HDB flat sizes not shrinking: Khaw Boon Wan [Take Poll]

CKP

HDB flats have been the same size for the past 15 years  

129 members have voted

1. 1. HDB flats have been the same size for the past 15 years

• Yes. Same for the past 15 years
    • No. Shrunk for the past 15 years

Picture tells a thousand words...

A typical 4 room flat in 1998 - 2000 (area: 100m2)

A typical 5 room flat in 1998 - 2000 (area: 120m2)

Actually wouldnt another set of pic with today's 4room and 5room be perfect to let the pictures say the words? ^_^

Wait lah, I am searching now... [cool]

Relak first ok? [rolleyes]

A typical 4 room flat from 2000 (area: 90m2)

floorplanv.jpg

A 5 room flat at Pinnacle @Duxton (area: 106m2)

HDB-Pinnacle-Duxton-5-room.jpg

wah this 4 room is at where so big?

muz see which area also

actually no nid see plan la,just go resale and see the transaction,all areas there

Depend also what model, New Generation or Model A etc

Model A is 100 average

New Generation is 92+ ( Last time old time they call New Generation? Wierd)

A quick comparison for those who don't like to look into details...

Size of Main Bedroom of a 4 room flat in 1998 - 2000 => 5400mm x 3300mm (17.82m2)

Size of Main Bedroom of a 4 room flat after 2000 => 4450mm x 3050mm (13.57m2)

Shrink by => ~23.85%

Size of smallest Bedroom of a 4 room flat in 1998 - 2000 => 4000mm x 3150mm (12.60m2)

Size of smallest Bedroom of a 4 room flat after 2000 => 3350mm x 2400mm (8.04m2)

Shrink by => ~36.19%

wah this 4 room is at where so big?

muz see which area also

actually no nid see plan la,just go resale and see the transaction,all areas there

Depend also what model, New Generation or Model A etc

Model A is 100 average

New Generation is 92+ ( Last time old time they call New Generation? Wierd)

If I remember correctly, some flat is Taman Jurong area has this type of layout in the late '90s. It look but now, but a norm then. "Massive" downsizing occurred after that (around Y2000 onwards)...

1st Gear

all these terms got no meaning one la

5 room flats also don't have 5 bedrooms

unless 5 room = master bedroom + study room + kids room + store room + living room

my 4 room is around 108sqm. dont have aircon ledge and bomb shelter.. [sly]

my 4ng is only 90sqm... built in 1980s.

so.... the minister is comparing the smaller unit of yesteryear to today's standard unit. No wrong mah... [laugh]

LOL... thats why I sometimes dun get why some young couples insist on getting new HDBs. So small. For the same price in the same area, you can get a resale ppty that is bigger and if you search properly, the $ you pay may get you solid Marble Flooring and Invertor Air-con. Best is, you know who your neighbours will be when u decide to buy.

The only way to get very big units are:

1) Buy resale jumbo

2 ) Buy ec penthouse

3) Buy ulu landed

Check out these yishun huge penthouses!

penthouse-ph1.jpg

penthouse-double-ph8.jpg

1st Gear

Why all these " technically he's not wrong.....technically he's right " stuff. Why are you people making justifications for his effort to misrepresent? Politicians always have an unusual relationship with the truth.

LOL... thats why I sometimes dun get why some young couples insist on getting new HDBs. So small. For the same price in the same area, you can get a resale ppty that is bigger and if you search properly, the $ you pay may get you solid Marble Flooring and Invertor Air-con. Best is, you know who your neighbours will be when u decide to buy.

You sure it is the same price? Resale is still more expensive. Probably, if you talk about psf wise, it might be the same but even then, I don't think so...

confirm not the same psf. i was helping my sister look out for a flat in yishun as it is the cheapest in SG. resales was going for about $350psf while she got a bto at $260psf [:p]

clean until sian man

pengzzzzz :wacko: .........small, people comprainz. big, people also comprainz [laugh]:D[laugh]

very hard to serve [:p]