The Perfect Storm of the Stock Market II

18 hours ago, Wt_know said:

tech disruptive control

fintech control

gaming control

online learning control

casino control

everything also control .... jit dong jeng liao!

Likely the most severe will be the outcome of Evergrande. Imagine No2 in China up lorry without CCP intervention. 

10 hours ago, Wt_know said:

hoping T can pump-up sinktel ... sinking too long liao ... muahahahaha

2021-09-17_231312.jpg

Singtel got potential to go above $3 leh. 
I got 100 lots, hor say liao, here comes another solid gold Rolex.  

22 hours ago, Throttle2 said:

The whole market especially asia is in a bit of jitters becos of China.  

I used to cap my China exposure to 30% of my portfolio (although i seldom go above 25%), the recent regulatory changes is giving me second thought, the way the educational and casino stocks in Macau are hammered is just brutal.  

Happy to hear your thoughts if you are ok to share online.

2 hours ago, Voodooman said:

I used to cap my China exposure to 30% of my portfolio (although i seldom go above 25%), the recent regulatory changes is giving me second thought, the way the educational and casino stocks in Macau are hammered is just brutal.  

Happy to hear your thoughts if you are ok to share online.

Yes sure.  
it is no secret that the recipe to China's growth since late 70s into the new millennium was the relaxing of draconian rules suffocating the economy.  The growth has been tremendous since and has brought many out of poverty even into huge wealth.

However the Party has not paced itself well enough to tackle the effects of full on Capitalism.  
Contrast to driving smoothly by accelerating when required and applying brakes well before you hit the wall.   In their case, the accelerator has been full on all the time while the brakes are applied using a sporadic slamming jamming style just before hitting something. 

How smooth can the ride be? We are already lucky that it doesnt crash. 

what happened recently is another brake slamming exercise. Instead of releasing the accelerator and pacing the speed according to safety.  

my China allocation has been 3% to 5% of my entire portfolio and i dont think there is a need to top that.  

there is no right or wrong.  If you are willing to risk more, you should be compensated when it goes your way.

so just need to make sure that sleepless nights or worrisome ponder are worthwhile.  

Ultimately investing for me has never been a way to get rich.  It is a way to preserve and enhance value so that at the end of the day, i can continue to live the life that i envision i can have.     

thats why i never care to go for 10x 20x type of things.   I never go for broke or all in becos i believe that if you go for broke, you will most likely be.  

For young people, it could be different.  Time is on their side. And stakes are not as high. 

Good luck fellas

😁😎

49 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

Yes sure.  
it is no secret that the recipe to China's growth since late 70s into the new millennium was the relaxing of draconian rules suffocating the economy.  The growth has been tremendous since and has brought many out of poverty even into huge wealth.

However the Party has not paced itself well enough to tackle the effects of full on Capitalism.  
Contrast to driving smoothly by accelerating when required and applying brakes well before you hit the wall.   In their case, the accelerator has been full on all the time while the brakes are applied using a sporadic slamming jamming style just before hitting something. 

How smooth can the ride be? We are already lucky that it doesnt crash. 

what happened recently is another brake slamming exercise. Instead of releasing the accelerator and pacing the speed according to safety.  

my China allocation has been 3% to 5% of my entire portfolio and i dont think there is a need to top that.  

there is no right or wrong.  If you are willing to risk more, you should be compensated when it goes your way.

so just need to make sure that sleepless nights or worrisome ponder are worthwhile.  

Ultimately investing for me has never been a way to get rich.  It is a way to preserve and enhance value so that at the end of the day, i can continue to live the life that i envision i can have.     

thats why i never care to go for 10x 20x type of things.   I never go for broke or all in becos i believe that if you go for broke, you will most likely be.  

For young people, it could be different.  Time is on their side. And stakes are not as high. 

Good luck fellas

😁😎

Wah, I was thinking of dialing it down to 15% over the next few years (at circa 20% now) as China is just too big to ignore and you are at not more than 5%.  But I have made more money in Chinese equities than SG's in recent years. 

I am not looking to multi-bag my portfolio, slow and steady is good. I only need 5%.  Hence I usually buy blue chips, ETF or diversified funds only. 

Thanks for sharing. 

53 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

Wah, I was thinking of dialing it down to 15% over the next few years (at circa 20% now) as China is just too big to ignore and you are at not more than 5%.  But I have made more money in Chinese equities than SG's in recent years. 

I am not looking to multi-bag my portfolio, slow and steady is good. I only need 5%.  Hence I usually buy blue chips, ETF or diversified funds only. 

Thanks for sharing. 

The fact that you have made more in Chinese Equities than SG it is good that you have a higher allocation.  I too believe that China is too big to ignore.  But i didnt go in during the good old days so i dont want to go in during current times.

SG equities is homeground especially in terms of currency exposure so about 25% to 30% of my entire portfolio.  i have more in global names, US, Europe.  Probably 50%.  Currency exposure in USD and EUR GBP is hedged to SGD.

As for Cash, i see it differently.  It is held outside the portfolio and not considered part of the portfolio until i use it to invest into somethinGi would agree i am still holding too much cash, but i just dont want to invest for the sake of it.  
So slowly slowly.  Who knows, maybe buy a D9-10 condo if it starts making sense.  But very unlikely.

Anyway, its a Good “Problem” so wont kick myself for it.

All in All, 5%pa does it for me as well.   
anything else is a bonus.  Debt free since 2013
And dont have overly ambitious goals in life.

everyone’s goals in life is different.  There could be some similar ones but still it is different as our thumbprint.

all the best fellas

🙏🙏🙏

Edited by Throttle2

Mon open can buy .... super low PE cum high YIELD ... :a-bang:

chinese stocks sure kena .... Ping An also not so ping an liao ... .... [bigcry]  .... [sweatdrop] 

2021-09-19_155835.jpg

2021-09-19_155919.jpg

35 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

Mon open can buy .... super low PE cum high YIELD ... :a-bang:

chinese stocks sure kena .... Ping An also not so ping an liao ... .... [bigcry]  .... [sweatdrop] 

2021-09-19_155835.jpg

2021-09-19_155919.jpg

Won't it be better to buy the bond, trading at 32cts and it ranks above equity holders? 

But i have no appetite. 

12 hours ago, Wt_know said:

fake news la! ..... where are all the "altruistic" gurus .... :grin:

2021-09-19_090642.jpg

2021-09-19_090420.jpg

$80k only? 
sup sup suey lah.  
Ask Weez911, his watch how much already.

With the recent clamp down by CCP, where are the hot money escaping/heading to now?

Which are the  sectors/areas to focus on for the coming months/year?

3 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

alamak ... most of my counters profits have been wiped out .... 

but STI still sibei strong leh 

means what ar? all my counters beh gan? [bigcry] 

MLT woohoo

Areit woohoo

StEng very firm

SS very firm

ES3 very firm

why you buay gan?? 

only HStech chwui, but that one whole market chwui.boh pian.

6 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

MLT woohoo

Areit woohoo

StEng very firm

SS very firm

ES3 very firm

why you buay gan?? 

only HStech chwui, but that one whole market chwui.boh pian.

SCI also cui from $2 ... paper profits all wipe out ... [bigcry] 

• Sad 1