Professional casino gamblers-is it possible?

Cook1234

We have all read in the papers about how people win big big in casino and how others lose a large fortune there also.

So some will win and some will lose.

Is there really such thing as a professional gambler who wins consistently(say 7 or 8 out of 10 games) so that he/she does not need to work?

I started this topic out of curiosity and thought it may be an interesting topic.

Any real life examples will be great !

yes possible but u need to be real lucky and win every hand

Yes, you are right. Looks like you are the only one here who really knows what you're talking about.

Card counting in Black Jack is history, almost every reputable casino in the world is using single deck now. House always has an advantage, card counting takes away that. Only way to beat the casino is by cheating and getting away with it.

the MIT students could possibly make money... there is a documentary and it was reported that after their stint, the casinos had taken steps to make card counting impossible. Varying the number of decks in the shoe is one of the measures.. there are a few others, which i cannot recall.

i think you dont really understand stocks/shares/forex/futures trading. There are people who trade for a living and i know many of such people. It is people who buy and sell via gossip or news and by gut feel, then it is gambling.

As for the real type of gambling, you can never beat the house. Only way to make money via 'gambling' is via poker, where it is you vs other players and its the skills, not luck that counts. Why do you think out of thousands of participants, it is always the same few that arrive at the final table every year during WSOP?

poker will need a bit of skill like the best starting hand when to pass and when to go into the game....of course one can sit in the game without playing at all but there will be a blind....

the object of poker is to win the biggest pot....

so the best hands are like 4 of a kind flush straight etc....

then there are strategies like pocket rockets ace pairs queen pairs etc....

In Caribbean Stud Poker plays in casino, if the House does not have a hand of Ace and King or higher, the Player with pair in hand only wins the Ante (even money) and the game is over. No Payment on the back wager (Bet). I have seen people with three of a kind in hand, and dealer does not have a hand of Ace & King or Higher, so he ends up only get paid for the Ante. It is frustrating in this kind of situation.

Most people are attracted to this game because of the progressive jackpot. One hit (Royal Flush) is enough already

the odds of getting a royal flush is 1 in 650000 leh..

i wont bet on that.. went to play poker for the first time in a cruise. I usually play those home games Texas.

the thing about the texas poker (you vs hse) is the Bonus, Ante and jackpot which really suck money out from you. I see the uncles and aunties keep putting money on the jackpot AND Bonus and Ante (this one no choice) and i tot that is a silly move. Probably bonus is fine, since there is quite good chance you get pocket picture or AK, AQ on your hole cards.

And this uncle kept betting REGARDLESS of how good or bet his hole cards were, and was trying to 'teach' me his logic. He said it is good, as your single bet enables you to see all 5 community cards. But my logic was that if your hole cards are crap (say 4 and 9), i rather fold and lose the ante than to just bet again hoping to get a 3 of a kind or 2 pairs.

But at the end of the day, even this kinda poker is crap.

Edited by Chrispie

poker will need a bit of skill like the best starting hand when to pass and when to go into the game....of course one can sit in the game without playing at all but there will be a blind....

the object of poker is to win the biggest pot....

so the best hands are like 4 of a kind flush straight etc....

then there are strategies like pocket rockets ace pairs queen pairs etc....

the thing about poker is that very often, if you know how to mix around your play, you do not need good cards to win. You can get lousy cards, but if the community cards are good and you can always represent a good hand (bluff) if you sense weakness in your opponents. That evens out the playing field a bit.

So even if you get a good hand, and you are only 2nd best and your opponent slow play you, you are dead meat.

the MIT students could possibly make money... there is a documentary and it was reported that after their stint, the casinos had taken steps to make card counting impossible. Varying the number of decks in the shoe is one of the measures.. there are a few others, which i cannot recall.

I have friends making a living thru card counting, operating in the early 90s, but have since quit. They move around the globe, hopping from one casino to another, never staying for more than a couple of days.

They usually visit the smaller casino where most of them are still using the 6-8 deck shoe. They operates in groups and takes over the whole table. Card counting were so easy for them that they were chit chating and laughing most of the time. Heard that the leader of the group actually knows what the last few cards is, only unsure of the sequence.

Same old story again

Odds of probalities of u losing in a same game gets higher if u stick to 1 table

However will reset if u moving around

The odds of probalities is likelyhood

But this doesnt mean statiscally

Btw do ur hears about this method playing roullette??

Place 7 numbers all the way through, gradually will start to win in 7th onwards if dealer r same

Its a proven psychological studies of randomness that will inplant into a person mind

How true dun noe liao

Talking about this

My friend play style always place a half of the

wheel same number

Another told me is the 7 numbers keep put the same

Both dont know each other but overall day win is 10 days mayb 7 is a win day

I dun think my friends got so much to lost for past few year visiting twice a month include malaysia genting also

Not sure this mind thing is it real one

actually, there are many kinds of slot machines.(jackpot wins)

low frequency, high jackpot

low frequency, low jackpot

mid frequency, low jackpot,

etc..

so its all "luck" as well as the computer

i already said you need to be lucky and luck only plays a small percentage......

Luck as in the jackpot thinks its time to give out some winnings as a morale booster

there is not way there is a loss making jackpot machine....

they just let you win periodically to entice you back....

Edited by Ngck

Actually for jp to win ur capital is not hard one

Jp big price then hard but how many usually play full line one??

Kaoz i saw a guy 1 pull 300 one

But before tat he won mai go n lost back lol

Not true. Just think logically about it.

1. How much money do casino make each year?

2 How much resource are against you?

3. How much research u think casino do to make sure they can't be beat?

4. If dealer start losing after 7 hands, don't you think casino do something about it?

5. If deer lose after 7 hands do you think casino make money?

When I dealing I would deal for 80 minutes ( normally) at a time. In that time would deal about 100 to 120 hand of blackjack. About 50 spins of roulette. Mostly people lost to me.

When I dealing it was a six deck shoe, hand shuffled.

I would be very very surprised if casino can very number of deck in shoe. If hand shuffled what they can do is cut "deeper". Meaning less cards out before shuffle. This negates advantage of card counting as not enough cards out to make difference.

If got continuous shuffling the cards are basically reshuffled after every hand. So no advantage to card counting.

Same old story again

Odds of probalities of u losing in a same game gets higher if u stick to 1 table

However will reset if u moving around

The odds of probalities is likelyhood

But this doesnt mean statiscally

Btw do ur hears about this method playing roullette??

Place 7 numbers all the way through, gradually will start to win in 7th onwards if dealer r same

Its a proven psychological studies of randomness that will inplant into a person mind

How true dun noe liao

Then maybe my friends got too much $ to lost liao lor

Wah lao research are done by man also wa

Window , Those gahment also spend billions research

Pple also breakthrough lin lin long long

Same like ps3 ,everything tot by man can break by man juz how they prevent to gain advantage nia

Casino can win coz 吃猪赔狗 in hokkien

I mentioned in last thread that i saw a lady place 2 chip once and won 5k place and left

Then maybe explain her odds ,probilities in this case?? Stats is 1 to 1

Edited by Freestylers09

they just need to let 10% of ppl win and spread the news....

the rest will flock in to surrender their money like bees to honey.... but in this case the venus fly trap

coz casinos got more powerfiul FS and luck [laugh]

notice why got a neighbouring casino forever got renovation one?装修 read in cantonese..

current in Singapore one still the same thing [laugh]

some elements may be unbelievable but both local one.angmo or chinese one..still choose to be believe..so there must be some help in it..

Edited by Freestylers09