Our needs are top notch, we are taken care of! (healthcare)

Pchmj

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1194457/1/.html

SINGAPORE: In another move to put Singaporeans first, health care subsidies for Permanent Residents will be revised from October this year.

With the adjustment, the subsidy for PRs in most income bands will be half that given to citizens.

The adjustments will apply to inpatient services (Class B2 and C wards), day surgery and specialist outpatient clinics in restructured hospitals, as well as intermediate and long-term care services.

The adjustments will be made in two phases. In the first phase which kicks in from October, C Class ward subsidies for PRs earning S$3,201 to S$3,350 will be cut to 49 per cent from the current 59 per cent.

This will be further reduced to 39.5 per cent in April next year.

This will bring it to about half of the 79 per cent subsidy that a Singaporean admitted into a C class ward gets.

Associate Professor Fatimah Lateef, deputy chairman of the Government Parliamentary Committee for Health, said: "The differentiation between Singaporeans, between citizens and foreigners, PRs and other foreigners is something that we cannot run away from, whether it is in healthcare or education and so on. Now that the difference is quite marked and more stark, I think Singaporeans will be quite happy to know that their rights are taken care of, their needs are top notch."

But the GPC chair for Health, Dr Lam Pin Min feels some PRs may need help to adjust to the changes. Dr Lam hopes the Ministry can set up a special fund to help PRs who cannot afford their medical bills and have no where to turn to for support.

The Health Ministry said it is mindful of the impact the subsidy adjustments will have on lower income PRs. For example, PRs who earn S$3,200 and below will see only a 5 per cent reduction in their subsidy for C Class wards in public hospitals - from 60 per cent to 55 per cent - starting from October this year.

For the intermediate and long-term care sector, the subsidy adjustments will be implemented in the third quarter of this year.

How does it help us? By decreasing PR subsidy and not increasing ours? Happy for what?

What a smart move to save money and make more differences between PR and citizens.

Edited by Pchmj

I love this statement

"Dr Lam hopes the Ministry can set up a special fund to help PRs who cannot afford their medical bills and have no where to turn to for support"

Its like telling your boss you need more leaves, & he cut the leave of your collegues....

or you said you dish is too salty, & the chef put more salt to your partner's plate.

Uniquely Singapore.

How does it help us? By decreasing PR subsidy and not increasing ours? Happy for what?

What a smart move to save money and make more differences between PR and citizens.

which part of the statement said anything about helping sinkies? dun anyhow read hor .....

Wah PRs low income starting from $3200 ah..

My pay bring back only half of that then Im super low class wor...

Can I get free medical?

I love this statement

"Dr Lam hopes the Ministry can set up a special fund to help PRs who cannot afford their medical bills and have no where to turn to for support"

reducing subsidies for PRs does not mean increasing subsidies for sinkies..the extra $ saved simply goes to a special fund to help the PRs..it not only did not help sinkies..but more help are given to PRs

blood suckers, sucking you dry regardless you are sgp or PR..

slow death..

as long you got money and life, garment welcome you in open arms.

reducing subsidies for PRs does not mean increasing subsidies for sinkies..the extra $ saved simply goes to a special fund to help the PRs..it not only did not help sinkies..but more help are given to PRs

Wow, talk about under table. On top reduce, below give back. Back to square one. <_< Only the stupid will believe it is helping sgreans.

In summary...if they give everything the same between citizen and PR...or close to...who in the right frame of mind will take up citizenship.....it is just a plot to make citizen wet....it is just a plot to force the PR to take up citizenship lah....why we so happy?

hmm...i really dun see how such moves now (incl the pri sch thing) helps in Integration. some of the decision making of late is quite unlike them.

Its like telling your boss you need more leaves, & he cut the leave of your collegues....

or you said you dish is too salty, & the chef put more salt to your partner's plate.

Uniquely Singapore.

Look, defence is more important; Our lives are cheaper [lipsrsealed]

In summary...if they give everything the same between citizen and PR...or close to...who in the right frame of mind will take up citizenship.....it is just a plot to make citizen wet....it is just a plot to force the PR to take up citizenship lah....why we so happy?

The PRs should not even be accorded 50% subsidy! They should be asked to pay 100% of the fees as they are not Singapore Citizen. Should they become Citizen then full subsidy will then be given out to them. Remember thay can anytime renounce their PRship and return to wherever they come from and benefits the monetary gains and whatever!

Uniquely Singapore.

They should reduce the subsidies of PRs and help the citizens.

Then it citizens will be happier. Money saved goes where ??

Look, defence is more important; Our lives are cheaper [lipsrsealed]

If we kena attack our lives are dead... what you talking ? Garment want to protect us from North and South... We only can escape from the East as the West blocked by the south also...East = SQ flights so Elites and High Crass go first. we leave later if got chan because we dogs and some pigs...