How to select a used mazda 3

Ranran01

Neutral Newbie

Need Advice...

I am looking to purchase a used Mazda 3 but is not sure how can i go about choosing a car. Am overwhelmed when i see the numerous listings in sgcarmart.. I have an idea of what i want, can experienced forumers pls help.. Am i right to the statements below??

As i am a noob in determining the condition of the car (motor n such), i will only look at cars with:

1) Full Agent Service Records (FASR)

- cannot lie on millage (i prefer low millage for less wear n tear)

- FASR also means regular servicing, proper recording of works done in log book

- any accident / major / minor repairs be proper documented.

- no unauthorized mods to vehicle

I am also torn between getting a 2 yr old mazda 3 ~ 75k (8k depreciation) Vs a 5yrs old mazda 3 ~ 45k (6.5k depreciation) . For an additional of 1.5k/yr, i get a newer vehicle, i assume no need to replace leather seats, rims etc, nicer outlook, as well as a peace of mind. If i get an older vehicle, more likely of replacement for worn out parts, more days in garage, higher maintainence which will also add up...

Am considering:

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=234019 5.5yrs old, red, 6.2k dep

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=207771 4.5yrs old, black, 6.6k dep

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=234021 2 yrs old, nice white color 8k dep

Any comments?? Help

↡ Advertisement

i would suggest the 2yrs old for a peace of mind =)

check service booklet for regular maintenance

and call TransEurokars Mazda to verify if still under warranty (in case prev owner mod etc.)

Then of course..send for the usual inspection/grading by STA/Vicom etc to check for signs of accidents/chassis damage etc..

ask for test-drive + get dealer to drive and u sit beside.. off radio. listen out for weird noises etc and ask about it.

ask as much as possible and you should be able to tell if dealer is trying to 'hide' anything