ALL consolidated SMRT/NEL/KT.. simisai BREAKDOWNS here!

New_Atlantis

I too was very disappointed with KBW's response and attitude. He seems so lenient on SMRT, smoke on train tell us to cut them some slack because the battery is old (later on an 'expert' commented that it has to do with poor maintenance), never disclose about the hairline crack tell us to cut them some slack because of 3 reasons, come on, all those are just reverse engineering reasons to retrospectively try and justify why never disclose in the first place. A pedigree politician. 

Just like Shanmugam in parliament earlier in the week (OT a bit), say that the 'overpayment' of allowances to volunteer police was a "procedural error". Firstly, I agree that the pay is very low, not disputing that. But the fact is when the overpayments were made, they were not procedural errors because the minister has not approved them yet. So essentially, Shanmugam made them become a "procedural error" after he retrospectively approved the payments. In other words, the minister can reduce the severity of a mistake retrospectively, effectively pardoning the mistake. What if it were another minister instead of Shanmugam and that minister did not hold the same view and did not want to approve the increase for whatever reason, can that minister do so? If that minister can and he indeed does not approve, then the error is then not an "administrative error", which proves the point that Shanmugam decided to make it an "administrative error". If however the minister cannot disapprove the increase, then essentially the minister is just a rubber stamper.

KBW body language revealed that he is actually not very comfortable with what he is saying in the parilment. At times, he is just trying to shun off issue by talking about other non-relevant topics, etc. SARS in 2003 (even my kids also asked me what this epidemic that occurred 13 years ago has to do with hairline crack of our MRT). And later part when he talked about the Tangong Pagar gas leak, he annoyingly displayed the "What can I do attitude" when citing the invetsigation report saying that it is caused by a faulty compressor on an old train...

If today the same happened at my workplace, and I tell my boss the same thing, he will likely ask me to F off. We need solution, not grandmother story. Everyone knew our train system is aging, so what are the mitigation plan to minimise breakdown and service disruption? The ministry has time after time choose to ignore the basic / facts, but kept diiverging attention and sharing with us their pitiful stories. And with growing population and the Carlite vision, things could only get worst overtime, the way I see it.

As what most bosses will say to their staff, "Stop telling me the problems! Give me the solutions!!"

Dont say liao......later all Channel U foreign drama with the plot involving the media tio banned,, :XD:

Err, I catch Pinocchio online (my daughter introduce the drama to me actually). Who need to watch from television anymore? :secret-laugh:

Side track a little, there is one part of the drama, when the management said that once the Olympics started, all focus would be on it, who will still care about the case (fire incident at chemical waste processing plant). So true! The same happened in Singapore, everyone is talking about Schooling winning the first gold medal (or even Pokemon), nobody cares about hairline cracks anymore... :pissed-off: :pissed-off:

Edited by Carbon82
  • Praise 11

KBW also say if you do not have information or don't know must also voice out so that they know you do not know. When I heard this on radio I LoL...

Don't know, best is to keep quiet. Talk too much will only get into deeper sh!t.

KBW body language revealed that he is actually not very comfortable with what he is saying in the parilment. At times, he is just trying to shun off issue by talking about other non-relevant topics, etc. SARS in 2003 (even my kids also asked me what this epidemic that occurred 13 years ago has to do with hairline crack of our MRT). And later part when he talked about the Tangong Pagar gas leak, he annoyingly displayed the "What can I do attitude" when citing the invetsigation report saying that it is caused by a faulty compressor on an old train...

If today the same happened at my workplace, and I tell my boss the same thing, he will likely ask me to F off. We need solution, not grandmother story. Everyone knew our train system is aging, so what are the mitigation plan to minimise breakdown and service disruption? The ministry has time after time choose to ignore the basic / facts, but kept diiverging attention and sharing with us their pitiful stories. And with growing population and the Carlite vision, things could only get worst overtime, the way I see it.

As what most bosses will say to their staff, "Stop telling me the problems! Give me the solutions!!"

This is likely to be his message to Desmond Quek.  But he can't say it out loud.

at the rate garmens ard d world r blocking off comments etc, d next war is confirm cyber. DDOS etc...

Juz hire an army of "IT specialist" to delete comments loh.

I was watching the Korean drama Pinocchio recently, with storyline revolving around news manipulation by MSM, simply by shifting the focus to less serve / non-crucial part of an incident.

Can't help but noticed how KBW reply in parliament today are almost in the same manner. On the hairline crack issue, the emphasis is still that these cracks were not safety critical and the reason for not disclosing it earlier is not to invite more speculations or rumors. But I guess the general public are more concerned with the root causes and how they can be assured these cracks are not safety critical.

On the latest incident at Tanjong Pagar station yesterday, the focus is on breakdown of the 20 years old compressor, which he claimed was last maintained 10 days ago. The lack of proper emergency response at time of incident, leakage of refrigerant and it impact on passenger safety was skipped totally!

Brilliant!!

And yet we keep saying they are not competent and not worth the millions paid.

Looks like they know exactly what they are doing!

Err, I catch Pinocchio online (my daughter introduce the drama to me actually). Who need to watch from television anymore? :secret-laugh:

Side track a little, there is one part of the drama, when the management said that once the Olympics started, all focus would be on it, who will still care about the case (fire incident at chemical waste processing plant). So true! The same happened in Singapore, everyone is talking about Schooling winning the first gold medal (or even Pokemon), nobody cares about hairline cracks anymore... :pissed-off: :pissed-off:

the fact that you caught on to it and others are reading it means theres hope still... can only hope others will learn to read between the lines, or notice the missing lines and ignore the obvious distractions.

I too was very disappointed with KBW's response and attitude. He seems so lenient on SMRT, smoke on train tell us to cut them some slack because the battery is old (later on an 'expert' commented that it has to do with poor maintenance), never disclose about the hairline crack tell us to cut them some slack because of 3 reasons, come on, all those are just reverse engineering reasons to retrospectively try and justify why never disclose in the first place. A pedigree politician. 

Just like Shanmugam in parliament earlier in the week (OT a bit), say that the 'overpayment' of allowances to volunteer police was a "procedural error". Firstly, I agree that the pay is very low, not disputing that. But the fact is when the overpayments were made, they were not procedural errors because the minister has not approved them yet. So essentially, Shanmugam made them become a "procedural error" after he retrospectively approved the payments. In other words, the minister can reduce the severity of a mistake retrospectively, effectively pardoning the mistake. What if it were another minister instead of Shanmugam and that minister did not hold the same view and did not want to approve the increase for whatever reason, can that minister do so? If that minister can and he indeed does not approve, then the error is then not an "administrative error", which proves the point that Shanmugam decided to make it an "administrative error". If however the minister cannot disapprove the increase, then essentially the minister is just a rubber stamper.

Enlightening post.  I always appreciated your serious comments; the way the subject is circumspect, with insights on 'technicalities'.   [thumbsup]  

And yet we keep saying they are not competent and not worth the millions paid.

Looks like they know exactly what they are doing!

wanna open worm can, also can ask y temasick is buying over smrt. Its like throwing more candies at the kid instead of punishing the kid n letting her learn n improve from experience.  we will never progress as a nation if all we do is throw $ at problems instead of attempting to fix d problem first

That's how the current administration works.  No way to change it le.

Peasant can only suck thumb

That kind of explain the exuberant show of happiness and Relief  Pride in this picture..... :D 

2016-08-15_13-58-54.jpg

Just saw the alert, no train service between Punggol and Buangkok station (both bound) due to train fault!

Nowadays very reliable , every day also have one problem.

Consistent performance.

IF, the KPI is based on consistency and regularity of breakdown / problem.

Nowadays very reliable , every day also have one problem.

Consistent performance.

IF, the KPI is based on consistency and regularity of breakdown / problem.

Agreed, everytime breakdown same reason. train or track fault! Dont know how come they can allowed same issue to happen over and over again on everyday basis?

Edited by 13177

Agreed, everytime breakdown same reason. train or track fault! Dont know how come they can allowed same issue to happen over and over again on everyday basis?

What other faults can there be? If the train stop, got to be track or train fault already ma. Occasionally maybe power failure. 

Can be driver lao sai. :XD:

Even though there are no other faults can it be, but if same old fault keeps repeating, then what is the point of having maintenance being done everyday le?  [rolleyes]

means maintenance not done properly lor ... maybe parts keep using recon ones cos limited maintenance budget ?