Turbo will void insurance?

Gammaray88

hi all,

In the event of an insurance claim, if the surveyor go down and see the car has turbo installed (not originally installed), will the insurer void the insurance even if the turbo is not the damage part? or will they jus ignore and continue to allow claims for the other parts damaged?

anyone have experience or can give advice?

thnx alot!

hi all,

In the event of an insurance claim, if the surveyor go down and see the car has turbo installed (not originally installed), will the insurer void the insurance even if the turbo is not the damage part? or will they jus ignore and continue to allow claims for the other parts damaged?

thnx alot!

even change rims can get you void ur insurance, so what do you think if a parts that add extra power into ur car that not catered for in the original design? Uncle police will treat u kopi for that also.

ppl dunno ma.. see his nick! Maybe 1988, still fresh!

kenna gamma ray in 1988 and turning a little green and big.

Side effect: IQ also down?

if lta ok , then just change to insurer who also ok

Confirmed LTA doesn't approve after market 'turbo kit'. Checked before.

Ignorant in certain areas is not equal to low IQ or stupid. Pls dun judge people base on 1 qn.

I would appreciate if these comments are kept to urself

BTW, one workshop say not sure, another say shdnt be a problem, 3rd one called his insurance lobang and say no prob! and they are suppose to be knowledgable in this area. I hav doubts thats why i wan to clarify.

kenna gamma ray in 1988 and turning a little green and big.

Side effect: IQ also down?

Edited by Gammaray88

hi all,

thnx alot!

....c'mon now!do u really think they will insure you if u had a turbo installed aftermarket....

do we need someone with experience to give an advice on this?????

[dizzy] [dizzy] [dizzy]

Ignorant in certain areas is not equal to low IQ or stupid. Pls dun judge people base on 1 qn.

I would appreciate if these comments are kept to urself

BTW, one workshop say not sure, another say shdnt be a problem, 3rd one called his insurance lobang and say no prob! and they are suppose to be knowledgable in this area. I hav doubts thats why i wan to clarify.

One thing I can tell you, the smart thing to do would be to call up insurance companies to ask directly and not post a thread here or ask workshops to ask for you. So which is it?

[thumbsup]

It is not a approved mod how to ask insurance companies?

My qn is on the part of surveyor! will the surveyor close one eye since it is not part of the claim!

seems like most people here are very smart! wish u all gd luck in ur life!

It is not a approved mod how to ask insurance companies?

My qn is on the part of surveyor! will the surveyor close one eye since it is not part of the claim!

seems like most people here are very smart! wish u all gd luck in ur life!

Look bro just call up your insurance company. They most likely will say no but IF you can get LTA to approve (ie homologate) it for you then and only then might you have a chance of insurance. Having an inspector turn a blind eye to it achieves absolutely nothing other than you get the car registered. And when you have a smash you are on your own anyhow if you have NOT declared the mod to the insurer.

You cannot blame the insurance company - the rules they all have are pretty clear - engine modifications are generally a no no (even remapping) as the power to weight ratio affects the engineering integrity of the car and the dynamic ability (this includes suspension modifications etc)

In my experience you need to have a specialised insurer who handles modified vehicles and I doubt they exist here in SG? You can always contact TopGun in here - he works in this line and should be able to give you professional advice.

Good luck