Car camera recommendation

Pelican

My review of the Corvit IROAD V7 Wi-fi Car DVR (Part 1 of 3: Unpacking)

Since the details of the product and contents of the box can be found at http://corvit.sg/wordpress/?product=1-iroad-v7-wi-fi, therefore, I will only share my user experience from unpacking, installing and using the product.

I got 3 items, the Corvit IROAD V7 Wi-fi, the Wi-Fi dongle and the IROAD car accessory, which allows me to tap the car battery.

20141112_093530-1.jpg

The 3 items

The IROAD V7 comes neatly organised in a box which contains everything you need for immediate installation.

ffc6e097-7edb-4487-82bc-7563c16f9b7d.jpg

7f2d2ec1-3996-46f2-9f3b-4b78620c8606.jpg

The IROAD V7 Wi-Fi and its contents

The top layer of the box contains the front and rear view camera together with the micro SD card, which are all carefully packed in sponge to prevent any handling damage which in transition.

The bottom layer contains the cigar power jack, rear camera cable and front transparent cradle along with 2 spare double-sided tapes.

a36d5a9f-1048-4963-96e2-49c66c961cb3.jpg

01160b30-dc81-49ef-86e8-a6bbbf4424b0.jpg

The cables, cradle and spare tapes

efdb6d03-ab38-4ce1-9985-c4ec9fcbc69c.jpg

The car accessory to tap the car battery

20141112_094732-1.jpg

The Wi-Fi dongle

My review of the Corvit IROAD V7 Wi-fi Car DVR (Part 2 of 3: Installing)

Since I already have experience using a Car DVR, installing the Corvit IROAD V7 Wi-fi was easy as there were very few things to attach.

As I installed it myself in my HDB multi-storey carpark where lighting isn’t the best, I will not include step by step photos on how I physically installed the DVR into my car. Instead, I will provide a youtube link https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8LJph42KHd8. It’s a little long but you can scroll to fast-forward.

I basically took about 45 minutes doing it as it was a ‘one-man show’ and I had to readjust the wiring and camera angle a few times because I wanted the wires to be nice and taut.

Upon switching on the car DVR and connecting it via WI-Fi to my smartphone for the first time, I was greeted by this screen.

Slide1.jpg

Registration Screen

Slide2.jpg

Home Screen

Screenshot_2014-11-12-14-01-20-1.png

Setup page (System1) – where you can adjust the resolution option

Screenshot_2014-11-14-07-25-40.png

Setup page (System2) – where you can control the audio, time zone and rebooting functions

Screenshot_2014-11-14-07-25-26.png

Setup page (Event) – where you can choose the event function on how you want the DVR to record

Screenshot_2014-11-14-07-25-29.png

Setup page (LBP) – to control the power off if the DVR is tapping your car battery

Screenshot_2014-11-14-07-26-03.png

Setup page (Info/Save) – the DVR info and save options page

The PC setup was very easy too. The Micro SD card had ‘setup’ file, which upon clicking, will open the setup wizard which will guide you to install the software.

I’ll post the images below to show you how easy it is.

Slide3.jpg

Slide4.jpg

Slide5.jpg

In 3 easy steps and you are ready to view your saved videos on your PC

Below, I will post a few photos of me using the software for the first time after installing it.

Slide6.jpg

Slide8.jpg

Slide9.jpg

Slide7.jpg

As you can see, by simply trying the different buttons, you can quickly learn how to use the software like me for the very first time. You can choose front view, rear view and split screen.

I will also post images on how I saved the video onto my PC.

Slide11.jpg

Slide12.jpg

Presentation1.jpg

Slide14.jpg

Slide15.jpg

My review of the Corvit IROAD V7 Wi-fi Car DVR (Part 3 of 3: Using the product)

In this post, I will post some pictures and video youtube links of my DVR recordings as well as do a full review of my entire user experience of unpacking, installing and using the product.

Day_01_front_pic.jpg

Day picture with the front view camera

Day_01_rear_pic.jpg

Day picture with the rear view camera

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M_gcsff5h64

Day front video recording

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wcAlpB9UMYY

Day rear video recording

Rain_day_01_front_pic.jpg

Day raining picture with the front view camera

Rain_day_01_rear_pic.jpg

Day raining picture with the rear view camera

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r0PUi2gNPR4

Day raining front view video recording

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4g_FObV4_cM

Day raining rear view video recording

Night_pic_front_01_front.jpg

Night picture with front view camera

Night_pic_front_01_rear.jpg

Night picture with rear view camera

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1nuFH0DiN84

Night front view video recording

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BYt1Ye182Ec

Night rear view video recording

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gxkJB-me5F0

Carpark front view video recording

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L5_I5jjsgPI

Carpark rear view video recording

My Overall Evaluation

Unpacking: 10/10, as it is very well packed, organised and easy to unpack.

Installing: 9/10, easy to install, but the front cigar power cable is a bit short, so I cannot properly align it along my car grooves to conceal it so it’s sticking out under my steering wheel and into my glove compartment where my car cigar lighter is. I should also say that this will differ from car to car, depending on the model and where the cigar lighter is located.

I intend to buy a long USB cable to replace the cigar lighter instead or purchase an 7.5m B8-Power Cable(cigar jack) (S$18) from Corvit.sg. I’ll see how it goes, as it’s only my first week using this device.

Using the product: 9/10, why not full marks as I’m still getting used to it. My previous car DVR, a Marbella MX5 HD Recorder has a screen, so I can easily view things on it, however for the IROAD 7, it does not and you have to sync it with your smartphone via Wi-Fi.

I guess there are pros and cons to this as many top range car DVRs do not have a screen and requires a smartphone for Wi-Fi link. However, for non-techies like my dad, syncing it to a smartphone may be a hassle, even though it’s very easy and intuitive for us late Gen X, Gen Y users.

After turning on the ignition of the car, the DVR will start recording after a few seconds and a voice guidance will inform you of that.

Personally, the voice guidance is sufficient enough for me and I do not need a screen as it will make the DVR bulkier. I’m also not too sure, how the screen will hold up under Singapore’s hot sun as my Marbella MX5 HD Recorder has malfunctioned after a year and resetting it doesn't help as the screen will turn blue. I checked with a Marbella sale promoter at one of the IT shows and he said that after a year, there’s no warranty and kind of hinted I am better off getting a new one since the MX5 is about a hundred.

I hope the IROAD doesn't go down the same road in a year’s time too [:p]

Overall Experience: 9/10, as it’s only been 1 week, but so far, the recording, playback on my smartphone and PC has been very good. It definitely looks more sleek and has more functions than my previous Marbella MX5.

As mine is a trial set, I did not get a workshop to tap my car battery to use the parking mode, but if all goes well with the trial, I will gladly continue using the IROAD 7 and post a review of the parking mode in time to come.

IROAD V7 Wi-Fi In-Car-Camera Review

One day, I chanced upon an opportunity, which allowed me to review a brand new product. It is designed and manufactured in Korea.

To know more on the product, you may refer to its official web site, IROAD V7.

As follows are some of the observations that I have made throughout my user experience.

IROAD V7 unboxing process (First impressions)

03pic3_zpsa1aa01da.jpg

04pic4_zps1de09bcd.jpg

Opening the box, you can see the front camera (the camera at the bottom) and the rear camera (the camera at the top) and the microSD card (the translucent plastic container). This is a 2-channel in-car camera kit.

05pic5_zps8a614260.jpg

Underneath the foam comes the challenging part. Wow, so many wiring, seems complicated at this point

06pic6_zps0f40e1b5.jpg

The kit comes with

· front/rear cameras

· a 16GB microSD memory card and adaptor

· a “transparent cradle” for front camera

· a wifi dongle

· an IROAD V7 quick guide

· 3 sets of wires

After holding the camera examining it, it felt very light but the material of the body seemed low quality in my opinion.

08pic8_zps0b86e59c.jpg

Installation Process

There is no user manual to guide you through the installation. The quick guide provided only guides you in setting up the mobile application (will be explained in more details later) and the PC viewer which you will need to for backing up your videos.

But no worries in regards to that as I understand, you can request for them to install for you. They can directly connect the cameras to your car battery and at least it wont look as ugly as how I have done it.

Now, back to installing the IROAD V7… find a better helper to assist in setting it up in the car if you are the hopeless one…like me. I called for help.

10pic10_zpsd95007cf.jpg

Great that it comes with free 16GB microSD card which is to be installed into the camera. The maximum capacity of external storage is at 64GB.

12pic12_zps2e333f28.jpg

Next, plug in the “Wi-Fi USB dongle,” which allows user to be connected to Wi-Fi, users are able to watch live screen/saved recordings and change settings through the IROAD app.

13pic13_zps2369086f.jpg

Next, connect one end of the power jack into the front camera.

14pic14_zps4a5a35ea.jpg

Next, connect the other end of the power jack into the socket source.

The front camera comes with a “transparent cradle” that helps to holds the camera and allows easy mounting to the windscreen through the red tape.

17pic17_zpsa1d3e73d.jpg

The red tape acts like a double-sided tape and it is indeed very sticky and took me a long time to tear it away.

18pic18_zpse67c2e36.jpg

Subsequently, I also tear the sticker for the rear camera and get ready for mounting.

I uncoiled the “rear camera cable” and connect each end of the cable to both the front and rear camera respectively.

21pic21_zps54b02c3e.jpg

22pic22_zpsb8360e78.jpg

This was taken from inside the car after mounting the front camera to the windscreen. It is easier to have two people installing the device if you are DIY-ing, so that one person can help to see the adjustment of the camera.

A point to note, once you finished installing, use a coin and try to screw and tighten the nut at the side of the cradle after you adjusted the angle of the camera to your liking.

Why is there no viewing screen on the front camera? How would I know if it is switched on, connected and functioning correctly????

So you need the IROAD mobile app.

23pic23_zpsb63573c7.jpg

While my right-hand man was mounting all the cameras, I proceed to install the IROAD app from the “Play” store (since I am an android user). Similar app is available for Apple user too.

24pic24_zps033648f6.jpg

25pic25_zps065ec13e.jpg

26_zps9a06278b.jpg

Press this button on the back of the camera and the app will then prompt you to the next screen.

27_zpsfe16aa83.jpg

28_zps54fcd5a8.jpg

29_zpsee0b463d.jpg

Once registration is complete, there will be a screen for you to select “connect.” Within less than a minute, my mobile was projecting the images captured from my front camera.

32_zps01e75cc2.jpg

A screenshot of how the app looks like on your mobile. You can take screenshots. You can also switch easily between the front and rear view cameras. User-friendly! I give the app a thumbs-up!!!

The device will prompt me that it is recording the moment that the car is ignited. So, it is an additional option for user to choose to be connected to the app to get real time video-ing or they can chose to have a device that does the recording without having a screen that might distract you while you are driving.

Recording Review

IROAD viewer software for PC can be found in the microSD card which comes with the in-car camera. After setting up the viewer, I can view my recordings in the microSD card and save as the format I need for backup.

34_zps6c39cc73.jpg

The image above shows the view from the PC viewer. I saved the videos I want using the backup button. This application is user friendly and easy to use. Didn’t take me too long to figure out how to view front camera view, rear camera view and saving the videos into avi format for backup in my PC. Again, very user-friendly.

Day time recording – Front camera, 30fps

http://youtu.be/3swnjqxL7QE

Day time recording – Rear camera, 30fps

http://youtu.be/Ul_xZkFry3k

Day time recording – Front camera, raining, 30fps

http://youtu.be/CI9JBoqarkM

Day time recording – Rear camera, raining, 30fps

http://youtu.be/y56WBjc_bBs

Day time recording in the tunnel – Front camera, 30fps

http://youtu.be/CGy45DVcdYQ

Day time recording in the tunnel – Rear camera, 30fps

http://youtu.be/QTviXA4E9vQ

Both recordings from front and rear cameras were very clear in the day. You can make out the car number plate easily. I really like the wide angle of the cameras, it gives a good coverage. In low light situation in the tunnel, the videos were less clear.

Night time recording – Front camera, 30fps

http://youtu.be/GoPGEtZ79GQ

Night time recording – Rear camera, 30fps

http://youtu.be/e8Q3VPtTR14

I expected the night recordings to be clearer than what I have based on their website. It was a bit disappointing. I will not be able to make out number plates but still able to see images, just grainer.

In the videos, you can see the date and time stamp, which is absolutely important when you want to use your videos as evidence.

Conclusions

The front camera is not the sleekest of design when compared to Pittasoft Black vue or Itronics in-car cameras. However, it still hides well behind my rear view mirror. The size did not affect me too much after a while. Most importantly it serves the purpose of video recording on the road.

It took me almost 30mins to install the whole set-up without a step by step installation guide. I will prefer a guide as I'm not tech savy but for those out there, if you have difficulties, I've all the steps out for you in this review.

Comparing the features and specs, it’s comparable to Black vue HD DR530W-2CH. However, the IROAD V7 has a wider lens angle of 137°, the Black vue HD DR530W-2CH has a lens angle of 128° Also, the IROAD V7 supports up to 64GB memory card while the Black vue HD DR530W-2CH only supports up to 32GB.

In the day the video quality is very good not losing out to other favored brands but in low light situations the video resolution will not be HD quality.

The whole interface is very user-friendly. The mobile IROAD app and the PC viewer are really easy to use.

One thing that worries me is that the device gets heated up very fast. This links me back to my first observation on the device material (which I feel is of low quality). Whether or not the material will sustain the heat of Singapore, I guess only time can tells, which at this point, I can’t comment much.

But overall, I still enjoyed the experience I had with IROAD V7 in this past week. With these 2-channel cameras in the car, I felt safer on the road already.

My overall rating is 8/10.

iRoad V7

n_v7_1_3_zps7159de90.jpg

In-car cameras are the vogue now for any vehicle on the road. It seems a misnomer to term it as in-car when it’s commonly used not just in cars nowadays but their class 4 and 5 cousins as well. What is classified as an accessory is probably a necessity nowadays and videos of accidents and near-misses often go viral online in a matter of hours. Such cameras offer valuable video evidence in cases involving accidents and disputes, which is more than sufficient to justify investing in a reasonably good unit with above average video quality.
The iRoad V7 was recently launched last month. It replaces the previous flagship 3300 CH with significant improvements over the latter. One of the most noticeable change is the video quality which is much improved with a 2.3 megapixel CMOS sensor and HD 1280×720 / 30fps quality in both front and rear cameras. Compared to its predecessor, the new V7 comes with improved 132-degree wide lens which provide clearer video quality and a more powerful A20 dual core CPU. Not the best in the market but nonetheless still an improvement.

Bucking the trend of the cylindrical design, the V7 has taken on the conventional rectangular form. The front has a glossy surface which is a fingerprint magnet; not so much a problem as it would rarely be handled and the back surface is matte which gives the whole unit a rather sophisticated feel.

iroad_zps9261f88f.jpg

The rear camera remains a small cylindrical form able to rotate 360 degrees.

iroadrear_zps7f85a5b6.jpg

Unpacking:

622c2934-390b-4902-9afd-261f3eb1cd82_zps

What you get out of the box:

unpack2_zps801ff02c.jpg

Clockwise from left:

1. Wireless USB dongle

2. 16 GB micro SD card

3. Rear Camera

4. Front Camera

5. Cigarette Charger

6. Uninterrupted fuse cable

7. Front and rear USB cable

Also included were transparent cradles and spare double sided tapes.

Setting up was a breeze, simply attach the wires, plug in the cigarette socket and you’re good to go. If you are a neat freak, go to a car audio workshop for hassle free installation and concealment of the wires for a small fee.

Front Cam mounted

2014-11-16230753_zps62531f0e.jpg

Rear Cam

2014-11-16230654_zps83c937bd.jpg

From unpacking to actual utilisation, it took me about 30 minutes. Once powered up, you hear the voice guidance which ensures that the unit was working and when the unit started recording along with alerts during impact when you turn on the particular mode. There are the usual 3 recording modes:

Normal Recording- Uninterrupted recording is initiated once the engine is turned on.

Impact Recording- Recording initiated when the impact sensor detects any impact.

Motion Recording- Parking mode is initiated when a car is stationary for 10 minutes and return to driving mode once the car is on the move. Select motion detection on the settings if you want to record only when motion is detected while parking

Examples of front/ rear recordings from a variety of different driving environments

Daytime on the road

day1_zps9e33fb85.png

day2_zpsf64957a2.png

Daytime with rain

rain1_zpsb587e51e.png

rain2_zpse58f003d.png

Night driving

night1_zpsd8983b9f.png

Links to some videos:

Daytime Driving: http://youtu.be/GI3mto9SLrg (front), http://youtu.be/EGKbNWhwSPU (rear)

Night Driving: http://youtu.be/WwJuUAztYD8 (front), http://youtu.be/ITKWFJ-I75A (rear)

Raing Driving: http://youtu.be/Eyd2dVSU_Xs (front), http://youtu.be/EecGfGqCtPM (rear)

A 16 GB micro SD card was supplied although the unit can support up to 64 GB. Live recordings can be viewed wirelessly via a smartphone app with internet connectivity. There is no need to remove the memory card or for an in-built LCD screen to watch the recorded video. The iRoad app allows easy viewing of images via your smartphone and is available on both Android and IOS platforms. Firmware upgrades are automatically done via Wifi.

Screenshots from my Android phone during Setup:

2014-11-18180802_zps17a4f7b9.png

2014-11-18181125_zpsa72ca65f.png

PC setup was just as easy. The micro SD card contained the installation file. Simply plug in and run .exe file. The dedicated PC viewer has plenty of functions which enable you to draw traffic lanes onto the videos, calibrate night recordings, play back video recordings in various forms.

Full Specifications

http://corvit.sg/wordpress/?product=1-iroad-v7-wi-fi

The in car camera market is crowded with many models and one would be spoilt for choice.

Having gone through the spectrum of cheap China made ones costing less than $50 bucks, intermediate range (Marbella MX5), it was my first time using a rear camera. Daytime video quality was satisfactory while night quality was a tad below expectations. Still, the iRoad V7 at the current list price of $329 is value for money for a front/rear bundle compared to other similar offerings made in Korea. Corvit International will be appearing at booth 5E46 in SITEX 2014 happening at Expo from 27 – 30 November 2014. Look out for promotional pricing and for purchases made during the exhibition period, skilled Corvit technicians from Korea will be available on-site to install the car cameras.

Evaluation

Design: 8/10. I still prefer the cylindrical design for the smaller footprint

Specs: 8/10 it’s not exactly full HD resolution.

Installation: 9/10. Easy to set up

Ease of use: 9/10. Wi-Fi function which can control just about everything has user friendly interface

Video Quality: 7/10. Disappointed with night video quality especially from the rear cam.

Overall Experience: 8/10. Would consider this as a serious alternative over more expensive made in Korea competitors

I am currently using the Blackvue DR650GW-2CH in my car. However, the GPS seems to be off after 1-2 days of installation. I tried to turn the device off and on again but the GPS light does not come on. Does anyone have this issue and how can I get the GPS running again?

I seem to have some problems with the WIFI connectivity (cam sayz "no WIFI dongle...") after a couple weeks of usage.

On occasions after I reboot or reconnect the power cable, the cam can connect to the WIFI dongle, but sometimes, it just doesnt connect and therefore, I was unable to connect my phone to the cam inside the car.

I am not sure if it is the WIFI dongle which is the problem or the Cam WIFI USD port.

Any ideas on resolving this?

Can check with you guys.

For image sensor which is better

Some car recorders has a built in Sony Exmor Cmos sensor

Some has HD Cmos sensor.

Are they the same or which is better?

Looking at car recorders, which is more important? The image sensor (how many pixel) or the resolution eg: 1980 X 1080 or 1280 X 720

Im looking either at Iroad defender, Iroad T35 or the Marbella QB 6?

Please help

I kena banned behind before so I definitely opt for the front and back system.

Marbella QB6 is serving me well so far and the footage is very very clear.

The back camera detects motion movement too and that's the reason I choose them.

My 2 cents input

Can check with you guys.

For image sensor which is better

Some car recorders has a built in Sony Exmor Cmos sensor

Some has HD Cmos sensor.

Are they the same or which is better?

Looking at car recorders, which is more important? The image sensor (how many pixel) or the resolution eg: 1980 X 1080 or 1280 X 720

Im looking either at Iroad defender, Iroad T35 or the Marbella QB 6?

Please help

I kena banned behind before so I definitely opt for the front and back system.

Marbella QB6 is serving me well so far and the footage is very very clear.

The back camera detects motion movement too and that's the reason I choose them.

My 2 cents input

Is Marbella QB6 the latest? Does it have parking mode using the extra power pack like Blackvue?? Where do you install it?

Hi guys

I am looking for a new in-car camera front and back. Went to Sitex and found the 4 brands:

1. Thinkware

2. In-road

3. Mabella

4. Blackvue

Any suggestion or comments?

sitex now having marbella qb6 promo at $299 with some freebies thrown in.

my sis asked whether got those battery pack so can run 24/7, the salesperson qouted additional $300 including installation.

$300?!!

really meh?

Hi guys

I am looking for a new in-car camera front and back. Went to Sitex and found the 4 brands:

1. Thinkware

2. In-road

3. Mabella

4. Blackvue

Any suggestion or comments?

hi there

just bot i-road v7, installin by myself. based on 2ch HD specs at 199, i think worth to give it a try. install is 50 by their korean tech. free wifi dongle, phone stand.

more info here - http://corvit.sg/wordpress/?product=1-iroad-v7-wi-fi