Local Bus driver pay and the implications

Ahtong

read again. 3~5K.

with Allowance why not. Air stewardress pay also around 1.5K before allowance.

If you really wanna convince people why dun you confirm your facts instead of drawing parallels from irrelevant occupations?

how to make drivers take pride in their work, or at least feel shiok about their job once in a while?

maybe after each trip, they should be allowed to enjoy a 5min 'massage' in the drivers' rest room? either they massage each other, or get xmm to provide the quickie service (company-paid)? this is how to keep morale high for the rest of the day... (sorry for OT, but its related also)

buy them cars! so they understand cars drivers [laugh].

Not all bus drivers enjoy XMM... some like OLs, others MILF...

If only SBS can add more headcount, create more jobs + add more FsW to their organization [thumbsup]

can someone confirm the 5k income please? i am going to apply for bus driver job this afternoon if can confirm... :D

i believe higher paid drivers have to drive long trips! [;)]

we can also go England, be FT, drive bus, but paid in sterling pounds!!! [laugh]

Edited by Wasted

OIC.... then its not bad... your uncle/aunties stay private or HDB? very interesting thing i learn today... will keep in mind when i really cant tahan current job and need a change. any age limit?

5 room HDB in woodlands so not very expensive.. both are driving exclusively on peak hour only. not sure about age limit. you can try to ask but i think your age should still be okay.

they supporting 3 teenage children too.

but that's the point, aint it? drivers not happy can leave 'cos there are a dozen others (FW, FT or local) waiting to take it up..you already put it succinctly, "profit driven"

as long as they show profits, why would shareholders punish them?

You almost got it! A smart shareholder dun just look at the profit, it looks at the business model. E.g. If a company is liquidating its assets for profitability, then it could be actually worse than a company in the red while continuing to hold on to revenue generating assets.

How would continued attrition and use of unsustainable labour imports be a good and sustainable models? If shareholders are not smart enough to see that this model can't work forever, they deserve to lose their pants when the price drops and profitability drops.

Ask your self... How fast can the fares move while the median income stagnates and how many more people can Singapore hold before it becomes socially poison?

If you really wanna convince people why dun you confirm your facts instead of drawing parallels from irrelevant occupations?

point of air stewardress is to say that sometimes salary is not the main bulk of income. the allowance could be the major component of the salary which i believe was missed out in the report.

You almost got it! A smart shareholder dun just look at the profit, it looks at the business model. E.g. If a company is liquidating its assets for profitability, then it could be actually worse than a company in the red while continuing to hold on to revenue generating assets.

How would continued attrition and use of unsustainable labour imports be a good and sustainable models? If shareholders are not smart enough to see that this model can't work forever, they deserve to lose their pants when the price drops and profitability drops.

Ask your self... How fast can the fares move while the median income stagnates and how many more people can Singapore hold before it becomes socially poison?

eh..to the ordinary joe public shareholder, you think they think of it like how you described?

can someone confirm the 5k income please? i am going to apply for bus driver job this afternoon if can confirm... :D

If confirm I also come with you and apply for this job.

I had enough of these nurses in short white dresses giving me bed baths

and my website "Tugs we like.com" got typo error and became "Thugs we like.com"

and people think we bacame ganstas and not even the hiphop gansta rappers but the ah long types.

cut the COE and board of directors...and shareholder...then get Lui to run it...we probably save a few million a yr...then can give to the driver.... [laugh] [laugh]

how to make drivers take pride in their work, or at least feel shiok about their job once in a while?

maybe after each trip, they should be allowed to enjoy a 5min 'massage' in the drivers' rest room? either they massage each other, or get xmm to provide the quickie service (company-paid)? this is how to keep morale high for the rest of the day... (sorry for OT, but its related also)

Great idea.

After we get the jobs,

we will put your suggestion in the employee suggestion scheme

to increase safety at work. [thumbsup]

The 5 min massage will have great health benefits.

Edited by Jamesc

Slightly OT but just a thought.

In Singapore, it is easy to import cheap labour. The standard reasoning is that if wages go up, you will pay super high price for something.

But if we look at things another way, is the labour neccessary in the first place?

Is it possible that some companies are actually overstaffed due to inefficienecy in their work process?

Then because it is easy to throw cheap labour at the problem, the ah beng towkay never had a motivation to change things.

Take for example food courts. Do you really need to buy canned drinks from the auntie? Why not a self serve station with an ice box next to it?

People may get worked up because this means someone will lose her job. Yes, but realistically speaking, that is China's problem.

Our country is limited in everything from labour to land to resources. My point is we should fully and properly utilize what little we have. But to do so, we need to seriously rethink the way we do things.

No point using quick fix that cause more problems than they solve.

Why the well-being of the Shareholders and managers be held above that of the workers (drivers) and the customers? A profit driven company that is unable to charge the customers reasonable price while allowing them to pay their drivers reasonably should be in the red. The shareholders would then punish the management by selling the stocks and management would react to improve the situation if they can, and if they cannot .. we say goodbye to them.

Creative Technology has been in the red. Are they not accountable to the shareholders? Did they ask for handouts from gov? Are they able to price their speakers higher in a competitive environment? No and No. Because they are a commercial entity in a competitive environment.

I find it funny that everyone is always dying to ensure the management and directors's welfare are taken care of, when are paid as well as any companies while the drives paid a pittance while they pay the drivers pittance. Oh the shareholders? If you dun wanna take risk, please buy a bond and not shares. By entering the market, you are signing up for potential gains and LOSSES. Its part of the game.

+1 liked!

Why the well-being of the Shareholders and managers be held above that of the workers (drivers) and the customers?

Coz the major shareholder is TH, u see their other investments outside spore, up lorry one... lol

eh..to the ordinary joe public shareholder, you think they think of it like how you described?

? You actually believe the ordinary joe retail investors are the price maker? Its the Morgan Stanley and the fund houses that are the price makers.

point of air stewardress is to say that sometimes salary is not the main bulk of income. the allowance could be the major component of the salary which i believe was missed out in the report.

Seriously, you should just spend more effort verifying your dubious claim is true than draw such parallels. Really hor, if its normal to make 3-5k salary as bus drivers, you think SBS really need to go PRC?

Coz the major shareholder is TH, u see their other investments outside spore, up lorry one... lol

Agree. Thats the seed of all the problems.

to be super honest. I'm so utterly disappointed that our bus drivers are paid $1200...... sigh,

it's so disgusting to know that these drivers are doing a dangerous job, with high stress level and they are compensated with less than $1000 take home pay.

It shows something is very wrong with our country's system of rewarding workers accordingly.

sometime back i posted that local bus drivers are paid an entry salary of 900 which was revised only in the early 2000s and i was subjected to ridicule.

not many people are aware of this i guess.

Edited by Happily1986

TS you know they got driving allowance for per trip or not?? those added in easily their pay become 3 to 5 K liao.

my aunty and uncle happen to drive for Tibs

3-5K? that's quite substantial... more than many degree holders in Sg.