Professional casino gamblers-is it possible?

Cook1234

oh yeah. there are pro gamblers doing it full time.

and they are smart to only play games that have higher chance of winning. like what some MCFers said about card counting. it can be done. u need v good mathematics and good memory. I have seen documentaries on this, where ppl used card counting in Las Vegas. Really professional, and they practice alot at home first, before hitting the real tables.

Your mind must really be v fast in calculating and counting and remembering

But casinos are also got smarter, and they are able to spot these card counters through those CCTVs. Once they spot, they will ask them to leave.

In Las Vagas, its easier to do card counting, coz there alot of casinos. You move around each casino every night. Not easy to kena spot. In SG, only 2 casinos... how to run?

i have watched how ppl beat those Jackpot machines. normally we think we cannot beat those machines. it can also be done. but it requires technical skills and its outright cheating. So now i understand how do these jackpot machines work, after watching the documentaries. [laugh]

Mercy-mercy. I did not cheat those machines at Genting repeatedly [:p]

that's why despite there're many indian tourist in Genting, they seldom go into the casino there.. They are mathematically inclined and done their sums..

Oh dear. Must be my repeated errors if it happened twice? [:p]

it happens with many...

u win a few times...

u suddenly feel like u r the god of gambler...

but of cos there r maybe luckier guys like u who win more than u lose...

but 99% of the ppl will fall into the over confident trap...

ends up the overall picture is always a lost...

can beat the jackpot, but its not legal..... u used some device to influence the frequency signal of the computer inside the machine.

don't flame me if you dont believe. i only learned about it through documentaries on TV, where they actually interviewed ppl who cheated jackpot machines in Las Vegas. These ppl got caught eventually and thrown to jail for some years, and kena banned from all casinos for life.

So lucky, I believe it was my kharma that did it (no cheating involved: witnessed by ex-colleagues). [:p]

its impossible to win..... the jackpot will let a lucky person win once it has "eat" enough money... then it pays out a percentage of its profits

There is a IT department just for jackpot machines where they manage the software... what do you think is your odds of winning?

So lucky, both online platforms malfuncted to save me from losing big [:p]

no idea, bro.

the manufacturers could have make the machines too sophiscated to cheat liao.....

the best ppl to be able to cheat these machines are the service techicians. They know the codes, the passwords and mechanics of the machines.

the last time i know off is in japan...

people hide in jackpot shops during closing...

they sort of hack into the computer to find out about the winning achine the next day...

and they will then pay someone to sit at that machine...

thats wat i heard but then nothing to back it up...

Jackpot machines offers the worst odds for the player.

Rather you take your chances with Blackjack (or any other table games that offer 1-to-1 payout): -

1st hand: Wager S$500, if win, walk away, if lose ...

2nd hand: Wager S$1,000, if win, walk away, if lose ...

3rd hand: Wager S$2,000, ...

Possibility of losing all three in a roll = 12.5%

All you need is to win 1 time, ... and you'll be better off by S$500.00

If lose all 3, ... just go home lah!!

Accurate a not ar?

i share my story here la.

Just to test out a technique while at Genting.

My proven technique (proven to be not working)

Game: big small

Bet Amount: 10, 20, 40, 80...... double up each time i lose,

if win, i make 10 profit (was at genting , so its RM)

lasted for 1hr

made 200+RM

thought the system can work until

then ran into a streak of 7 consecutive wrong guesses

wipe out everything.

reach max loss allocated.

so leave lo.

btw, betting big or small is not 50-50

although payout is 1:1

becos 3-of-a-kind is banker eat

so house advantage is 1.38888%

imagine a simple game like big small,

also got significant house advantage already

the more i read, i more i understand gambling can reap good profits,

IF YOU ARE THE BANKER and set the rules

Edited by Sk65

i share my story here la.

Just to test out a technique while at Genting.

My proven technique (proven to be not working)

Game: big small

Bet Amount: 10, 20, 40, 80...... double up each time i lose,

if win, i make 10 profit (was at genting , so its RM)

lasted for 1hr

made 200+RM

thought the system can work until

then ran into a streak of 7 consecutive wrong guesses

wipe out everything.

reach max loss allocated.

so leave lo.

btw, betting big or small is not 50-50

although payout is 1:1

becos 3-of-a-kind is banker eat

so house advantage is 1.38888%

imagine a simple game like big small,

also got significant house advantage already

the more i read, i more i understand gambling can reap good profits,

IF YOU ARE THE BANKER and set the rules

Smart!! [wave]

three of a kind in big small come up (if I not wrong) about 2.8% of the time.

Think also this way - three of a kind pay 180 to 1 (at least it was when I was dealing)

Out of 1000 bets you would expect to win 4.6 times.

Betting $1 each time you would win 4.6 x 180 = 828 + the return of your stake 4.60 - so you have bet $1,000 and got back $832.6. You are down by $167.40

You think big or small have better odds? Nope! pays even money but banker makan when three of a kind come up. How often does that happen? 2.8 times out of 100.

Or maybe in roulette you play Odd / Even. Great! you bet that you will win 18 times out of 37. (when lands on 0 dealer makan)

YOU HAVE TO REMEMBER - THE TABLE HAS NO MEMORY. What happens before doesn not affect what happens next!

The moral of this thread is, gamble for fun and what you can afford but it cannot be full-time. I have never heard of people living off and retiring from casino winnings. House always win.

Playing Texas Holdem poker in Casino is totally different game altogether. Simply, it pits each player against the dealer (House). So you don't play this game as you would a regular game of Texas Hold'em. Since you are only playing the dealer, you can play almost any two cards, because you only have to beat the dealer's hand to win, not the other players at the table. Luck counts a lot for this game played in casino; a there is no way for you to bluff when playing this game in casino.

The one I used to deal was Caribbean Stud.

The odds are horrid.

BUT there are REAL poker games in some casinos - where you play against other players, bet, ante, draw etc with the casino just providing a dealer (and taking a % of the pot on each hand) THOSE you can win....

In Caribbean Stud Poker plays in casino, if the House does not have a hand of Ace and King or higher, the Player with pair in hand only wins the Ante (even money) and the game is over. No Payment on the back wager (Bet). I have seen people with three of a kind in hand, and dealer does not have a hand of Ace & King or Higher, so he ends up only get paid for the Ante. It is frustrating in this kind of situation.

Most people are attracted to this game because of the progressive jackpot. One hit (Royal Flush) is enough already

In Caribbean Stud Poker plays in casino, if the House does not have a hand of Ace and King or higher, the Player with pair in hand only wins the Ante (even money) and the game is over. No Payment on the back wager (Bet). I have seen people with three of a kind in hand, and dealer does not have a hand of Ace & King or Higher, so he ends up only get paid for the Ante. It is frustrating in this kind of situation.

Most people are attracted to this game because of the progressive jackpot. One hit (Royal Flush) is enough already

I met my wife because of CS ---

But do realise, the progressive is amongst the worst bets in the casino.

The moral of this thread is, gamble for fun and what you can afford but it cannot be full-time. I have never heard of people living off and retiring from casino winnings. House always win.

You never heard its becos these people dont boast about their winnings

Card counting does not work anymore.

Nowadays casinos have machines to shuffle the cards.

I saw the dealer put in cards with blue backing, next round the cards are red backing....

So the machine shuffles the cards whilst the current game goes on.

Yes, you are right. Looks like you are the only one here who really knows what you're talking about.

Card counting in Black Jack is history, almost every reputable casino in the world is using single deck now. House always has an advantage, card counting takes away that. Only way to beat the casino is by cheating and getting away with it.

Arent playing stocks/shares/forex also gambling ?

Sure, there are such people around.

i think you dont really understand stocks/shares/forex/futures trading. There are people who trade for a living and i know many of such people. It is people who buy and sell via gossip or news and by gut feel, then it is gambling.

As for the real type of gambling, you can never beat the house. Only way to make money via 'gambling' is via poker, where it is you vs other players and its the skills, not luck that counts. Why do you think out of thousands of participants, it is always the same few that arrive at the final table every year during WSOP?