Road Trip To Thailand

Deucedude

A bit of an off topic;

Anyone heading for Evo Enduro 2018? They are going to Hua Hin; details below:

https://www.facebook.com/events/277788626128290/

Yup I've heard of it as well, though they don't open up to everyone. Your car has to be within their approved list to qualify. Mine isn't Edited by Ntm

I can also advise a very good service for car rental https://rental24h.com I have been using this service for about a year, and so far there are no complaints against it. In addition, support in Thailand is from this service, six months ago traveled there with his wife, and would be pleasantly surprised

Technically, no need as there is an ASEAN Agreement on the recognition of driver's license issued by ASEAN countries. But it's better to have one as the IDP contains a Thai translation of your license, in case of any language barrier.

thanks 

I made another trip up to North Thai earlier this year.

Went to Chiang Rai area as well as Mae Hong Son.

i aimed to spend more time up north, rather than in the south/central parts.

This time around, the air was noticeably less dusty than last year, but there was a new hazard on the roads - speed traps.

General route here. Actual distance covered was 7500km (with side trips in Msia as well as Thai)

post-111352-0-03981300-1560434341_thumb.jpeg

List of overnight stops, excluding Msia:

1) Hatyai

2) Prachuap Kiri Khan

3) Nakhon Sawan

4) Phrae

5) Theong district, Chiang Rai (side trip to Pha Tang)

6) Theong district, Chiang Rai (side trip to Pu Chi Fa)

7) Mae Sai (side trip to Golden Triangle)

8) Mae Sai (day trip to Tachilek, Myanmar)

9) Chiang Mai

10) Chiang Mai (day trip to Baan Rak Thai)

11) Pai

12) Mae Hong Son

13) Mae Hong Son

14) Mae Sariang

15) Mae Sot

16) Nakhon Sawan

17) Bangkok (few days then back to SG)

As usual, i spent time exploring the local markets (morning and night), as well as the highlands in the north.

Will share some of the 1k+ pics i took [:p]

was surprised to see this near Pu Chi Fa. Did i take a wrong turn?

post-111352-0-26156800-1560435384_thumb.jpeg

sunrise with crowds in Pu Chi Fa

post-111352-0-80546400-1560435441_thumb.jpeg

kids

post-111352-0-28186600-1560435519_thumb.jpeg

post-111352-0-09215800-1560435552_thumb.jpeg

post-111352-0-41808400-1560435592_thumb.jpeg

history and sociology

post-111352-0-33864600-1560435675_thumb.jpeg

crazy Ang Moh doing Mae Hong Son loop on a bicycle.

I happened to be walking on the road, looking at the river border between Thai and Myanmar.

I clapped and gave him a thumbs up as he passed me

post-111352-0-96344600-1560435801_thumb.jpeg

two Ang Moh looking to hitch a ride from Mae Sot to Tak. Unfortunately i was not going to Tak till the next day.

post-111352-0-88478100-1560436022_thumb.jpeg

Baan Rak Thai and Myanmar (Shan State) village nearby

https://wikitravel.org/en/Ban_Rak_Thai

small museum at Baan Rak Thai, showing the KMT fighters and their equipment. The curator/owner speaks mandarin and was quite keen to talk about his experience during the war

post-111352-0-61109500-1560437657_thumb.jpeg

post-111352-0-17803500-1560436976_thumb.jpeg

post-111352-0-42786500-1560436985_thumb.jpeg

i left my car at the Thai side of the border and walked over to the Shan State village. On the left, up on the hill, is the Thai army camp. The Shan State army camp is on the right, also up on the hill. Walk through the valley to the village.

post-111352-0-52501100-1560437417_thumb.jpg

the lone guard at the Myanmar border gate. No passport needed.

post-111352-0-17002000-1560436995_thumb.jpeg

I spent about 3 hours wandering around the village and up into the hills before i saw a "no entry" sign and turned back.

post-111352-0-59193700-1560437029_thumb.jpeg

post-111352-0-79439300-1560437052_thumb.jpeg

post-111352-0-75371500-1560437063_thumb.jpeg

post-111352-0-94737400-1560437078_thumb.jpeg

Food section (but i'm no steveluv)

sticky rice with steamed egg on top, wrapped in banana leaf. Typical thai sweetness. Nice breakfast or snack.

post-111352-0-15141700-1560437844_thumb.jpeg

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Khao_soi

post-111352-0-57883900-1560437959_thumb.jpeg

coffee with a view

post-111352-0-74984200-1560438082_thumb.jpeg

supper of you tiao and soya bean milk with Winnie the Pooh in Chiang Rai

post-111352-0-78886000-1560438134_thumb.jpeg

burger in Chiang Mai

post-111352-0-80142600-1560438184_thumb.jpeg

day trip to Tachileik

https://wikitravel.org/en/Tachileik

I parked my car along the main road in Mai Sai, abt 500m from the border and walked over.

No fees paid at either side of the border, but the Myanmar side did chop my passport (as opposed to what was mentioned in wikitravel). The guy said no need to pay the usual USD10 as i am from Singapore (ASEAN).

nice cooling weather in the morning for a day of walking. But it soon got burning hot around lunch time.

post-111352-0-86568500-1560438743_thumb.jpeg

walking across the bridge

post-111352-0-10151000-1560438751_thumb.jpeg

i spent a couple of hours wandering around the border town.

Then it got too hot and i hired a local guy to bring me to the interesting sights outside of town.

betel nut store. They offered me one but i declined

post-111352-0-32859900-1560438840_thumb.jpeg

post-111352-0-69802700-1560438910_thumb.jpeg

post-111352-0-21893700-1560438922_thumb.jpeg

my tour guide.

post-111352-0-48019700-1560439008_thumb.jpeg

post-111352-0-91296000-1560439039_thumb.jpeg

post-111352-0-29199200-1560439062_thumb.jpeg

post-111352-0-48964300-1560439076_thumb.jpeg

post-111352-0-14725000-1560439118_thumb.jpeg

at a temple in Mae Sai

post-111352-0-74405800-1560439147_thumb.jpeg

post-111352-0-90868500-1560439164_thumb.jpeg

post-111352-0-52160200-1560438910_thumb.jpeg

@JohnSHL, re your day in Mae sai, noticed shop selling Indian sweets, statue of Ganesh & temples.

Are those Hindu or Buddhist temples. Are there Indian presence there or just locals practicing Indian culture?

@JohnSHL, re your day in Mae sai, noticed shop selling Indian sweets, statue of Ganesh & temples.

Are those Hindu or Buddhist temples. Are there Indian presence there or just locals practicing Indian culture?

the Indian sweets shop and the temple shots are actually across the border, in Tachileik. They are Buddhist temples.

Elephant god (Ganesh?) statues were along the road in a Buddhist temple in Mae Sai. I was surprised to see them there thus took those pics. 

https://www.thailandselftours.com/destinations/mae-sai/wat-phrathat-doi-wao

Thai Buddhism and Burmese Buddhism are slightly different from what's usually practised in Singapore. I'm not sure of the specific details though.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buddhism_in_Southeast_Asia

U r the man.. well done.

I hope I find my balls soon so I got the guts to drive to n explore the whole of Thailand.

So far only drive to Betong once 9 years back then that's it..

I'm very comfortable driving thru out msia but once beyond that my balls shrink.. Haha.

More pics

Saw this convoy (I think from Yunnan) on the road from Chiang Mai to Pai. Seems most (if not all) of such Chinese tour groups will end in Pai, instead of going further to Mae Hong Son

post-111352-0-81118900-1560775370_thumb.jpeg

Oil change in Chiang Mai. I brought my own oil as it's difficult to get my required grade in thai.

post-111352-0-26746900-1560775470_thumb.jpeg

Family day

post-111352-0-33062700-1560775518_thumb.jpeg

Saw this signboard but didn't go

post-111352-0-29077200-1560775555_thumb.jpeg

Mae Hong Son lake at night

post-111352-0-55305200-1560775602_thumb.jpeg

Local festival and funfair at Mae Hong Son. These are the local hill tribes' outfits.

post-111352-0-88579800-1560775653_thumb.jpeg

post-111352-0-30319800-1560776002_thumb.jpeg

farming

post-111352-0-35012100-1560775738_thumb.jpeg

fishing boats at Cha-Am

post-111352-0-95611300-1560775809_thumb.jpeg

road closure for market

post-111352-0-16044700-1560775914_thumb.jpeg

Balancing act

post-111352-0-13619300-1560775952_thumb.jpeg

@JohnSHL, Thailand seems to be your 2nd home indeed. Thks for sharing pics of your drive trip.

Edited by TameDriver

@JohnSHL, Thailand seems to be your 2nd home indeed. Thks for sharing pics of your drive trip.

haha my 2nd home is actually another SEA country (not SG)

North Thai is a very nice place to explore/hang out in but unfortunately it's only during winter season.

I don't think i'll enjoy it as much during the remaining 8 mths of the year when it's either super hot/dusty, or wet.

Edited by JohnSHL