Budget 2012 - government buying buses?

Scb11980

I thought our bus companies are private companies

how come government using tax payers money to by buses

correct me please

They us tax payer $ to start all kind of biz like smart, ST engineer, sia, temasek, DBS , GIC , comfort delgro, ntuc supermart , keppel Corp , psa etc

But when the companies earn $ , it go into a black hole call Reserves, it was never attribute back to tax payers. all $ earn kena suck up to pay director fees to all board members of these companies who are mostly u noe who family

They buy buses 管我鸟事????

why they always want to tel us how much money they spent here and there huh............?????

so that they can have excuse to recover from increase in gst, taxes, etc...in short, excuse to make u pay and pay

Can they clarify if the buses are free for the bus companies? I want to buy SMRT and Comfort delgro stocks if that is the case.

Edited by Kusje

when govt did't help the people, when bus crowded and car owners here also complaint on their behalf....

now they want to help, you all also complaint <_<

when govt did't help the people, when bus crowded and car owners here also complaint on their behalf....

now they want to help, you all also complaint <_<

help is only IF they lower the bus or MRT fare and not giving free buses hor [rolleyes]

The GOV uses money from GIC, Temasek profit to buy bus for it citizen.

Okay what.

No like they use tax money to buy bus and charge citizen a premium to use it

The GOV uses money from GIC, Temasek profit to buy bus for it citizen.

Okay what.

No like they use tax money to buy bus and charge citizen a premium to use it

You think the bus ride free ah?

Buy plane for SIA or buy ships for NOL next.

All these basic infrastructure like bus and train transport should be nationalised la. Afterall we already going that route mah. Market competition best for us wor.............. my foot.

govt buy bus correct what..

SBS can only afford a certain number which is still not enough.

so govt chip in the rest.

got wrong meh?

So govt finally step in to solve the overcrowding of FTs/FWs in s'pore is to buy more bus to ease the overcrowding?! Does this mean bus company would not increase bus fare, since they dont need to spend more money to buy bus?

Next budget, will govt buy taxis or trains? :D

If the bus companies buy the new buses....they got not enough bus interchanges parking lot!!

So still must involve gov to give more land.

Also bus companies may increase the fares to cover the costs.

So no the gov offered to pay n buy for them. The fares will stay low.

This is a good gov.

I like.

SBS & SMRT are privatised & runs a profit based service with record profits yearly...why are we using tax payer's money to fund their profits? they get $$ from taxpayers & then increase fares to further suck the cents out of the commuters. good business model man!sure win.