TVT Supercharged June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 My Panasonic 12kg is 4 years old...still going strong. Its great for washing bedsheets, blankets and can take heavy loads, for its capacity. I recall I buy from that shop in Hougang, thinked its called 'Goh Ah Bee'. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 I don't know how to abuse the machine. No accelerator pedal to rev the machine, nor did I mod it to spin faster. I want to try other brand this time...perhaps Brandt or Bosche.......I think more expensive but should last 5years as what many claimed. Abuse means overload lor. If you always wash with a bed sheet plus 1 whole week of clothes together, it is abusing. The 5kg or 6kg rating is weight when your clothes are wet. Not dry. Also, if you always wash using the 30mins mode, then it will also kaput the washer faster. My last one, Brandt also lasted less than 2 years. Because my helper always wash with full load and 30mins mode. If space and money is not an issue, then you should go for those 8kg or 9kg one. It will last longer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 Get a machine with 3 or 5 year warranty! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 I jus bought LG 8kg front load at HN. 1k with extended warranty for 5yrs... So far so good... with $100 giant voucher by LG... u can go take a look... Siemens bought LG? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Animian Clutched June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 My Panasonic 12kg is 4 years old...still going strong. Its great for washing bedsheets, blankets and can take heavy loads, for its capacity. I recall I buy from that shop in Hougang, thinked its called 'Goh Ah Bee'. correct .... their price is cheaper than courts etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 These shocks are expensive, I bough direct from agent $40-$50+ per piece. On the next replacement, the SPARES person, recommended me tubular shocks used by other European machine, and it lasted for many years till washine machine totally broke down last month. The current Bosch machine still uses the same type of problematic shocks. Main reason I stayed away this time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 My Electrolux washing machine spoilt this morning. Lasted 1.5 years. The previous Samsung model also lasted 1.5years. Both cost around $599 each. Both out of warranty period then breakdown. Tough luck. Does washing machine breakdown at 1.5 years considered normal? Anyone who got lobang to get a good model washing macine please recommend me or PM me. I need it one by end of today, at at least Saturday....because one whole week of clothes and bed sheets are still unwashed. Is the price same at HN,Courts? Or cheaper to go to those neighborhood shops? Anyone? Thanks. buy those 8 - 10 kg type...when clothing put in, it will automatically fill water up to the level when POWER ON & Start....my Hitachi last 10 yrs and now my Pana is 3.5 yrs. btw stick to the recommended load then it will last longer.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 Many higher capacity machines are based on standard size. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 Simon should be busy looking at new machine now. I did leveling with spirit level to sit machine firmly. Reduce vibration and prevent machine from Walking away Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear June 22, 2012 Author Share June 22, 2012 (edited) Abuse means overload lor. If you always wash with a bed sheet plus 1 whole week of clothes together, it is abusing. The 5kg or 6kg rating is weight when your clothes are wet. Not dry. Are you very sure about this wet weight? Seriously I always thought its DRY weight. How can anyone measure wet weight? Only can estimate the dry weight of clothers that get into the machine logically. 6kg is only just six bottle of water leh, surely a few pieces of soaked clothes would easily weight 5-6kg already!!! If what you say is true....then opps.....I am definately guilty of overloading the machine!! Damm.....thanks for the nfo. Edited June 22, 2012 by SimonTan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 I got mine thru' the phone from the shop at Alexandra Village. It's a Sharp 7Kg iirc. Cost ard $220-230, including delivery and disposal of old washer. My previous Panasonic lasted about 5 yrs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 (edited) Are you very sure about this wet weight? Seriously I always thought its DRY weight. How can anyone measure wet weight? Only can estimate the dry weight of clothers that get into the machine logically. 6kg is only just six bottle of water leh, surely a few pieces of soaked clothes would easily weight 5-6kg already!!! If what you say is true....then opps.....I am definately guilty of overloading the machine!! Damm.....thanks for the nfo. Should be dry weight bah? My WM is such that you throw in the laundry first, the machine will spin a few rounds (to estimate the weight?) and the required amount of water will show up on the panel, then you add detergent accordingly. Mine can do 8 kilos and when overload will "beep". Edited June 22, 2012 by Count-Bracula Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-LOVE-CARS 1st Gear June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 Tough luck. A normal washing machine can last more than 5 years, the better ones >10 years. I'm suprised that your Electrolux kaput so soon. Did you overload your machines? Do you want top-loader or side-loader? P.S. Neighbourhood shops are at least $50 cheaper and delivery is free. Yes, my neighbour recently brought a 9kg LG Fuzzy Logic Turbo Drum, cost him 400+ compared to courths/HN Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 These shocks are expensive, I bough direct from agent $40-$50+ per piece. On the next replacement, the SPARES person, recommended me tubular shocks used by other European machine, and it lasted for many years till washine machine totally broke down last month. The current Bosch machine still uses the same type of problematic shocks. Main reason I stayed away this time. Thanks. I decide to go with F&P top loading. It still wash as clean as front loading. Only need to clean up the bottom occasionally due to soap scum. It claims with less parts, less things can go wrong. It has a direct drive motor, no belts, but with a pcb controller. Recently, I did replace a water pump. But overall, I'm happy with it. Definitely, no more Bosch for me as long as I live. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 (edited) Thanks. I decide to go with F&P top loading. It still wash as clean as front loading. Only need to clean up the bottom occasionally due to soap scum. It claims with less parts, less things can go wrong. It has a direct drive motor, no belts, but with a pcb controller. Recently, I did replace a water pump. But overall, I'm happy with it. Definitely, no more Bosch for me as long as I live. F&P doesn't have good reviews on Aussie forums. I guess they buy the most F&P stuff other than NZers... Creates a lot of lint according to them. N also not say very reliable. Edited June 22, 2012 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear June 22, 2012 Author Share June 22, 2012 Went into courts.....saw the special discount$499 Midea brand washer. Saw got 1200rpm and also temperature function. (my spoilt Electrolux only 800rpm max) Very basic but enough for my needs. Done deal. Hope this brand can last longer. I will keep the load lower this time to help lengthen the lifespan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 F&P doesn't have good reviews on Aussie forums. I guess they buy the most F&P stuff other than NZers... Creates a lot of lint according to them. N also not say very reliable. Maybe Aussie has something against Kiwis .. Anyway, I didn't find any problem with lint. I did replace a water pump after 7 yrs, so it's still very affordable for me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 22, 2012 Share June 22, 2012 Maybe Aussie has something against Kiwis .. Anyway, I didn't find any problem with lint. I did replace a water pump after 7 yrs, so it's still very affordable for me. maybe the newer models r not so good anymore ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...