City Harvest church founder Kong Hee and 4 others arrested

Mockngbrd

Businessman withdraws allegations about City Harvest Church and singer Ho Yeow Sun, and church prays to forgive him over the weekend

The Straits Times (Singapore), Jan. 27, 2003

The Straits Times

By Samuel Lee

The man who made allegations about City Harvest Church

Good post. Family come first above everything. Parents and kids should be fed well before we contribute or donate to help others.

I came from Church school for both my primary and secondary school. Read a lot of books on christianity since childhood. Went to church many times but the teachings/preaching just cannot convince me. Don't know why and well, now a Buddhist for the past 20 years.

Buddhist is science with mathematics fact. Cause and effect. There is no such things as after you SINNed, you can get away by become Buddhist. You just cannot get away, when the judgement day comes.

Are you a Buddhist? How to derived Buddhist is science with mathematics fact?

I don't believe in SINNed or judgement day anymore.

Karma is what I believe now and to me, Buddhism is a religion and philosophy study to gain enlightenment

Btw, I become Buddhist when I was 18 yrs old.

I did not SINNed or try to get away with anything.

Edited by Mahjong74

May be with Sun Ho became mega pop star (with kinky dressing), she can through her songs :

- Bring everlasting peace to middle east

- Convince EU leaders to unconditionally bailout Greece, Spain, Italy, Portugal etc etc

- Convince our gahmen to let us withdraw CPF $$$ before age 45

Well, through well-meaning songs like CHINA WINE or SUCK BILLY ... she can of cos bring world peace and harmony to the world. Plus, reaching out to the secular world, saving millions of lost souls and bringing them to heaven.

look so different

I read they want to beat Satan at his game with the rap music and all.

Seems like Satan won.

This one I think cannot..bcos u spend days n night worshipping the almighty...no time to think of sex...sex is only for earthly being pleasure...up there u got to be fully focus and worship him.....nothing but him.... down there they told me u will feel very hot...dun believe, jus put ur hand over the burning stove...see how it feels...down there u feel beri hot everyday... burn till ur bone still burning...so u prefer to worship everyday...or u prefer to burn for eternal? [laugh]

Edited by Jamesc

From $127k HDB flat to $9.3m Sentosa Cove penthouse

City Harvest Church founder Kong Hee and his wife first lived in a five-room HDB flat in Tampines when they married in 1992. Today, they live in a $9.3m Sentosa Cove penthouse.

Wed, Jun 27, 2012

AsiaOne

SINGAPORE - How did the Kongs get from a $127,000 HDB flat to a $9.3 million Sentosa Cove penthouse?

Pastor Kong Hee and his family started with a five-room HDB flat in Tampines, which they bought for $127,000.

They later sold it for $420,000, The New Paper reported in 2010.

From there, the Kongs bought a Horizon Towers unit in River Valley. It had a private lift, two living rooms, four bedrooms and a compact kitchen.

The flooring was marble, with a carpeted family area and a walk-in wardrobe which showed off the fashionista side of Ms Ho.

It was done up in a mix of American classic and contemporary styles.

In 2010, they sold this apartment and moved into The Suites at Central on Devonshire. It was reportedly sold to them for $2.6 million.

There was also a $28,000-a-month Hollywood Hills estate which Ms Ho rented while pursuing her career as a singer in the United States.

She stayed there with her son, an assistant, a nanny and some relatives while going about her music career. She shuttled between the US and Singapore.

Today, the Kongs live in a luxury Sentosa Cove penthouse which cost $9.3 million, according to The New Paper.

The 487 sq m apartment is more than four times bigger than their Tampines flat and has an ocean view.

From $127k HDB flat to $9.3m Sentosa Cove penthouse

City Harvest Church founder Kong Hee and his wife first lived in a five-room HDB flat in Tampines when they married in 1992. Today, they live in a $9.3m Sentosa Cove penthouse.

Wed, Jun 27, 2012

AsiaOne

SINGAPORE - How did the Kongs get from a $127,000 HDB flat to a $9.3 million Sentosa Cove penthouse?

Pastor Kong Hee and his family started with a five-room HDB flat in Tampines, which they bought for $127,000.

They later sold it for $420,000, The New Paper reported in 2010.

From there, the Kongs bought a Horizon Towers unit in River Valley. It had a private lift, two living rooms, four bedrooms and a compact kitchen.

The flooring was marble, with a carpeted family area and a walk-in wardrobe which showed off the fashionista side of Ms Ho.

It was done up in a mix of American classic and contemporary styles.

In 2010, they sold this apartment and moved into The Suites at Central on Devonshire. It was reportedly sold to them for $2.6 million.

There was also a $28,000-a-month Hollywood Hills estate which Ms Ho rented while pursuing her career as a singer in the United States.

She stayed there with her son, an assistant, a nanny and some relatives while going about her music career. She shuttled between the US and Singapore.

Today, the Kongs live in a luxury Sentosa Cove penthouse which cost $9.3 million, according to The New Paper.

The 487 sq m apartment is more than four times bigger than their Tampines flat and has an ocean view.

why censor yr posting...quite funny mah... prefering exp women to pure virgins.

Hehe! Didn't want to offend anybody!

Iirc they also opened some wacky bling bling clothing stores which nobody pays attention to. I think all of which folded. I recall the first one open in Great World. Or is it still around?

Ex-CHC member: I donated more than $10,000 to the church in last five years

28 June 2012

Ex-CHC member: I donated more than $10,000 to the church in last five years

Singapore

You still fail to understand what I am trying to say.

I do not set the agenda. I do not want anyone to set the agenda.

Say some guy wins a big sum of money in a casino and comes to church saying he wants to donate it. Do I want to accept it? Just because it is free money from someone that it is justified to accept it? Let's make it worse, it is drug money or money made from illegal prostitution of women and children. The guy just wants to give because he feels a bit guilty but hopefully this washes some of the guilt away making him feel better. Does God actually work this way or is this the only way God works?

These questions I ask is precisely why I am not in CHC. These are the same tough questions asked by members in my church. So is it OK to get someone venture into secular dance music to spread the love of God?

If using my daughters or church going girls to attract guys to church in the hopes of letting them know God is "bridge", then what can stop me from taking the sword or any weapon to convert anyone?

Like God, I'm not looking for converts. I'm not looking for numbers added so that this church becomes big and wealthy through donations and tithes and offerings. I'm looking for committed individuals who take upon the mission that God has charged us with. To restore and re-dignify people.

Christianity is a "free" religion. Everyone stand on equal chance when come to know God. Christian evangelise but do not CONVERT non-believer into christianity. Is ultimately His calling when come the time.

$50,000,000

imagine the money can SAVE and HELP how many helpless people ..... this is sick ... very sick

I need to strike 50 times 1 million toto to attain that figure. [lipsrsealed]

My church documented that to keep one of our missionary teachers in Turkmenistan only required SGD12,000 for a year. 50M can keep her there to continue her work and also setup retirement fund........for her in Turkmenistan and all the rest of missionaries in the various part in this globe from my church and several other churches plus equipment for water purification for those countries that need it and a whole lot more!

If i remember correctly those "adopt" a child program from countries in proverty come with a minimun donation of $20 per month to see that boy/girl thru to uni.

from the length of time needed to prosecute them, newspaper reports

it seems the 5 have already committed a crime and only waiting for how big a sentence they will be getting

strange that an MP would want to defend a "criminal"

what does it tell you

50.6m: Amount of funds misused

The figure was more than twice the one given on Tuesday for the amount of funds allegedly misused by City Harvest Church leaders.

Thu, Jun 28, 2012

my paper

A SHOCKING revelation: The figure was more than twice the one given on Tuesday for the amount of funds allegedly misused by City Harvest Church leaders.

At yesterday's court hearing, deputy public prosecutor Christopher Ong read out a laundry list of misappropriated funds that added up to a staggering $50.6 million.

This dwarfs the $23 million reported after the five were arrested on Tuesday.

Church founder Kong Hee, 47; his deputy, Tan Ye Peng, 39; church board member John Lam Leng Hung, 44; church investment manager Chew Eng Han, 52; and church financial manager Sharon Tan Shao Yuen, 36, looked on impassively as they stood in a row to hear their charges.

The courtroom was packed with Kong's supporters. An area normally cordoned off was opened up to accommodate them. Even so, not all of the 200 who turned up could get in, as a queue snaked outside the room.

The accused acknowledged their supporters by waving, but the mood got grimmer as the charges were read. All five were downcast as a dramatic silence enveloped those present.

The five faced varying charges, which relate to the alleged misuse of $24 million from the church's building fund between 2007 and 2008, largely to fund the music career of Madam Ho Yeow Sun, Kong's wife.

The money was mostly obtained from donations and allegedly used under the guise of investments. A year later, another $26.6 million was allegedly used to cover up the missing $24 million. Hrvest

The charges are falsification of accounts and criminal breach of trust by an agent. The latter refers to abuse of power performed by a person holding a substantial amount of responsibility.

It carries heavier penalties than the lesser charge, criminal breach of trust by a servant.

The real drama, however, ensued after the hearing as the accused and their supporters exited the court.

Kong emerged with wife Ho beside him, their hands clasped tightly together.

Flanked in all directions by about 20 of his supporters who formed a human wall, the couple looked sullen and avoided all eye contact with the media and did not utter a word as they were escorted to a waiting car.

Then things got ugly.

In a scuffle, some people in the crowd started shoving photographers away and hurling insults at cameramen.

According to Shin Min Daily News, many of the supporters appeared peeved and some were spotted crying outside the court.

A videographer argued with a supporter who was waving his hand repeatedly in front of the camera to obstruct the filming of Kong walking out of court.

Peace returned only when all five accused left.

Later at 1pm, Kong posted on his Twitter account, alluding to a Biblical verse: "Why r you down in e dumps dear soul? Why r you crying e blues? Fix my eyes on God...He puts a smile on my face. He's my God."

The five were represented by notable lawyers, including Kong's lawyer, Mr Edwin Tong, who is a partner at Allen & Gledhill and an MP for Moulmein- Kallang GRC; and Senior Counsel Lok Vi Ming, a partner at Rodyk and Davidson who is the lawyer for Chew.

The five accused are out on $500,000 police bail and their passports have been impounded.

They are due to return to court in four weeks' time, on July 25.

For conspiracy to commit criminal breach of trust by agent, they may face life imprisonment if convicted.