Electric cars

Expertz

15 minutes ago, Dleodleo said:

I'm wondering how electric cars survive if we drive in to Malaysia.  Later drive halfway no battery how? 😀😀

Become sitting ducks for the robbers...

• Haha! 7

22 minutes ago, Dleodleo said:

I'm wondering how electric cars survive if we drive in to Malaysia.  Later drive halfway no battery how? 😀😀

Similar to ICE, one has to ensure that there are sufficient juice to reach destination.

Currently MY lack EV charging infra. Need to plan your trip properly.

27 minutes ago, Dleodleo said:

buy 2 cars...one EV to use in SG and one Hybrid to use when travelling up north...[laugh]

31 minutes ago, Freeder said:

Could have use electricity to zap them, but alas battery flat. 

1 hour ago, Freeder said:

Don't worry - with a flat battery, you will be very safe from car jacking! 

Definitely will not be driving EV to M’sia..

All the charging pts there will be Own Time Own target for the robbers...

Once the borders open, sinkies will be devoured mercilessly by those famished robbers...

Even my M’sian colleague advised me to lun for a few months after the borders are open..

2 hours ago, inlinesix said:

Similar to ICE, one has to ensure that there are sufficient juice to reach destination.

Oic.

Very stressful like that.  Only can plan short trip.

2 minutes ago, Dleodleo said:

Oic.

Very stressful like that.  Only can plan short trip.

Battery technology improvement is quite fast nowadays.

In 2010, Nissan Leaf has a 24kwh battery that gives you a 117km range.

In 2021, Nissan Leaf has a 62kwh battery that gives you a 364km range.

2 hours ago, Hamburger said:

Could have use electricity to zap them, but alas battery flat. 

Wah you machiam X-men Storm. Want to zap, just zap.  [laugh]

Q6wsot71AOZ58j8EXeRqUUnJMuvKtccbk3TF5JwU

Foxconn in talks with Vietnam's Vinfast on electric car partnership: Sources

Foxconn has proposed acquiring VinFast's EV production lines, the sources said, speaking on condition of anonymity as they were not authorised to speak to the media. 

The world's largest contract manufacturer and Apple Inc supplier has outlined plans to become a major provider of parts and services in the global EV market and any agreement with VinFast would follow deals with Fiat Chrysler and EV startups.

Its ambitions threaten to shake up the industry, offering Apple and other non-traditional players a shortcut to competing in the vehicle market.

Seeking to provide components or services to 10per cent of the world's electric vehicles as early as 2025, Foxconn has moved quickly to clinch a number of deals. One of its biggest is an agreement with Zhejiang Geely Holding Group to provide contract manufacturing for other automakers.

It has also said it will work with US startup Fisker to produce more than 250,000 vehicles a year beginning in late 2023 and will start building SUVs for China's Byton next year.

With Fiat Chrysler, it is setting up a venture to develop EVs and internet-connected cars.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/business/foxconn-in-talks-with-vietnam-s-vinfast-on-electric-car-14444958

1 hour ago, inlinesix said:

Using your numbers and did simple calculations:

2010 - 4.875 km/KWh

2021 - 5.87 km/KWh

Efficiency improvement of 25%

Do you reckon Leaf is the reference for efficiency?

3 minutes ago, Rm2s said:

Using your numbers and did simple calculations:

2010 - 4.875 km/KWh

2021 - 5.87 km/KWh

Efficiency improvement of 25%

Do you reckon Leaf is the reference for efficiency?

Leaf is a good enough reference point for EV.

Not forgetting that HP has been bumped up from 110hp to 148hp.

Tesla very difficult to compare as the increase in hp is crazy.

2 hours ago, inlinesix said:

I believe, in coming years, the battery will be able to give even higher mileage of 800km, 1000km. And charging time will be greatly reduced too. 

3 minutes ago, Heartbreakid said:

I believe, in coming years, the battery will be able to give even higher mileage of 800km, 1000km. And charging time will be greatly reduced too. 

That’s where solid state battery will excel

1 hour ago, inlinesix said:

That’s where solid state battery will excel

"Powered by the revolutionary Blade Battery, the all-new e6 offers optimised charging that takes only 1.5hrs for a full charge that provides an impressive 522km of range."

The above is the marketing line from BYD 2021's e6.

What's your opinion of BYD's EV in general?

2 minutes ago, Rm2s said:

"Powered by the revolutionary Blade Battery, the all-new e6 offers optimised charging that takes only 1.5hrs for a full charge that provides an impressive 522km of range."

The above is the marketing line from BYD 2021's e6.

What's your opinion of BYD's EV in general?

No idea about BYD

On 3/19/2021 at 1:14 PM, inlinesix said:

Actually I noticed the rnr on NSHW have charging points.  But I dont know if they are universal or not.

Or if working.  Never saw any car actually charging there..

2 hours ago, Philipkee said:

Actually I noticed the rnr on NSHW have charging points.  But I dont know if they are universal or not.

Or if working.  Never saw any car actually charging there..

What you see likely to be within Petronas station