Electric cars

Expertz

4 hours ago, Jiaksiaoyok said:

@inlinesix I personally think Hybrid car is better then EV for the next 20 years and beyond. Unless Spore garment willing build a 10km air charging strips for EV along major highways like CTE, ECP, KJE, BKE, PIE, MCE, AYE....well, all the "E" if I missed out... by the way, is EV air charge enable like our modern smartphones? 

Personally I think PHEV is the best interim solution until the electrical infrastructure catches up and I do think they need a decade to do so:

-  you can plug-in if you happen to find an available charging point

- if you live landed or around charging points the petrol could go stale and you couldn't care less

- you can still rely on regular petrol stations if all else fails

Why Do Electric Cars Still Use 12-Volt Batteries?

Year by year, lithium-ion battery technology improves, and EV range and performance leap forward. We're now seeing electric pickups trucks with what would've been supercar acceleration not too long ago, a sedan with 520 miles of range, and Hyundais and Kias that use 800-volt charging. And yet, most of the electric cars and PHEVs on the road right now, whatever their range or 0-to-60-mph time, depend on a relic to get moving: a 12-volt battery, usually of the lead-acid variety. Your Tesla Model 3 Performance might have dual motors and the ability to drift, but its lithium traction battery is worthless without the help of a battery you might see lining the shelves at your local O'Reilly's. And if you kill it, you'll be bricked, regardless of how much charge is left in the high-voltage battery.

5ab1f769bdc9fd8099270dade506f7d9

In that photo above, the Bronco is jump-starting the Leaf, not the other way around. Water, water everywhere, but not a drop to drink. Why is that?

There are a couple of reasons. First of all, an electric vehicle has two distinct needs when it comes to dispatching electrons: moving the car and everything else. Propulsion is handled by the big, expensive, latest-and-greatest high-voltage battery, because you need lightning in a bottle if you want to do the quarter-mile in 9.4 seconds. For charging, the more voltage, the better. But powering up the stereo does not require 800 volts. Nor would you want that coursing through every circuit in the car, for a variety of reasons. Safety, for one.

We asked Hyundai's EV engineers why the 12-volt battery persists, and Ryan Miller, manager of electrified powertrain development, responded. "All the ECUs in the vehicle are powered from the low voltage, as well as the power relays that separate power from the high-voltage battery pack and the rest of the high-voltage network in the car," he said. "That separation allows us to safely disconnect the high voltage from the low voltage when the vehicle is not being driven or in the event of a crash." You don't want first responders to contend with door locks powered by Doc Brown's Mr. Fusion.

There's also a legacy situation at play. Everyone—manufacturers and suppliers—knows how to make a 12-volt system work, affordably and reliably. Even if you manage to drain the 12-volt battery, you can break out the ol' jumper cables or Weego and solve the problem in a minute or two. Given all the other financial and technical challenges of building an EV, going with a 12-volt system for the car's computers and accessories makes sense. That's particularly true in the case of plug-in hybrids, which often retain as much commonality as possible with their traditional internal-combustion cousins. The plug-in Ford Escape Hybrid uses a 14.4-kWh battery pack good for 37 miles of EPA-rated range, but the whole thing powers up via an old-school lead-acid 12-volt bolted in the spare-tire well under the rear cargo floor.

4ef64d2acfbd969dd99c423b6c997067

It remains to be seen whether the world adopts some other common voltage—24 volts, or 48—but for now, the 12-volt system reigns. Whether that will always mean a separate battery that would work equally well in a 1968 Chevelle is more of an open question. Hyundai, for instance, considered the absurdity of jump-starting an electric car or hybrid and connected its low-voltage systems to the large traction battery, allowing electrified Hyundais to jump-start themselves when you push the "12V Batt Reset" button on the dash. And while that button conjures an image of your standard AC Delco lead-acid, the low-voltage systems are actually run by a 14-volt lithium-ion battery that sits inside the high-voltage battery pack. You won't find that at the local auto-parts store.

So it's entirely possible that the 12-volt system lives on. But the 12-volt battery itself? That's another question.

2years or so later ppl with EVs will come in and ask why their EV still uses a 12V lead acid battery. They might get locked in/out of their cars when the 12V battery fails.

The reason why it still uses a 12V battery is because small things like the door lock actuators only require a low voltage to activate. As of many parts in your car are made by car parts makers that run on the 12V system. If parts runs on a 350V to 400V as per the car's battery pack it is also a problem for mechanics or DIY ppl cos replacing a light bulb could potentially get electrocuted and might end up dead.

The 12V system might be here to stay. All things man made has its pros and cons. If a low 12V system can cause cause electrical fires imagine a 400V system.

SAF camp also coming on board. CO's Ioniq may have to wait for recruit's Taycan to finish charging first. "Please wait SIR!!"  😁

SAF to install electric vehicle charging stations at Kranji Camp III and Gombak Base

The Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) is planning to install electric vehicle (EV) charging stations at two of its camps for permanent staff and visitors to use, as part of its efforts to go green. In what appears to be a trial, four charging stations will be installed at Kranji Camp III and two at Gombak Base, according to a tender put up by the Ministry of Defence (Mindef) on Jan 10.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/saf-to-install-electric-vehicle-charging-stations-at-kranji-camp-iii-and-gombak-base

On 1/19/2022 at 8:42 PM, Didu said:

SAF camp also coming on board. CO's Ioniq may have to wait for recruit's Taycan to finish charging first. "Please wait SIR!!"  😁

SAF to install electric vehicle charging stations at Kranji Camp III and Gombak Base

The Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) is planning to install electric vehicle (EV) charging stations at two of its camps for permanent staff and visitors to use, as part of its efforts to go green. In what appears to be a trial, four charging stations will be installed at Kranji Camp III and two at Gombak Base, according to a tender put up by the Ministry of Defence (Mindef) on Jan 10.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/saf-to-install-electric-vehicle-charging-stations-at-kranji-camp-iii-and-gombak-base

During the Budget debate in 2021, Mindef pledged to replace the Army's entire administrative vehicle fleet with an all-electric fleet by 2030, and put in place charging infrastructure in camps and bases. The goal is for Mindef and SAF to cut their overall carbon emissions growth by two-thirds by 2030.

Scholars going green because its fashionable for the sake of it only lah. Dealing with defense of a country, do or die situations cut simi lan carbon emissions? Combined carbon emissions from the jet engines of F15, F16, F35 and diesel engines of Leopard 2, Bionix tanks during National Day or routine exercises would have already negated the emissions savings of going full EV for the admin fleet. 

Imagine COA need to rush to meet the Prime Minister to deal with an urgent national crisis on hand, " Sorry sir! Your staff car is still charging up sir! 10% battery won't be enough to see us through to the Prime Minister Office, sir!" KNN. No wonder taxes and defense budget kept going up year after year. 

On 1/22/2022 at 2:42 PM, alphapunk2 said:

i wonder why they chose that instead of fast chargers....

I heard bottleneck is our National power grid, not sure if true.

56 minutes ago, Car1990 said:

I heard bottleneck is our National power grid, not sure if true.

Another major problem is condos needs 90% approval from residents to approve installing of chargers. This is impossible considering how selfish Singaporeans are. “Why should I pay from common fund for something I will not use”

Came across this video from somewhere on the internet... Looks like USA. 

If so many charging bays also have this kind of waiting problem, how will Singapore's EV initiative ever take off if our HDB carparks implement slow chargers, and only implement a fixed/limited % of charging lots? 

3 minutes ago, Comage said:

Came across this video from somewhere on the internet... Looks like USA. 

If so many charging bays also have this kind of waiting problem, how will Singapore's EV initiative ever take off if our HDB carparks implement slow chargers, and only implement a fixed/limited % of charging lots? 

The q is no difference from Petrol Kiosk q at either JB or 2nd Link

😂