205,000km Later on a Skoda Superb

Echelon

I still see a Corona CD around my place. Still in very good condition. Just saw it today. Looking at it I missed my old Corona. [smallcry]

someone near my place still drives his white accord (91 model)... about same era as CD... very tip top condition sounds like the period was the golden era of jap cars? :D

i am very 'religious' when it comes to changing timing B.. ie very strict following the recommendation... maybe its becoz i kena once on NSHW (at skudai toll coming back from genting) driving my Jap mpv: the belt snapped just when I was about to drive off after paying toll....... lucky not when i was moving on the highway!! ........... what to do, waited 2hr for MY tow truck, towed to woodland, exchanged to SGP tow truck.... reached home finally 12am (left skudai tollabout 3pm)... a lesson I will never forget :o

Ya timing belt can snap without any warning so better to change when its due. U r lucky there was no damage to yr valves or pistons. That wud cost a bundle to put right.

thanks.... so i am doing it correctly with my old mini: i start it and drive non-stop for 35mins every two weeks when i go pak tor with her.... like that her batt should be ok, rite? :D

U hv an old Mini? :wub:

Older cars u better check batt condition more regularly cos likely to have small short-circuits which wud drain power even while parked or the alternator is not so efficient as newer cars.

someone near my place still drives his white accord (91 model)... about same era as CD... very tip top condition sounds like the period was the golden era of jap cars? :D

Those were e last of the over-engineered Jap cars. After those, most Jap cars were not as solid.

Now with many being assembled in Thai/Phillipines, even worse. Maybe even Korean cars r better.

and time passes real fast to hit another 5-6k km [:(] ......... yes, if we stick to recommended service internals, most cars especially, jap ones, can go on and on.... my fren's car hit 250k km and it still drives like a 4yr old car even thought 1st registered in 1992!!! [thumbsup]

U sud hv tried my Corona. almost 400K km n still feels like a new car. Well almost. :D

Seriously when abt 17 yrs old n 350K km can do 160kmh on NSH n still very smooth n stable. [thumbsup] I cud hv pushed higher but I still dare not take e risk with a 17 year old car that time. [drivingcar][sweatdrop]

Hey I just noticed yr avatar. Thats yr new Skoda estate ah. Damm swee leh. :wub:

Yes. Changed the Crossroad for the Skoda. Now we station wagon gang. [laugh]

no dealer want to take my car!

hahaha

Skoda in sg no resale value. My previous octy "depreciate" $26k in 2 years and its 2nd hand. I had a hard time letting it go too....eventually scrap when the car is only 3.5yrs old. <_<

Yes I know. U mentioned to me last time about e change. Yr estate damm swee leh.

Sud handle well too. [thumbsup]

Maybe Radx might want to borrow from time to time. Can use as hearse. [laugh]

Yes I know. U mentioned to me last time about e change. Yr estate damm swee leh.

Sud handle well too. [thumbsup]

Maybe Radx might want to borrow from time to time. Can use as hearse. [laugh]

He wouldn't want the corpse to be jumping around behind. [laugh]

It's very simple, I change cars over the last 12 years lah. My current car is 4+ years with almost 180k.

And mine is timing chain, so it's ok. The only problem is that there'll be a need to check the slack in the timing chain which is seldom done in cars here.

In fact, I find that manual cars are easier to maintain for high mileage but unfortunately there isn't many manual cars today.

either he drives more than one car, own + 2nd car or own + frens' cars..... or maybe part time taxi driving plus own car?? :o

do most kimchi cars need timing belt change every 60k? 100k seems to be the norm for jap

years ago i bought a 9yr+ old sonata from my own bro.... kena change timing belt 2 wks later.... [:(]

U sud hv tried my Corona. almost 400K km n still feels like a new car. Well almost. :D

Seriously when abt 17 yrs old n 350K km can do 160kmh on NSH n still very smooth n stable. [thumbsup] I cud hv pushed higher but I still dare not take e risk with a 17 year old car that time. [drivingcar][sweatdrop]

400km is truly impressive [thumbsup] this is like a grand mother who is still able to seduce and moan the whole nite with her partner :D

looks like mcf has enough wagons to do a meetup:- then invites few xmm and see which wagon can squeeze in the max number of them :D

i volunteer to join them if there's not enough of them to fill up any wagons presnet :D

U hv an old Mini? :wub:

Older cars u better check batt condition more regularly cos likely to have small short-circuits which wud drain power even while parked or the alternator is not so efficient as newer cars.

yes i do. very relaxing to drive i for a aimless spin once in a while.... she just loves the old upp thomson rd (oll GP circuit) :wub:

looks like mcf has enough wagons to do a meetup:- then invites few xmm and see which wagon can squeeze in the max number of them :D

i volunteer to join them if there's not enough of them to fill up any wagons presnet :D

haha.. I think you can start a thread on wagon drivers.

It's very simple, I change cars over the last 12 years lah. My current car is 4+ years with almost 180k.

And mine is timing chain, so it's ok. The only problem is that there'll be a need to check the slack in the timing chain which is seldom done in cars here.

In fact, I find that manual cars are easier to maintain for high mileage but unfortunately there isn't many manual cars today.

B very careful. Newer cars e timing chain not like olden day cars where e chain is like a bicycle chain n very strong.

Newer cars timing chain is made of plastic n hv to b changed on regular basis. Check yr handbook fr details.

400km is truly impressive [thumbsup] this is like a grand mother who is still able to seduce and moan the whole nite with her partner :D

I wud think more like a grandFATHER who can perform e whole night long without e help of Viagra. [whip]

yes i do. very relaxing to drive i for a aimless spin once in a while.... she just loves the old upp thomson rd (oll GP circuit) :wub:

Which Mini u have? Clubman, standard or Cooper? Or maybe also a wagon? :D

It sud b abt 40-50 yrs old by now. U must give me a ride some day. [drivingcar]