Why does lobster cost so much in Singapore?

Cerano

I know some people will sure come in and say cannot afford dont eat dont complain (similar to COE syndrome) but anyway this thread is not for complaining but discussion on seafood prices

http://money.cnn.com/2009/07/17/news/econo...rtune/index.htm

Prices of lobsters in the US typically range from around 10-30 sgd per kg similar to the UK where lobster is around 10 GBP per kg.

How come we're paying 80-150 per kg here? Makes you think

I know some people will sure come in and say cannot afford dont eat dont complain (similar to COE syndrome) but anyway this thread is not for complaining but discussion on seafood prices

Prices of lobsters in the US typically range from around 10-30 sgd per kg similar to the UK where lobster is around 10 GBP per kg.

Errr...because ministers like to eat them so demand very high?

[laugh] [laugh]

Anything to throw a few cheap shots at them YAAAA!!!

By the way happy new year to you and Jr!!!!

[wave] [wave]

aiyah, lobstor consisted foreign talent right?

So, must pay for levy, must attend courses, must this must that, of course expensive lah

A simple query by bro Cerano on lobster's price can generate so much additional "noise" [laugh] [laugh]

Really funny but encouraging...

The tide has really turned!!!!

YAAAA!!!

I would say it is the logistic supply chain here. Most restaurants i know in the US have their chefs shop in the seafood market. they buy from the fishermen direct but here almost all restaurants source from seafood suppliers which incurs a middleman cost.

I not expert lobster eater but that time I go Sheng Siong...

Saw they selling dunno wat Boston Lobster & another 1 forgot the name.. $16+ & $19+ per lobster..size oso quite reasonable.

thot it was cheap.

I not expert lobster eater but that time I go Sheng Siong...

Saw they selling dunno wat Boston Lobster & another 1 forgot the name.. $16+ & $19+ per lobster..size oso quite reasonable.

thot it was cheap.

Normally they priced it on weight basis but i guess when you went that time, they want to clear stocks liao so they sold on per pc basis.

A simple query by bro Cerano on lobster's price can generate so much additional "noise" [laugh] [laugh]

Really funny but encouraging...

The tide has really turned!!!!

YAAAA!!!

Nothing concerning Cerano is ever 'simple'.

I was halfway through writing a correlation on economics and lobsters and caught myself. [knife]

Errr...because ministers like to eat them so demand very high?

[laugh][laugh]

Anything to throw a few cheap shots at them YAAAA!!!

By the way happy new year to you and Jr!!!!

[wave][wave]

thanks bro no la i seriously meant lobsters [laugh] nothing political

anyway you too Happy CNY to you and your family!

Edited by Cerano

A case of the boy who called 'wolf' once too many? [laugh]

i think u got the wrong guy. im usually politically neutral unless im need to counter hardcore people like badder and j22 and galantzspeeds [laugh]