Car camera recommendation

Pelican

As a headcam, giving a 4K POV of what the driver is seeing. Have you seen 1080p file downsample from 4K? License plate going to come out very very clear. Only thing not sure now is the performance at night.

It maybe USD 600, but it will be priceless in an accident.

To be frank, to me the 4K is overkill now, esp for the US$600? price (as first mover product)...also, this camera has to be tethered to the recorder by a short cable, so installation wise also need to plan carefully (by headcam i presume you're referring to it as the front facing cam on the windscreen right?).... at 4k , the fps is 25, so the 1080P resolution is better as its at 50fps.. But hey, to each his own la... [:)]

http://gizmodo.com/panasonic-has-the-worlds-first-4k-action-camera-and-it-1550246765

The "normal" 1080P car cams like the US$60 G1W in daylight is very good. can see clearly at least 2 car length ahead and with wide angle of 140 degrees, fps 30.. only the night scene not good bec the current chipset cannot show moving objects in sharp details on the sides, but in front still sharp bec of WDR...

anyway, hope you can post the first 4k car cam videos for us to enjoy bro... thanks in advance... [thumbsup]

Just get G1W and install for $30. All in for $100. Dun need to sweat it... FYI, G1W holds up well under the hot sun

where to get/install this?

I saw one of the tech review there is discreet black version and quite a few fakes too.

bought mine from aliexpress.

Used the link from dashcamtalk. so that won't have fake seller.

bro, look here http://dashcamtalk.com/g1w/ for the reviews and online sites to buy... it also lists the fake set sellers too...

For installation, goto Soon Lee at Geylang Lor 39 I tink.. its along the main geylang road... they install at $30, ask them to tap to fuse n run the wires in the a pillars....

Edited by Lurpsexx

bro, look here http://dashcamtalk.com/g1w/ for the reviews and online sites to buy... it also lists the fake set sellers too...

For installation, goto Soon Lee at Geylang Lor 39 I tink.. its along the main geylang road... they install at $30, ask them to tap to fuse n run the wires in the a pillars....

nice, I just bought one

Is therea majority view that a specific camera is the best value for money on the market at the moment.

Not necassarily the cheapest but the best value for money.

I continually read on threads that this is good or cheap but then others state they think another is better etc etc.

Maybe a poll would help???

1. Can any front cam w/o viewing screen be installed onto a mobile media station (MMS), model W502E for viewing? The camera port on the MMS is meant for rear parking camera purpose.
  2. I intend to use power bank to power the cam, does this complicate the installation?
  3. What specification do I look out for in a powerbank which can support the cam? Say for a duration of min. 16 hours. Capacity in mah and output voltage only? Any special connection required between powerbank to cam?

Appreciate advice from anyone with such a setup.

Where can I buy the G1W?

I am interested.

My previous post:

Recently considered many mid-range, high-range and eventually got this low-range:

http://list.qoo10.sg/item/1080P-FULLHD-CAR-RECORDER-CAR-CAMERA/413124529?selectedOptions=

T650 (+$10 to listed $60).

Review can be read from here:

http://dashcamtalk.com/g1w/

(Same make just different model number)

Video review from here:

http://www.techmoan.com/blog/2013/12/16/g1w-the-cheapest-dash-cam-thats-worth-buying.html

S$70 for a relatively good performance camera. Burned under our hot SG sun also dun feel pain... haha

1. Can any front cam w/o viewing screen be installed onto a mobile media station (MMS), model W502E for viewing? The camera port on the MMS is meant for rear parking camera purpose.
  2. I intend to use power bank to power the cam, does this complicate the installation?
  3. What specification do I look out for in a powerbank which can support the cam? Say for a duration of min. 16 hours. Capacity in mah and output voltage only? Any special connection required between powerbank to cam?

Appreciate advice from anyone with such a setup.

1. I don't see why not. Those MMS port should be normal video signal. I could be wrong as I am not car accessories expert.

2. I once thought of doing that but the time to recharge the power bank may take longer than your usual drive. Best is still install those battery discharge prevention device. You can get a list of comparison here: http://dashcamtalk.com/battery-discharge-prevention/ I also posted a question in the dashcamtalk forum: http://forum.dashcamtalk.com/threads/g1w-c-motion-detection-power-bank-recommendation.3925/

3. Not sure about calculation since I am not EE trained. :P

Gearosv2,

Thanks for your reply. I will look into that once I am with the installer. I am still going for the powerbank option as I intend to charge the spare powerbank in the office/home while running another in the car.

Gearosv2,

Thanks for your reply. I will look into that once I am with the installer. I am still going for the powerbank option as I intend to charge the spare powerbank in the office/home while running another in the car.

See adrianli posts on the power banks in the other CAR cam threads

I'm currently on Blackvue DR500 at the front intend to add one more for the rear, was told DR380 would do the job, they could also be transmit to android phone as well. Any feedbacks?

Where can I buy this? Thank you so much in advance.

Seem like my previous seller don't carry in anymore.

You can go to qoo10 to find, there are plenty of sellers. Please note that there are fakes as well. Please read this forum on how to differentiate the fake ones:

http://forum.dashcamtalk.com/threads/my-fake-g1w-of-ebay-%C2%AC%C2%AC-totodeal.3606/

http://forum.dashcamtalk.com/threads/fake-g1w-from-amazon-seller-baiklov.4801/

Note: the T650 is a rebrand of G1W. True G1W/T650 uses the Novatek NT96650 that can handle FHD at 30 fps.

If you cannot find it in qoo10, you can buy it from FoxOffer - http://www.foxoffer.com/g1wgs108-full-hd-1080p-vehicle-blackbox-dvr-p-486.html

Dunno why my earlier thread kena removed. Havent even got chance to read the replies.

I am interested to install a car camera.

Anyone can advise which of the following

Blackvue

DR380G-HD - $350

DR400G-HD - $450

Itronics

ITB-100-HD - $398

After some enquiry, realize the dealers charge for installation. I thought installation usually included in the price.

Try this Mate, cheers :)

http://www.vagsg.com/forums/showthread.php?t=62013&page=125

See, this is the problem and I'm not blaming anyone for it.

But a poster will ask about a camera and then someone else without commenting on the camera asked about will suggest an alternative.

There doesn't appear to be any agreement on 2 or 3 cameras of different price ranges which are the out and out best.

Makes it impossible for me to buy one [dizzy]

Edited by Neutrino