Foldable bicycle

Sgspurs

2 minutes ago, mersaylee said:

Self or special...i prefer self help becos the latter needs to pay...😁

Other than change of parts or full service, i will DIY.

There are something i don't want to do because need specialist tools.

2 hours ago, denser said:

any recommend regular servicing for foldies in Pasir Ris area

what specifically do u need done? 

for basic stuff, it's usually more cost and time efficient to DIY. i know of a couple of shops in Tampines but one is banned while i have yet to go to the other one but it has decent reviews. Also, sometimes these basic shops don't like to work on bikes they didn't sell. They'll just rip off walk-ins.

regular service as in cleaning, adjustment, tuning and oiling i guess

i came by The Bike Butler at Pasir Ris dr, anyone tried before and review?

10 minutes ago, denser said:

cleaning & lube is not difficult albeit a PITA but it needs to be done quite frequently so i would DIY. Can't afford sending it in every month or so.

adjustment/tuning of brakes and gear shifter needs a bit of skill but worth trying to DIY. Got many tutorials on youtube for that. 

still, it's worth finding a trusted bike mechanic nearby. I tried to find one near my place. Went to a few but all let me down. So i started to force myself to DIY. For more major stuff, i send my (non-foldie) bike to AD which is a PITA, because gotta stuff it in the car and drive 30min one way.

you can also search for home based guys in carousell. Look for those with many positive user reviews.

18 minutes ago, denser said:

Cleaning and oiling can DIY la.

1 hour ago, Shibadog said:

what specifically do u need done? 

for basic stuff, it's usually more cost and time efficient to DIY. i know of a couple of shops in Tampines but one is banned while i have yet to go to the other one but it has decent reviews. Also, sometimes these basic shops don't like to work on bikes they didn't sell. They'll just rip off walk-ins.

Quite true about the walk-ins.

This morning no rain happy like bird go cycling.. headed towards Selatar aerospace..

From sengkang/pungol after passed the S11 dormitory, saw a lorry on the opposite side not very zai.. next moment a BANG.. he crashed the center divider.. I went over to him.. "AhBang.. u ok?" he came out and said ok ok.. so i left..

within the next 100 meter or so.. i saw a pack of dogs.. abt 5 of them.. NB.. my balls almost drop.. so i reduced my speed.. next moment.. "Clank" "Clank" "Clank" sound.. i jammed brake.. looked at my rear wheel.. KNN a wire (those meant for construction) abt 80 cm long got caught in my wheel and cassette.. dismount and removed the wire.. and by now the dogs left! whahahahahah..

I think i got pray.. 2 incident boh tai chi.. the lorry could veer towards me.. if the dogs not there and at my unusual speed the wire could cause me to fall badly..

1 hour ago, Ody_2004 said:

This morning no rain happy like bird go cycling.. headed towards Selatar aerospace..

From sengkang/pungol after passed the S11 dormitory, saw a lorry on the opposite side not very zai.. next moment a BANG.. he crashed the center divider.. I went over to him.. "AhBang.. u ok?" he came out and said ok ok.. so i left..

within the next 100 meter or so.. i saw a pack of dogs.. abt 5 of them.. NB.. my balls almost drop.. so i reduced my speed.. next moment.. "Clank" "Clank" "Clank" sound.. i jammed brake.. looked at my rear wheel.. KNN a wire (those meant for construction) abt 80 cm long got caught in my wheel and cassette.. dismount and removed the wire.. and by now the dogs left! whahahahahah..

I think i got pray.. 2 incident boh tai chi.. the lorry could veer towards me.. if the dogs not there and at my unusual speed the wire could cause me to fall badly..

Now cycling also need to warm up by praying! 

I must remember to pray before riding my indoor exercise bike in case got electric shocks! 

Edited by Volvobrick

23 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

I must remember to pray before riding my indoor exercise bike in case got electric shocks! 

Fear not if you wear rubberized suit like Cat Woman. 

Meoooow! 😂

25 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

raining season, wet roads and world cup not helping.. so in a way lucky with the rain i managed to ride 3 times this month.. if not will encounter alot of World Cup Zombie on the road! whahahahhaha..

30 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

Moral of the story is...donch leave home without it 😁

7iyaya_group3_M00_F5_B9_wKgAQFVZQkSAT0ccAAAt4xJggvo756.jpg

6 minutes ago, Ody_2004 said:

raining season, wet roads and world cup not helping.. so in a way lucky with the rain i managed to ride 3 times this month.. if not will encounter alot of World Cup Zombie on the road! whahahahhaha..

Yesterday, roads are wet. Completed 1 of my fastest ride this year.

Was pulling chiobu for 5km btw 36 - 38km/h along TMCR.

2 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Normally for chiobu i like behind her.. ops.. I meant ride behind her.. OPS.. sound wrong too.. should be cycle behind her.. whahahahahahahahha..

she can tahan your pull mean she oso strong wor..

2 hours ago, Ody_2004 said:

Normally for chiobu i like behind her.. ops.. I meant ride behind her.. OPS.. sound wrong too.. should be cycle behind her.. whahahahahahahahha..

she can tahan your pull mean she oso strong wor..

As we rotate the peloton, chiobu is either front or rear of me.  

My club has a number of really fast ladies including 1 Jap who ride with the fast group (avg speed > 35km/h)

• Shocked 2

2 hours ago, mersaylee said:

Moral of the story is...donch leave home without it 😁

7iyaya_group3_M00_F5_B9_wKgAQFVZQkSAT0ccAAAt4xJggvo756.jpg

actually i do carried one when i cycle.. 

one of my "daughter" go temple and got for me few years back when i "crashed" during seventh month..

36 minutes ago, Ody_2004 said:

actually i do carried one when i cycle.. 

one of my "daughter" go temple and got for me few years back when i "crashed" during seventh month..

"God daughter" as in you're the sugar papa siboh 😁

8 hours ago, Ody_2004 said:

That's stretch opposite direction, the road surface as bad as the lamp post 1 stretch.

Need 28mm or 30mm on 60psi🤣

6 hours ago, inlinesix said:

I prefer drafting behind chiobu, less effort, more focus.......

On the rear 

Wheel.