Becareful of Ubi Autobacs

Ethene

In the US, for instance, nobody would stand for this sort of nonsense. They would sue the shop for the costs and more. Don't be a guai guai Singaporean, times are changing.

So what do you suggest ??? It's autobacs ubi SINGAPORE btw...

sibeh no mood now.... knn

[shakehead] [shakehead] [shakehead]

So what do you suggest ??? It's autobacs ubi SINGAPORE btw...

sibeh no mood now.... knn

Consult a SINGAPORE lawyer loh. If they say cannot jalan, cannot loh.

The alternative is to pay your own repairs, but refuse to pay for any damage to their equipment on the basis that you believe it's their negligence that led to your accident.

If they sue you, then fight it.

A very rough estimate for the barrier unit : S$2K for new replacement unit.

[shakehead] [shakehead] [shakehead] [shakehead] [shakehead]

Raining very heavily this afternoon and any bros here going to Ubi Autobacs on rainy days please please be extra careful when manoeuvring in Autobacs Ubi carpark.

The flooring has almost no friction when the floor is wet.

Was there this afternoon, while doing and right turn trying to exit the carpark, very gently tapped on the brakes and whole car skidded and buang onto the auto barrier.

Wasnt even speeding at all. If you all notice, it is also very slippery even when you are walking.

Barrier box a bit slanted and barrier cannot work anymore. Awaiting quote for the damage. $$$$ fly.

This is just a warning to all bros, unnecessary comments is not welcomed.

Would be good if anyone in this line knows the rough $$ damage of the repair of the barrier....

I would get my lawyer to sue them instead, why compensate them...

Around 1-2k for the barrier. Got a quote sometime last year.

As for compensation, it depends if u have proof that u were not speeding inside the carpark. Got in-car video? If go to court, will need prove things like your tire thread is acceptable etc. The best thing is to make noise to Autobacs management that they absorb the cost of replacement. Pray that they can come to a compromise and maintain customer relationship. ( best if u almost go there for servicing)

Around 1-2k for the barrier. Got a quote sometime last year.

As for compensation, it depends if u have proof that u were not speeding inside the carpark. Got in-car video? If go to court, will need prove things like your tire thread is acceptable etc. The best thing is to make noise to Autobacs management that they absorb the cost of replacement. Pray that they can come to a compromise and maintain customer relationship. ( best if u almost go there for servicing)

you also knocked down the same barrier ?!

Getting Autobacs to compensate you would rather be difficult unless you car has equip with in-car video recorder to proof.

Reason is rather simple, cause the barrier you hit is within their property so chances of claiming very low chance. But if you wants to fight this kind of claim issues, you can still win but you will burn more cash that just compensation.

Example :-

1) Engage Specialist to inspect the construct of the flooring where the accident took place

2) Send your car in to inspect that your vehicle and tyre thread wear has pass the safety requirements. (Obtain the copy of results)

3) A copy of bloodtest result to proof that you are fit for driving

This will eventually comes out more digits than you an imagine unless ... you have too much cash and time to spare.

Cause cases like this will drags very long. [:(]

It's the painted carpark surface made worse with wet weather conditions.

To test this yourself, try SGH Carpark H (multi story) driving up slope to higher level visitor parking during heavy downpour. My car (rwd) experience wheelspin on the first gradient and traction contol lights come on. No grip with wet tyres (PSS 90%) on the painted surface, reversed down spiral to avoid doing real damage by powering further.

Don't know how some developers (usually malls) think when applying this surface to carprks.

Thanks for the info....

Seems that pay-and-move-on is inevitable....

[:(]

But I'm not sure if SRSC will be able to help you in cases like this. Unless the bros here that often head down to Autobacs Ubi also face the same issues like this, you may request help from them by submitting a class petition letter.

Hope this helps you.

i think you should not pay for the barrier.

you insist it is their floor.

who in the world would want to bang on their barrier for fun and then pay to repair own car.

Dun pay and play the waiting game while u consult legal advise.

Take photos and provide evidence or proof that the floor surface is wet, ur tires are not botak, car functioning well n there r no skid marks etc..

When they call u, tell them u think they should compensate you n see what's their stand. If they say want take legal action to sue ur compensation, do likewise n tell them u r consulting ur lawyer and will get the lawyer to deal with it instead.

At no point admit that it's your fault.

They may not compensate u but may be a out of court private settlement, perhaps they repair their barrier, u repair ur car. The end. Caus as if they go through lawyer, the professional fees will exceed the barrier repair cause which makes it not cost effective.

Just my feel. Of couse u may choose to do the way u r comfortable in

Dun pay and play the waiting game while u consult legal advise.

Take photos and provide evidence or proof that the floor surface is wet, ur tires are not botak, car functioning well n there r no skid marks etc..

When they call u, tell them u think they should compensate you n see what's their stand. If they say want take legal action to sue ur compensation, do likewise n tell them u r consulting ur lawyer and will get the lawyer to deal with it instead.

At no point admit that it's your fault.

They may not compensate u but may be a out of court private settlement, perhaps they repair their barrier, u repair ur car. The end. Caus as if they go through lawyer, the professional fees will exceed the barrier repair cause which makes it not cost effective.

Just my feel. Of couse u may choose to do the way u r comfortable in

I did not take any pictures at that moment..... does it help if i go back tmr to take some pictures of the area ?

1) You should if they allow and look out for any notice pertaining to the use of their carpark. (see point 4)

2) You should claim against them and it should not be the other way round.

3) You should also make a report to your insurance to cover yourself in case they claim against your policy

4) The building management has a responsibility to ensure that their building is safe for customers/ visitors. However, some carparks entrance may have a disclaimer notice exonerating the building management against any claim for any damage, injury etc., caused to visitors/ users of their carparks. I notice one at the entrance to the basement carpark of Keppel Distripark which is along Kampong Bahru Road.

Hope you will somehow be compensated for being a victim of an unsafe premises which was also experienced by some earlier posters.

I just ordered one replacement barrier bar for my office, and the lowest quote was already $900.

So I estimate the barrier box to be $5000 -$7000.

Personally, suggest u discuss with e mgt to seek compensation for damage to yr vehicle + waiver of paying for e barrier regardless of presence of parking disclaimer.

The main focus of yr discussion should be the issue of SAFETY within their premises especially in e event of rain. At e end of the day, even if yr appeal/discussion/attempt fail, u would hv highlighted an aspect of danger to the mgt.

Send in a letter seeking compensation of damage to yr vehicle as a resut of said encounter with their wet floor. Copy yr letter to BCA (Building Control Authority) to highlight yr incident. The mgt may/may not hv used inferior or substandard surface for their carpk or overtime, e chemical/material may hv worn off thus resulting in an unsafe surface for not only vehicles but also human traffic.

At least u try and bring up issue becos u are concerned that some worse damage, even to loss of lives if e mgt choose to remain complacent or bo chap. *Touch wood* shd this really happen in future, yr correspondence will add weight to neglience on e part of e mgt to prevent such an occurence.

Thnx for sharing and highlighting this potential danger to all of us here. Gd luck in yr appeal/discussion with e mgt. Remember, its not just e $.....its abt safety to users of their premises as well, somehow u need to communicate this message strongly across.

Gd luck + safe ride.....hv a gd weekend despite e gloom.

All these for a free wiper? [:p][:p][:p]

Whenever I go there while rainy day, I love to lose the tractions...

So much so that my wife will warn me not to do it before we enter into the compound.

Back to the compensation thingy.

1) Do you have a on-board camera?

2) Any CCTV around?

3) Did autobac & you exchange any sort of documents after the accident

4) As what some bro say, got disclaimer or not?

5) Estimate overall damage compared with compensation + legal issues?

Will it be a win/lose or win/win?