat" A CASINO is to change the odds in your favour. The game itself is designed such that the house ALWAYS WINS.

IF you know what's going to happen next, then you can win - hence card counting and cheating. And anyway, the casinos here use continuous shuffling machines, which means you cannot count cards. And cheating casino is like cheating gahment, so I wouldn't recommendd that

oh yeah. there are pro gamblers doing it full time.

and they are smart to only play games that have higher chance of winning. like what some MCFers said about card counting. it can be done. u need v good mathematics and good memory. I have seen documentaries on this, where ppl used card counting in Las Vegas. Really professional, and they practice alot at home first, before hitting the real tables.

Your mind must really be v fast in calculating and counting and remembering

But casinos are also got smarter, and they are able to spot these card counters through those CCTVs. Once they spot, they will ask them to leave.

In Las Vagas, its easier to do card counting, coz there alot of casinos. You move around each casino every night. Not easy to kena spot. In SG, only 2 casinos... how to run?

i have watched how ppl beat those Jackpot machines. normally we think we cannot beat those machines. it can also be done. but it requires technical skills and its outright cheating. So now i understand how do these jackpot machines work, after watching the documentaries. [laugh]

actually if you are gambling to win $$ for yourself every month, it can be done. how much does a person need every month to survive? not alot, right?

if a person can win $4000-5000 in one month, its more than enough to survive. each day if you win $150, in one month, you will get $4500 liao........

The trick is not to be greedy. once you win your target amount, stop and walk away.