CNA: Give Low-Wage Workers Pay Rise Of At Least $50: NWC

Vulcann

Is it not tantamount to having a minimum wage policy in this case?

Frankly how much can $50 last for these low-wage workers? Enough to maybe ease their daily transport burden slightly or maybe add an additional veg portion for their lunch?

BTW before these workers jump for joy, it is only a "recommendation" only & not compulsory on the part of their employers hor. [rolleyes]

Just glad that at least they acknowledge part of Pro Lim's earlier wage proposal which has some bearing on their recommendations.

From CNA:

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1203113/1/.html

Give low-wage workers pay rise of at least $50: NWC

By Saifulbahri Ismail/Tan Qiuyi | Posted: 23 May 2012 1802 hrs

Notice the words "recommend", "suggest", "urge"? All these are just talk only.

Why only $50 is becoz they only want these ppl "to cope with the rising cost", not to overcome it. Pay them too much the cost might pass on to consumers and add on to inflation. See their predicament?

Minimum wage policy will most likely not happen in sgp coz they still want to use cheap labour to attract investors.

can.. give them 50 more..

but work one extra day lor... that is also increasing productivity mah..

now inflation already 5%.. whats this 50 gg to do? whose fault? can trace to COE to begin with....im sure COE increase led to many other increase in other non directly related stuff also.. with transport cost (instalments per month) higher, it erodes transporters profit.. in the end, surely will cause tranport charges to increase.. and the dominoes continue to fall.

Edited by Chrispie

Cant believe they recommended $50 pay rise for low-wage workers?! [shakehead] What can $50 do in such a high living of standard now?!

extra 20 packets of cai png..

rice, with 2 veg only. no meat.

or 1 meat 1 veg. not bad already.. you can choose to eat in restaurant, or hawker.. bear that in mind.

Nowadays not easy to buy $2.50 cai png le?! [:p] Actually also depends on the worker commitments, if he has a family to feed, $50 rise might not consider high.

only $50?

maybe enough for them to cover their transport expenses.

$100 would be more reasonable

only $50?

maybe enough for them to cover their transport expenses.

$100 would be more reasonable

I always think pay rise should be at least $100 or more, regardless how much the employee is earning. Pay rise less than $100 really cannot make it.

after the bus drivers' increment is exposed, i think even if other low wage workers get wage increment, there will be strings attached. big boy already show how it is done, small boys will follow and refine the exploits. maybe work sat and 1/2 of sun as well [thumbsdown]

I think if you want the employer to pay you more, then they will require you to work longer work hours. <_<

Edited by 13177

I always think pay rise should be at least $100 or more, regardless how much the employee is earning. Pay rise less than $100 really cannot make it.

agree with you, but they focus on % increment. $50 for low wage workers mean 5% increment, enough to cope with inflation. [hur]

that's $2.50 per pack? wow..

even at that hard-to-find rate, 20 packs at 2 meals (lunch and dinner) lasts for 10 days

if a company has 100 of such workers, and that should be a sizable company, that's asking for an additional $5000 per month..are margins so thin?

Edited by Hub_n_mona

agree with you, but they focus on % increment. $50 for low wage workers mean 5% increment, enough to cope with inflation. [hur]

Correct, the pay increment here is looking at the percentage rather than the actual amount given. If they recommend increment of 4-5%, even though the actual pay amount is less than $100, they already think the amount increased already met the recommended increment criteria! [hur]

If the employer really increase $50 in every increment, the employee dont know needs to take how many donkey years then their pay can increase above $2000!?

$50 only the suggested minimum lah.

Its a range: $50 to $1,000.

Employers decide.

It can be $100, $250 ...

$50 only the suggested minimum lah.

Its a range: $50 to $1,000.

Employers decide.

It can be $100, $250 ...

You think the employer so good to give more than the recommended amount? I think most employers will give the min recommended amount. <_<

increasing wages of lower rank worker is fundamentally flaw.

you increase them to say 1.5K. freshly grad diploma holder will expect their pay to be say 2K. then Fresh Grad expect their pay to be around 3K. then those work few years liao see liao not happy, diploma experience asking for 3K experience Grad asking for 5K... so on and so far...

then you see prices start going up because overhead cost increase and bosses not happy, then bosses increase selling cost... then inflation push up.... inflation % high .. ppl KPKB then start from increase low wages pay again........

a better solution is needed to solve this inflation problem.