Malaysia : Road Trip to Cameron Highlands

1fast1

As mentioned, Equatorial is the highest hotel. You can buy all the vege you can eat at Kea Market which is a short walk from the Equatorial. Bring along something to cook (not allowed in rooms but you can [sly] ). I think Equatorial has got something like an Apartment for family but I am not too sure about that.

I personally prefer Strawberry park which is lower down, between Tanah Ratah and Brinchang as it is more out of the way and has a more resort feel than Equatorial (too singaporish IMO). Prices are comparable IIRC. Weather wise, From Tanah Ratah (lower) to Equatorial (slightly higher) are similar. SBP is nearer to Tanah Ratah and Brinchang so its more convenient to go places.

I like to take the old route up. Exit Tapah and follow the signs. You can stop at the waterfall halfway up. Drive slowly to enjoy the scenary.

Take the new way down (Simpang Pulai) because its safer as I tend to go faster downhill.

Allow 6 hours from Singapore to Tapah. And 1+ hour from Tapah to Brinchang. If you need anything else, just gimme a shout. ^_^

==============

The last time we went we also stayed at the apartments near SBP. More convenient as we were somewhere in the middle & all the places were near by.

Also food at Tanah Ratah & Brinchang was near by so easy to go for makan.

But seriously, Cameron I found quite dull. Nothing much except the cool climate. I went once & I think thats enough. Ive seen all I needed to see & unlikely wil go a 2nd time.

Now Kuantan is different. There got many things to see & do. I hope to go again. Maybe can stop by 1 night in the next trip to Kenyir Lake. [drivingcar]

Watever u do dun forget to go up Gunung Brinchang.

If ur adventurous enough u can drive up but the track is narrow w only a single car to pass thru. [sweatdrop]

Or u can just rent a jeep plus driver from EQ to go up..

The view up there is really something..its worth the climb. [thumbsup]

While on ur way down u can stop by the tea centre for hot scones n tea..n listen to some tea making history.

Other then e above,lookup in the roadtrip folder..its loaded w info especially e one titled Shull something...

Hve a joyous trip... :D

===============

We drove up to the very top of the mountain. The last part is a very steep road up to the flower orchard & can b quite scary.

The view from the very top was fantastic. [thumbsup]

==============

The last time we went we also stayed at the apartments near SBP. More convenient as we were somewhere in the middle & all the places were near by.

Also food at Tanah Ratah & Brinchang was near by so easy to go for makan.

But seriously, Cameron I found quite dull. Nothing much except the cool climate. I went once & I think thats enough. Ive seen all I needed to see & unlikely wil go a 2nd time.

Now Kuantan is different. There got many things to see & do. I hope to go again. Maybe can stop by 1 night in the next trip to Kenyir Lake. [drivingcar]

I share the same sentiment, bro. Went in May last year after an absence of almost 20 years and I found that, besides the cool weather, there wasn't anything much to do there. Besides, the weather nowadays is nowhere as cold as it was in the 80s. In fact, I find Genting much cooler. My wife and I won't be going there again for the foreseeable future. :D

===============

Hahaha. Yup that place is only good for really relaxing. Nothing much to do at all but a nice place for Honeymoon or recovering from illness, especially some mental illness. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

i'm thinking of going up also.. noticed that between self-drive and coach, difference is a couple hundred.. is it worth self-driving?

I think for me self-drive is more worth it as i can stop where i like n

i hve time in my hand..for my last trip to CH i stop by Ayer Keroh OBR for

a nostalgic A&W meal..n oso after CH u can always drop by Ipoh for a real makan hunting..

TS oso dun forget nite market over the weekend in Brinchang..tho its

no difrrent from any other nite market in Msia..better then nothing i guess. :D

Dear bros (and sisters),

I know there have been threads about this, but I would be very grateful for a patient and helpful reply. :)

I'm planning a trip (around 4 nights) to Cameron Highlands in early June with my family. My first time there. I'd like to stay near the summit of the hill if possible (not at the foothills). I'm thinking of putting up at the Brinchang Equatorial.

Do any of you have any helpful pointers about reasonably priced but comfortable accommodation nearer the summit? There will be a total of 4 adults and a child, with 2 adults and the child (5 years old) in one room/chalet. Not particular about meals, since we're all strict vegetarians, so would be packing our own food. I have AA and NTUC membership - any accommodations with special discounts for these cards?

Also, I would be grateful for any tips or pointers on the best route to take (I'm driving there).

Thanks in advance.

i was there last Dec, good choice, you can actually book the 3 bedrooms apt. very spacious, also it walking distance to the strewberry park, (think it's Raju) can order and delivery to your hotel for you. coming out from the hotel, on the right, there's a steamboat cum bbq resturant, not bad, but you have to do your own bbq.

Have Fun!

What can we do at Cameron Highlands? How many days stay would be good? Thinking of driving there in June...

actually..nothing much.. people who go there go for the cool weather and to escape city hustle and bustle..that's why avoid going on sch holidays and weekends..the place will be so jam packed that you'd wished you'd go to Genting instead, at least there got Casino and Theme park..

What can we do at Cameron Highlands? How many days stay would be good? Thinking of driving there in June...

Enjoy the fresh air, visit the vege farms, tea plantations and bee farms. Hiking trips or just walking ard the various towns, there are four of them, biggest is Brinchang.

3D2N should be sufficient.

Haven't been there in 2 years already...... have booked for 3 nights this June for the 2 bedroom unit in Equitorial apartments.

I was checking out Digi's data coverage and apparently, there's none in Cameron. ANyone has any idea whether Maxis, etc have data coverage?

Thanks

Haven't been there in 2 years already...... have booked for 3 nights this June for the 2 bedroom unit in Equitorial apartments.

I was checking out Digi's data coverage and apparently, there's none in Cameron. ANyone has any idea whether Maxis, etc have data coverage?

Thanks

Cant remember which telco, but there is mobile phone signal up there. Dont worry. :D

Nothing much to do there

but quite relaxing....

just take note, if wanan eat steamboat, dont think its worth it...

the ingredients quite normal...that time, we spent close to RM 200 for almost 10 pax, in my opinion, not worth the money

u can try the bah kut teh....at least something diff

Weekends, should be sat nite time, got pasar malam...

very nice snacks, can try, esp the fried yasai vegetables...

mushrooms...yumyum

morning day time, can visit the market, quite alot of things to buy

Mobile phone signal is one thing... wireless data is another.

I just got back from Tioman 3 weeks ago.... got Digi phone recep and strong signal at that... but no wireless data coverage leh....

Cant remember which telco, but there is mobile phone signal up there. Dont worry. :D

Edited by Dwoon

Mobile phone signal is one thing... wireless data is another.

I just got back from Tioman 3 weeks ago.... got Digi phone recep and strong signal at that... but no wireless data coverage leh....

Wireless data is available at the hotel. Must pay for connection. Pretty expensive. Otherwise just visit the internet cafe in the towns.

I did subscribe to wireless connection when I was at Strawberry Park and Equitorial Hotel. No choice, got to check my emails and surf MCF in the nites. [laugh]

actually..nothing much.. people who go there go for the cool weather and to escape city hustle and bustle..that's why avoid going on sch holidays and weekends..the place will be so jam packed that you'd wished you'd go to Genting instead, at least there got Casino and Theme park..

Yah, the whole gets super jam on weekends and school holidays. They should seriously consider banning traffic at certain hours around Brinchang and Kea Farm Area. Everybody walk or cycle. The situation is getting impossible. [laugh]

Been there 5 times in the last 5 years. Everytime the traffic gets worse.

Yah, the whole gets super jam on weekends and school holidays. They should seriously consider banning traffic at certain hours around Brinchang and Kea Farm Area. Everybody walk or cycle. The situation is getting impossible. [laugh]

Been there 5 times in the last 5 years. Everytime the traffic gets worse.

Go during the non-school holiday season like me and its great. Traffic is smooth or clear.