GPGT: Art or Vandalism?

Ahtong

Art or Vandalism  

20 members have voted

1. 1. Art or Vandalism

• Art
    • Vandalism

private property anything also can, then it come to the content, if not appropriate, govt step in. But in those country that your picture shown, anything will do [laugh]

u didnt include the "my grandfather road" series? [:p]

This guy is said to be her inspiration

Both art and vandalism.

Should we have them in Singapore?

Yes. Brings a smile.

Should we ban them in Singapore?

Yes. Not everything succeed.

Part of the fun for the artist is to complete the art and escape the officials. I hope to see more individuals step up. [laugh]

Both art and vandalism.

Yes. Brings a smile.

Part of the fun for the artist is to complete the art and escape the officials. I hope to see more individuals step up. [laugh]

please hor, any aspiring artist who want to do this, do it on a goverm*nt building hor, private building,the owner must still spend $$$ to repaint....dont trouble people because of individual selfish interest....want fame go and play with lightning....but later kena burn dont KPKB hor.

would be nice if there is a committee to identify walls / streets / anything that is "open" for street art.

any artistic person want to express their artistic values can apply from this committee given their mock up in computer or drawing.

once approved, can be done on the selected walls/streets/any backdrop and will be removed after few months for change piece

they did before for mail box right? that one cannot make it la

street_art_banksy_london_england_1.jpg

http://www.streetartutopia.com/

Both art and vandalism.

Yes. Brings a smile.

places like chinatown, arab street, orchard road, bugis, etc with tourist and shopping places should be open for street art :D

Banksy - the elusive one. [laugh]

His artworks make plenty of political statements and about the country itself. Authorities consider him a vandal who does graffiti, but the rest of the world sees him as an inspired artist.

Banksy

His famous works can never be bought unlike conventional artists. No matter the money.

Actually art is when the artist has permission to draw on the building's wall from the owner.

Also if the owner don't mind on finding out after the deed was done, and do not persecute the culprit.

Else it will be vandalism.

Very simple clear cut case.

So the local case is strictly a case of applying artistic intention on a deed that is deem vandalism in the eye of the law.

would be nice if there is a committee to identify walls / streets / anything that is "open" for street art.

any artistic person want to express their artistic values can apply from this committee given their mock up in computer or drawing.

once approved, can be done on the selected walls/streets/any backdrop and will be removed after few months for change piece

they did before for mail box right? that one cannot make it la

No go. Such constraints cramp the creative style.

Look what happen to the mailbox.

1st Gear

As a creation, Street grafitti will still be an art form even if some countries deemed it as vandalism.

The artist however, may have to bear the consequences if he get caught for vandalising charge.

So is it art? Yes imho, regardless the legality of it.

1st Gear

No go. Such constraints cramp the creative style.

Look what happen to the mailbox.

This kind of Art is open to one's interpretation.

Some may like it while others may not.

Unfortunately, the mailbox had plenty coming from the later.

This kind of Art is open to one's interpretation.

Some may like it while others may not.

Unfortunately, the mailbox had plenty coming from the later.

i hear that many pple do not like the mailbox art because it kind of made the mailbox look less obvious.

pple want to post letter look around the area and tend to mislook the "decorated" mailbox.

That is why many pple hate it.

this type of "legal vandalism" is very intrusive and inconvenient pple.

just like the Bus Ads. darken the windows so much that you just don't know where the bus is at when you are inside and when to alight as you cannot see your bus stop coming or the landmarks you depend on.

Edited by Nolicense

Some call it graffiti but some appreciate it as art, this is one of the graffiti street you might want to visit when you at Melbourne. 4082045032_fd81f58385.jpg

please hor, any aspiring artist who want to do this, do it on a goverm*nt building hor, private building,the owner must still spend $$$ to repaint....dont trouble people because of individual selfish interest....want fame go and play with lightning....but later kena burn dont KPKB hor.

You either own vulnerable private buildings or... have loan shark troubles before. [laugh]

Both art and vandalism.

Yes. Brings a smile.

Ya.. street art is about spontaneity.. and the transformation of something ordinary and drab, into art that brings an instant smile upon first look..

part of the deal is to be rebellious against the restrictive rules of the day, and getting away with it..

That I think is art, and not something manufactured to please the powers to be (and sooth their egos) to become so sterile like a morgue.... Colorful Singapore? Oxymoron..... [pirate]