Kelpie 2nd Gear May 24, 2012 Share May 24, 2012 These are the happiest countries in the world: 1. Denmark > Life satisfaction score: 7.8 > Employment rate: 73% (6th highest) > Self-reported good health: 71% (17th highest) > Employees working long hours: 1.92% (4th lowest) > Disposable income: $23,213 (15th lowest) > Educational attainment: 76% (18th lowest) > Life expectancy: 79.3 (11th lowest) Denmark tops the OECD ranking as the country with the most satisfied citizens among the countries studied by the OECD. At first glance, the reason is not obvious. Denmark ranks no higher than fourth in any of the categories that appear to correlate strongly with overall satisfaction. Yet, in addition to the OECD, organizations such as the World Map of Happiness and the World Database of Happiness have consistently put Denmark at the top of their list of the world ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear May 24, 2012 Share May 24, 2012 Errrrrr.............where's Singapore standing at??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 24, 2012 Author Share May 24, 2012 For the second year in a row, 24/7 Wall St. examined the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear May 24, 2012 Share May 24, 2012 Wait for someone to say the result is not accurate, not apple to apple etc. But I have no complains, as my working hours per year is one of the world lowest. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear May 24, 2012 Share May 24, 2012 Wait for someone to say the result is not accurate, not apple to apple etc. But I have no complains, as my working hours per year is one of the world lowest. Bro, I thought you're in Germany? They work 40 hrs per week, no? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear May 24, 2012 Share May 24, 2012 Errrrrr.............where's Singapore standing at??? If Singapore is inside, our government will endorse the report & sing praise about how their leadership & foresight make this possible, Since we ain't inside, our government will just brush off this report as not accurate, not apple to apple etc.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear May 24, 2012 Share May 24, 2012 i wonder why Bhutan is not in the list Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear May 24, 2012 Share May 24, 2012 Bro, I thought you're in Germany? They work 40 hrs per week, no? 35 hours exclude 45mins break time per day. So its more like 38.45 hours. However extended unofficial breaks are not allowed unless you clock out the extra time. + 30days leave exclude public holidays. Extra hours worked are also recorded, so you can take time off, or take full fays time off if you have sufficient extra hours. I average extra 3-4 extra days (due to over hours) leave per month. I explained this before actually. In fact I am suppose to have 2 weeks leave next week, but I am postponing as I had 2 weeks MC already. I will try to get my work done, before I took my 2 weeks leave. But work is not that stressful (but you cannot kian like in Singapore (like long breaks, or surf net often) as time is precious in Germany). next month will be very exciting due to Euro championship, & we have plan for BBQ & projector screening (share cost) for every match, taking turn at each other houses. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic May 24, 2012 Share May 24, 2012 i wonder why Bhutan is not in the list I was thinking the same thing too. Remember a report that said they are a happy country when their king was here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic May 24, 2012 Share May 24, 2012 If Singapore is inside, our government will endorse the report & sing praise about how their leadership & foresight make this possible, Since we ain't inside, our government will just brush off this report as not accurate, not apple to apple etc.. Our government will say we use a different index to measure happines Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gee 1st Gear May 24, 2012 Share May 24, 2012 TS Consider migrating? ;) Didn't understand why Israel made the list, thought that region is highly volatile? If there is such thing as unhappiest list, are we listed? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear May 24, 2012 Share May 24, 2012 (edited) Yep, very often hard to get hold of my German colleagues either due to public holidays, away on vacations or on the road for business trip...... Hope you've recovered well from your sickness/injuries with the 2 weeks of MC... Edited May 24, 2012 by WTF Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear May 24, 2012 Share May 24, 2012 Yep, very often hard to get hold of my German colleagues either due to public holidays, away on vacations or on the road for business trip...... Hope you've recovered well from your sickness/injuries with the 2 weeks of MC... Especially in the summer. I should know. I used to work in same company, different branch in Singapore. But it has its merit, you feel better when you work, because there is always a vacation to look forward too in the near future, & after a long break, & you feel more refresh when you come back to work. When I work in SG, basically the breaks are near year end, & maybe CNY. & maybe in between, you have 1-2 days off in between for some personal stuff. So its a long time before you get a good long break. & thanks . Next week I should be able to work, & go & buy PC for Diablo 3. My ankle have recovered well. But I am seriously considering if I should quit football for good, or play more defensive role like keeper, as both my feet have ankle injuries, right side ligament torn, left side bone fracture. I kinda feel paiseh that I take 2 weeks MC ( my longest ever, the 2nd longest is only 3-4 days I think). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear May 24, 2012 Share May 24, 2012 Wah lao, you played rugby or soccer leh??? Must be damn painful with these injuries having to move ard.......no stay in hospital??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged May 24, 2012 Share May 24, 2012 Errrrrr.............where's Singapore standing at??? Must be first lah ... from bottom. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged May 24, 2012 Share May 24, 2012 (edited) Deleted due to duplicate post. I am sorry. Edited May 24, 2012 by Count-Bracula Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged May 24, 2012 Share May 24, 2012 Our government will say we use a different index to measure happines $$$? Must be lah ........ they so happy, smiling everyday feeling lich. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyng 4th Gear May 24, 2012 Share May 24, 2012 No point comparing other countries. Key thing is to look at the happy people in Singapore and earn from them. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...