The Perfect Storm of the Stock Market II

13 minutes ago, Freeder said:

Based on your logic, so keep how many % of cash would be best?

I don’t go by %.

Enough for expenses to last half year. Maybe another higher yield liquid account for half year. The rest should be in property and equities. Personally I don’t buy bonds or trusts but up to each to allocate.

Those >90% in cash especially low interest savings should really reconsider their strategy. My wife is one of them but she has wised up after my years of nagging.

3 minutes ago, Showster said:

I don’t go by %.

Enough for expenses to last half year. Maybe another higher yield liquid account for half year. The rest should be in property and equities. Personally I don’t buy bonds or trusts but up to each to allocate.

Those >90% in cash especially low interest savings should really reconsider their strategy. My wife is one of them but she has wised up after my years of nagging.

Some folks with majority cash in FD will say, look at so many sitting on paper losses or having actual losses this year. Their deposits still intact and still better off overall .

They do have a point.

10 hours ago, Myxilplix said:

I went early april and exited end of april. Mid May went in another batch, let's see how far this hype train runs before i get off. US market also went in and exited and now went in again with some longer-term stuff but only 25% of my funds are allocated for US. No FOMO lah, there's never a perfect time to sell unless you're a sniper and can call the tops.

For now it's a crazy world so i just try and take profit first and talk later. Maybe end of this year then sit down and see how to rebalance for longer term. Anyway both US and SG accounts also i'm reserving 40% in cash as planned, if market doesn't correct also no need to FOMO.

Can enlighten what is FOMO? Thanks

21 minutes ago, car50 said:

Some folks with majority cash in FD will say, look at so many sitting on paper losses or having actual losses this year. Their deposits still intact and still better off overall .

They do have a point.

True also especially those who trade based on emotions.

But certainly if they adopt also opportunistic stances during crises, they would really have earned much more.

The way going forward will be really uncomfortable for everyone...

43 minutes ago, car50 said:

Can enlighten what is FOMO? Thanks

Yeah it's Fear Of Missing Out.

When i daytrade i consider FOMO to be the most dangerous enemy. It makes you think irrationally, break your rules and most of the time will come around to bite you in the ass. I still fall victim to it sometimes but it makes it easier to let go/take profit when i'm dealing with equities.

wah... crisis time all traders here 

anyone trying to build a portfolio so as to generate some decent retirement income instead?

😬😅

18 minutes ago, Myxilplix said:

Yeah it's Fear Of Missing Out.

When i daytrade i consider FOMO to be the most dangerous enemy. It makes you think irrationally, break your rules and most of the time will come around to bite you in the ass. I still fall victim to it sometimes but it makes it easier to let go/take profit when i'm dealing with equities.

Agreed.. As a day trader for the FOMO I always buy high and hope it goes higher.. Most time I am the last man standing when everyone exited! whahahahahahaha.. my journal showed that when DOW green my P&L RED.. 

So now when DOW green or VERY Green i don trade.. so I not been trading for awhile last week! whahahahahahaha..

This FOMO not easy to control.. the ship really leave the port and never back? will the next ship come? What if I don't take this ship and others already reach their destination? sigh..

23 minutes ago, Enye said:

anyone trying to build a portfolio so as to generate some decent retirement income instead?

😬😅

My passive income is 5 figure per month leh, what talking you?

17 minutes ago, Ody_2004 said:

Agreed.. As a day trader for the FOMO I always buy high and hope it goes higher.. Most time I am the last man standing when everyone exited! whahahahahahaha.. my journal showed that when DOW green my P&L RED.. 

So now when DOW green or VERY Green i don trade.. so I not been trading for awhile last week! whahahahahahaha..

This FOMO not easy to control.. the ship really leave the port and never back? will the next ship come? What if I don't take this ship and others already reach their destination? sigh..

Wah, you better stop trading bro... 

to trade well, you must lead the flow or at least not be at the tailend of it.

Edited by Throttle2

2 hours ago, Enye said:

😬😅

Building a portfolio yes but no income theme now. Too young for retirement and still can earn money. I believe in accumulating at my stage. 

but it’s still for retirement la 

20years later then maybe change to more defensive or income theme 

maybe la dunno 

1 hour ago, Throttle2 said:

Wah, you better stop trading bro... 

to trade well, you must lead the flow or at least not be at the tailend of it.

I would love to lead the flow BUT how? 😂

2 hours ago, Enye said:

😬😅

Got lah, my SG portfolio for retirement because the dividends more attractive.  But there is always a danger of a Hyflux, Noble, SIA happening. 

US i invest for capital gain.  Just remember guys US estate duty is very gao lat for aliens like us. 

3 hours ago, Enye said:

😬😅

Those capitalising on short term benefits, trade. Long term dominance, park in portfolio.

5 hours ago, Ody_2004 said:

If you're day trading there will always be other entries, just need to be patient. No good entry (according to your plan) then don't trade lor, better to not trade than to donate money to other people's account. Missed an entry by 10 seconds because you were looking elsewhere? Forget it, wait for next one. Missed an entry because of hesitation? Forget it, wait for the next one. The market will always be there, doing whatever it does.

I've also been caught as the last man standing many times but each time is a lesson learnt or a reminder of my weaknesses, and it usually comes back to FOMO. 

36 minutes ago, Angcheek said:

Market so irrational  ... you eat my money , i eat your money . 😄🍻🍻🍻

stock market is the biggest casino

no need to pay $100 entrance fees

but very expensive tuition fees ... lol