Electric cars

Expertz

2 hours ago, Ct3833 said:

My first preference for a MPV is it has to be sliding door for 2nd and 3rd row.

The problem for Model Y 3rd row is rear windscreen too low for ppl taller than 6ft.

@Lethalstrike designing and building an electric MPV is not the issue. You are not getting it. it's the charging. Catering for larger people carriers means quick charging becomes even more essential. And that means DC chargers. Currently it cost about SGD50k to install one. how many of these can you install in a HDB carpark?

Edited by Crazy_turtle

29 minutes ago, Crazy_turtle said:

@Lethalstrike designing and building an electric MPV is not the issue. You are not getting it. it's the charging. Catering for larger people carriers means quick charging becomes even more essential. And that means DC chargers. Currently it cost about SGD50k to install one. how many of these can you install in a HDB carpark?

You might as well say this is going to be an issue for all prospective EV owners, and not just limited to MPVs.

There could be people who just use their MPVs just a few days a week for their family of 7, and there are going to be people who drive their smaller sedan EVs running high mileage everyday, and thus requiring DC fast charging to minimize inconvenience. In this instance, it's no longer about the type of EV vehicle, but it's the usage pattern, no? 

Your actual concerns are range anxieties perceived with EVs and the apparent lack of infrastructure to charge up an EV quickly should one utilize his EV very frequently. Following the latest report that it's going to be 7kW and 22kW chargers at HDBs, DC fast charging infrastructure for the masses isn't looking good. And I would say even the 50kW chargers are considered very slow. 

But, let's not discount the rate in which battery technology is changing today. Range and charging concerns might be minimised in the long run. And being an MPV, its expected that they have more real estate to put in a larger battery pack for higher capacity than the average sedan EV. 

21 hours ago, Crazy_turtle said:

Lack of EV MPV  models is not  a SGP HDB only problem, not every country has HDB contstraints. The fact is there is no EV MPV globally, looks more like the manufacturers target the more popular sedan segment first.

Edited by Ct3833

Practical Singaporeans look for MPVs. Over in California, people there will be asking "Why no convertible EV??"  :grin:

17 minutes ago, Didu said:

Practical Singaporeans look for MPVs. Over in California, people there will be asking "Why no convertible EV??"  :grin:

Similarly ppl in China is looking at MPV.

The biggest EV mkt in the world is China.

Not Cali

p.s. 3rd best selling EV in China is Model Y

Edited by inlinesix

23 hours ago, inlinesix said:

Similarly ppl in China is looking at MPV.

The biggest EV mkt in the world is China.

Not Cali

p.s. 3rd best selling EV in China is Model Y

The biggest market of everything is china, and because of that, they can command unique model like stretched E class that is hardly found elsewhere except there and india, rolls Royse biggest market is also China.

21 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

The biggest market of everything is china, and because of that, they can command unique model like stretched E class that is hardly found elsewhere except there and india, rolls Royse biggest market is also China.

Accordingly, there will not be any "affordable" MPEV until it is popular in China.

2 hours ago, Crazy_turtle said:

@Lethalstrike you just remember what you said here today. by 2030 let's see whether there is gonna be a u turn or you turn out to right. Don't hide behind some poor crap excuse ya. 

Chill man, my comments aren't personal, not sure why you have to take it hard. You've have shares in Exxon Mobil and Shell is it? Or you are early adopter of CNG cars and kanna snooked before? 😂

Else, I don't know why you are so against what is the inevitable. Btw, your EV MPV is here lah...don't say don't have hor. Sheesh...

https://www.mercedes-benz.com/en/eq/eqv/eqv/

6 hours ago, Crazy_turtle said:

@Lethalstrike you just remember what you said here today. by 2030 let's see whether there is gonna be a u turn or you turn out to right. Don't hide behind some poor crap excuse ya. 

We can be serious but there is no need to get so peronal about a discussion in a forum, especially  in MCF.

Edited by Ct3833

On 4/9/2021 at 1:03 PM, Crazy_turtle said:

SPC bids record $92.7m for Bt Batok petrol station site
https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/spc-bids-record-927m-for-bt-batok-petrol-station-site

Don’t underestimate the volume and money that can be made from EV charging. $92.7m can build 1850 DC chargers.  

It is a matter of political will. I think a decision has been made and while  we may not be as generous as Norway govt, it will work in a small city state like SG that is 60km from east to west.  It has been proven to work in Norway if you throw enough money at it. 

3 hours ago, Lethalstrike said:

Chill man, my comments aren't personal, not sure why you have to take it hard. You've have shares in Exxon Mobil and Shell is it? Or you are early adopter of CNG cars and kanna snooked before? 😂

Else, I don't know why you are so against what is the inevitable. Btw, your EV MPV is here lah...don't say don't have hor. Sheesh...

https://www.mercedes-benz.com/en/eq/eqv/eqv/

It is chicken and egg, when the infra is up, the models will come. 

MPV without sliding doors? Benz says no problem. :we-all-gonna-die:

The extended wheelbase will provide more battery storage too.

31977e720bf9cd8430ca481658a271bb.jpg

(Pic shown is not an EV model, but you get the idea.)

Edited by Didu

@Ct3833 your wish is getting nearer, no sliding door though.

2022 VW ID.6

960x0.jpg

960x0.jpg

960x0.jpg

960x0.jpg

Basic Specification

• Ext. Dimensions: 4,891mm (L) x 1,848mm (W) x 1,679mm (H)
  • Overhang: 906mm (F) / 1,020mm (R)
  • Track: 1,587mm (F) / 1,563mm (R)
  • Wheelbase: 2,965mm
  • Approach Angle: 15°
  • Departure Angle: 18°
  • Weight: 2,293Kg
  • Tyre Size: 235/50R20 (F) 265/45R20 (R)  /  234/45R21 (F) 265/40R21 (R) 
  • Max. Horsepower: 150KW / 201 hp
  • Top Speed: 160 Km/h