Want to buy medical insurance but ....

Ysc3

i was diagnosed with high blood pressure about 6 years ago and have been on meds. (one pill a day).

bought a GE hospital policy b4 my disgnosis and when i got warded for another issue, the co-payment thing applied.

then my GE agent approached me and asked me to upgrade to their "100%" claim plan ... but required me to undergo medical tests which i have to pay for myself and not guarantee will accept my enrolment. so i refused to go for the med check and they rejected the proposal.

then my AIA agent came to see me one day and told me about their 100% claim plan and then filled up the proposal and told me will get back to me. Called me up the next day and told me that his office told him that NOBODY will cover me becoz of my HBP.

talked to an Aviva rep also ... and she also told me roughly the same thing ... pay more and and with exclusion.

best one was got a cold-call from another AIA agent about 2 months back ... said will try to see what he can do .... never heard from him again after i told him i got HBP.

so far have not had any sickness due to my HBP but it seems that insurance cos are very prudent nowadays with their selection of customers.

any ins cos out there willing to cover me ??

This is what I always advise my friend when their health is pink....get insured before you fall ill, nobody will insure you once u are sick..they will accept but with the exclusion to your pre-existing problem....get your HBP address asap, and bring yourself back to pink of health...

I have been trying to buy medical insurance for the last 10yrs but so far none accepted me after hearing of my various illnesses.

Only insurance I keep buying is home, car and travel. [laugh]

This SAF insurance company, Aviva keep writing to me to upgrade my policy. But long long time ago I wrote to them, they say cannot liao. The ppl there still keep sending me brochures to upgrade my policy, as if I can.

My insurance fren also tried to help me purchase accident insurance. I think coming to one year liao, still no one wana accept me. I see my insurance fren once a week, keep asking him, he say me got no chance to do business with. [laugh]

I just let it be and claim using my company insurance. So far, they allow me to claim for my existing illnesses. But new illnesses, they request doc memo for consideration. My two illnesses claims are currently pending their approval, Fatty Liver and Roceasa.

i was diagnosed with high blood pressure about 6 years ago and have been on meds. (one pill a day).

bought a GE hospital policy b4 my disgnosis and when i got warded for another issue, the co-payment thing applied.

then my GE agent approached me and asked me to upgrade to their "100%" claim plan ... but required me to undergo medical tests which i have to pay for myself and not guarantee will accept my enrolment. so i refused to go for the med check and they rejected the proposal.

then my AIA agent came to see me one day and told me about their 100% claim plan and then filled up the proposal and told me will get back to me. Called me up the next day and told me that his office told him that NOBODY will cover me becoz of my HBP.

talked to an Aviva rep also ... and she also told me roughly the same thing ... pay more and and with exclusion.

best one was got a cold-call from another AIA agent about 2 months back ... said will try to see what he can do .... never heard from him again after i told him i got HBP.

so far have not had any sickness due to my HBP but it seems that insurance cos are very prudent nowadays with their selection of customers.

Once ANY insurance reject you, it will be recorded in their central DB.... NO company will insure you.... I'm facing the same issue also.... Just got rejection letter yesterday from auntie lucy for medishield upgrade....

Got some foriegn insurer can take up some of your cases. But the premium is not cheap like local shield plans. premium can start from at least $1000USD p.a

If can claim all my specialist visits and lab/x-ray tests, I am all for it!!! Currently, company insurance policy quota

Specialist visit - S$600

Lab/x-ray test - S$600

Havent end of year, I already used up my Lab/x-ray test quota!!! Somemore I went as subsidised patient.

If premium is USD1000 PA, I dont mind paying and visit private hospital instead. I need to see 4 to 5 specialist, appointments are 3mthly to annually. Sure to hit more than USD1000 PA!!!! Tell me more!!!

If can claim all my specialist visits and lab/x-ray tests, I am all for it!!! Currently, company insurance policy quota

Specialist visit - S$600

Lab/x-ray test - S$600

Havent end of year, I already used up my Lab/x-ray test quota!!! Somemore I went as subsidised patient.

If premium is USD1000 PA, I dont mind paying and visit private hospital instead. I need to see 4 to 5 specialist, appointments are 3mthly to annually. Sure to hit more than USD1000 PA!!!! Tell me more!!!

Ultimately Insurance companies are here to make money. for your case, there are foreign insurer that can take your cases. However, there is a window period of 2 years of and cannot be for treating existing illness. As I say, premium starts from 1000USD....for the lowest end plan and a healthy person. Your case premium may be very much higher. If you are still under treatment, no insurer will want to insure because sure lose money case. Normal insurer will not even wanna take up cases for those with high blood or high chloresterol.

You are already very lucky your company insurance still covers you. nowadays, group insurance companies also very kiasu, they look at employee claims history and exclude them from the plan even.

I also having HBP for last 4 years but my agent allow me to cover 100% claim since last year, thinks it depend on how serious you are!

serious as in what ?

serious about getting a medical coverage ?

or how serious is my HBP ?

it was just one of those days when i visited the polyclinic for a headache ... then next thing, the doc tells me to take blood and urine test and then = i have HBP and must start to take meds !!

serious as in what ?

serious about getting a medical coverage ?

or how serious is my HBP ?

it was just one of those days when i visited the polyclinic for a headache ... then next thing, the doc tells me to take blood and urine test and then = i have HBP and must start to take meds !!

I always tell people to get cover when they are healthy. Some of them told me they are very fit, healthy and nothing will happen to them.

Few years down the road, ask me to apply for them but often health already go down hill. Very sad when someone dad's applications is being decline and when the big bills are up. I really feel for the whole family.

My best 2cents. Get cover when one's healthy.

Edited by Elviskua

I always tell people to get cover when they are healthy. Some of them told me they are very fit, healthy and nothing will happen to them.

Few years down the road, ask me to apply for them but often health already go down hill. Very sad when someone dad's applications is being decline and when the big bills are up. I really feel for the whole family.

My best 2cents. Get cover when one's healthy.

But getting cover also must find the proper cover. Like for my six long term illnesses, I dont think there is any medical insurance will cover all six illnesses. Have to constantly see specialist, take various test annually and medication.

Then for my roceasa, insurance termed it as cosmetic illness and do not cover. [speechless] But it was not purposely I wana go to change my appearance. It so happens that the illness happens on the face. So now I just using cream to control it. But specialist advise to go for laser surgery. Waiting for any insurance company to pick up my bill n I will go for it. [grin]

Those also have exclusion for pre existing medical conditions..

Since you bought the GE plan before HBP, then stick with them.

If you have an existing hospital plan with them and now that a new medical condition has emerged, on a case to case basis ins co is still able to allow an upgrade except the new upgraded benefit does not cover your HBP but in the event if you are hospitalized for HBP, they will use the previous plan to cover you.

Generally, ins co is sticky with HBP for hospitalization plan. But for life insurance or savings plan, they do allow acceptance depending on the severity of the HBP and good BMI.

Since you bought the GE plan before HBP, then stick with them.

If you have an existing hospital plan with them and now that a new medical condition has emerged, on a case to case basis ins co is still able to allow an upgrade except the new upgraded benefit does not cover your HBP but in the event if you are hospitalized for HBP, they will use the previous plan to cover you.

Generally, ins co is sticky with HBP for hospitalization plan. But for life insurance or savings plan, they do allow acceptance depending on the severity of the HBP and good BMI.

i bought it before i was diagnosed with HBP ... but it was a o-payment plan.

my agent asked me to upgrade to claim as charged (100%) but that is where the problem comes up.

i am still continuing with the plan ... but on a co-payment basis for any cases.

damn unfair ... if i dun fall sick, they just collect the premiums lah !!

l think like what they're saying, get better from your HBP then have it removed from pre-existing conditions. My singapore medical insurance is with posb/aviva and I was going through the underwriting. To have the preexisting condition included, you need to "during the period of 5 years' continuous insurance from the date of commencement of cover or the date of reinstatement or the date of Upgrade, whichever is later, under the Policy, the Insured Person has not, in relation to a Pre-Existing Condition,:

- experienced symptoms or

- sought advice or tests from a Physician, a Specialist or Alternative Medicine provider (including checkups for that Pre-Existing Condition); or

- required treatment or medication or

- received treatment or medication"

So that's one way if it helps..