Used Car, what STA Inspection grade then can buy?

Saviourwu

www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=336326

Bros any one can advise for a car like this with 4 owners should send to sta or aa better? should ask seller to pay? what is a fair price to offer? thanks in advance.

i think it all depends the year if the car you are buy, if it is a 2006/7 car and you expect a A grading. Many have unrealistic expect ion when buying used cars. Be prepared to spend some $$ on your new buy. An important point to note us a "C" for chassis is a No. Further do not buy any vehicle that had been modified in anywhere. Best would be to send the vehicle to the agent for a thorough check. It may cost more .

I spoke to a dealer recently regarding selling my car. Told him i sent for STA grading B.

He said STA buay zhun one, VICOM better.

He say STA you tell the inspector give what grade they will give.

Plus VICOM is more thorough on the checks than STA, is all that true?

Then when i buy car from dealer, dont see STA lieow lor? Sent to VICOM straight away

Edited by Lewy

It is true that vicom is much better.

They are more specific, as for STA grades, they are more general.

Vicom is more specific on which parts is okay or need replacement, eg: radiator, brake pump, power steering.

STA just has says Engine then gives the grade. You don't know the extent of repairs needed or even so, the problems.

If you want the most strict of all inspections, go for AA.

Every single little thing, they also write down, the only thing with AA is that the report doesn't look so professional.

HELP ME PLEASE!!!

I just got a Grade D from STA for the car (6.5 years old Toyota) I intended to buy (from dealer). [bigcry]

I know, I should walk away, especially chassis frame failed alignment test!

But then, my wife love it so much & we got a good deal!

The evaluation report, everything "B" except Bodywork/Floor Board (D).

Some of the remarks are:

* front/rear panel sign of repair

* exhaust silencer sign of corrosions

* fender sign of removal

* shock absoebers/drive shaft sign of new

* vehicle veer left

Together with the failed chassis frame measurement/cond, is it very bad?

Damages due to severe accident or corrosion?

I've paid $1K & sign on the LTA transfer form but yet to paid the balance, can I walk away?

Can we get back the deposit under the new Lemon Law?

Dealer told me the purchase is not subject to STA's Evaluation & there's no insurance claim on it by the previous owner (so no accident).

Thus, I cannot cancel the deal. Is it the case?

If I go ahead with the purchase, do I have to fork out few thousands to repair/replace parts?

Many thanks!

U are better off giving up this deal. I know of full B-rated car that carries a number of hidden problems. No point being so single minded abt this one. Just think abt the repair costs u can save from buying a lemon.

Just send to both STA and agent for check

STA might be crappy but they have some high tech equipment to test the chassis.

Agent will be more specific according to your car.

might cost a bomb but agent will be able to give you a repair quotation , than make the dealer pay for it

Just send to both STA and agent for check

STA might be crappy but they have some high tech equipment to test the chassis.

Agent will be more specific according to your car.

might cost a bomb but agent will be able to give you a repair quotation , than make the dealer pay for it

send to AAS check is the best

GradeC can avoid.

Hi guys, just a check, what is the minimal grade acceptable for a used car to guarantee a safe buy?

B?

Will the STA inspection indicate all the defects and if got accident before will highlight to us? hur.gif

Edited by Picanto

the oil stains could also be like drips during oil change?

would you think the STA inspector try & differentiate the stain due to leak or drip?

so re point 8 if want to go ahead with the sale should get a more detailed look at it to determine the cause for the oily stains?

Actually i trust AA more.

Pay for an inspection before you agree to buy from the dealer.

Apart from grade if the report use words like REWORK, the deal is off! It means there was an accident. I will only buy accident free.

Hi guys

I am intending to get a 2nd hand used car(about 5 yrs old)..sent for sta evaluation..graded b with these remarks as shown..any advice? Thanks.

post-153047-0-78391000-1418127130_thumb.jpg